We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
chichullo
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were good
Clean, well maintained, air conditioned
The grounds were beautiful with amazing landscaping
Saw howler monkeys from the deck
There was a Fer De Lance snake (terciopela)right outside the dining room one night so make sure u always take a light out after dark
As to the bad
Dinner
Breakfast was fine
Dinner sucked
And was expensive
Bad combo
I would recommend the hotel as a place to stay and see wildlife but drive to Fortuna for dinner
Ps the Asian looking bartender should work on his customer skills
My husband and I sat at the near empty bar for over five minutes before he even acknowledged us

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chichullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    399
    65
    7
    16
See reviews for
344
817
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The individual bungalows are situated in a very lush/tropical property that is situated at the base of the Volcano! All the vegetation is just beautiful and there all kinds of birds flying around. The restaurant is open and you can enjoy the gardens. Saw hummingbirds at breakfast every morning which our 3 year old loved. Swimming pool/jacuzzi were very nice. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, great way to start the day. Would not do dinner/lunch as it is over-priced.

We stayed in the 500s bungalow so back terrace looked onto the Volcano, just an amazing view. There were ants that came in because our 3 year old left food on the floor (don't leave food anywhere in the room!). This is Costa Rica and there will be bugs that come in.

Neilson at the front desk was super helpful and friendly! He recommended great day-trips and was understanding enough to change our 400 room to a 500 which really made our stay more enjoyable. Also, we paid extra and he adjusted the credit promptly.

The only thing I recommend is to have a rental while staying here because it is $6 cab fare to get into town (each way). So renting a car makes sense because there is so much to do within a 30 min driving distance.

Lots of things to do- waterfalls, Tabacon Hot Springs day trip (a must), Proyecto Asis (animal refuge), zip-lining.

Keep in mind it does rain here a lot which no one mentioned. It rained 2 out of the 3 days we stayed and we only saw the Volcano on the last day. So bring bug repellant and ponchos or at least check weather forecast prior to arrival as it is considered a Rain forest region.

Room Tip: Rooms in 500s the best view. 400s are the worst!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Sauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Small bungalows, double beds, refrigerator, tv, nice bathroom but cold water! Swimming pool not heated, but jacuzzi was nice! Breakfast was fine, you can see a lot of birds at the hotel property! We went to a bird watch farm and saw a lot of birds and a toucan flying over. Later that day, we just sat in the jacuzzi and just in the tree next to the jacuzzi were 2 toucans! Also saw a turkey vulture on the premises.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jurgen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Lake, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We thought the rooms were going to be a little rustic but they were very nice and accommodating. Super safe, very clean, very quiet, awesome view of the volcano and right by Fortuna. The rooms are built with this dark tropical wood and are really pretty. The breakfast, included with room, was really good. There's a hot tub and pool. I would recommend this place to friends, family, my parents... Also, I thought the cost was a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thermos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hotel Lomas del Volcan is beautiful and clean; very well maintained. With that being said it was also a bit touristy. There were many families with children and the food was not native and kinda bland. The hotel put out fruit to attract birds and had obvious alliances with certain tour groups. Out of the three places I stayed in Costa Rica, this was the least authentic.

However, this hotel was very clean and well maintained. The grounds were beautiful and if you go at the right time of year (we did not) the views of the volcano are probably amazing. Be sure to check out the best time of year for this part of Costa Rica or you might have breath taking views of the fog. As silly as it may sound, I was stoked about the bidet in each bungalow. In a country where you often cannot flush your toilet paper a bidet is an excellent accommodation! There were also air conditioners in each room, which though we did not use them very much can be a nice break from the humidity. They do not have screens on the windows, so if you are sensitive to mosquitos be mindful of the windows. Also there is no humidifier or clothesline. The cabins themselves are well crafted and have high ceilings with interesting wood patterns.

The location is great for access to volcano activities and the city of La Fortuna, which is quaint and beautiful. However, the next major investment this hotel should make is to pave the drive from the front gate to the reception. Like other roads near the volcano, it is rough and unpaved and can be discouraging. As far as activities as concerned, be forthright about which companies you want to tour with b/c the hotel will book activities with companies that they have relationships with, which can mean significant differences in tours, especially for zip-lining.

Then there is the food. The breakfast is typical and comparable to the other places we stayed, but I would recommend that you eat somewhere else for lunch and dinner. The food gives the impression that it is meant to accommodate a wide array of palettes and pleasing few. Their buffets and entrees are overpriced and mediocre. Go into town and eat someplace local. It's worth it.

Overall, these are more than nice accommodations for the price. However, I am ok with trading niceties for authenticity.

Room Tip: try to get the last room in a row ex. 507, 407, or 307. you will have the most privacy because no on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved our little bungalow - especially the little deck on the back. Drank coffee on the deck and watched the Toucans and hummingbirds. What more could you want? Biggest shower ever. No closets. Just put your clothes on shelves. Internet service worked great - I expect it is a function of where your room is located. Didn't watch TV to speak of. The staff was very helpful on setting up tours. We checked tour prices and didn't find any discrepancy between what they charged versus going directly to the tour guide.

The free breakfast was good. We ate dinner there the first night - wasn't that great. We ate out for all the other meals

Room Tip: Room 400-411 have great views and good internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank closetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Individual cabins provide one large room, a large bathroom, and two private porches. Mine had an excellent view of the volcano. The staff is very friendly, and the service is superb. The location is convenient to La Fortuna and area activities. (I had a rental car, don't know about other transportation.) The grounds are lush and beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,855 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,401 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,846 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing