We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but lacking in service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located right at the base of Arenal Volcano and is the closest large hotel to the city of La Fortuna. It takes about $6 to get to the city in a taxi. The cottages are spacious and well maintained. However they are lacking in some essentials - hair dryer and iron+ironing board. And I mean it when I say essentials. It rained almost all the time while we were here. And we could not find a way to dry our hair, clothes and coats. There were only 2 hair dryers at the front desk and they were never available. The hotel could not turnaround laundry less than 24 hours. I guess we could have packed more swimsuits and lots of spare clothing, but we like to travel light. But we were not the only ones with this dilemma.

The food was average - breakfast or dinner buffet. The folks at front desk were somewhat indifferent to guest requests. They didn't seem to be making any attempts to help us out with problems - either a tour inquiry or requests for one of the 2 hair dryers on the property. The restaurant staff could have been more courteous - might have been the sheer number of guests during the time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanglefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

959 - 965 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

We spent 3 nights at las lomas del volcan and after almost 2 weeks in Costa Rica we think it was one of the best places we stayed in. The bungalows are very spacious and of prime quality, beds are super comfy, views spectacular. No noises other than from the nature around, I would definitely recommend it to anyone who comes to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaceandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The views of the volcano was great (when we the fog lifted) and we had an individual bungalow. Robert was a great help in discussing and commenting on activities in the area. The breakfasts were great and on our last day (when the sun was finally shining), we discovered the pool area and jacuzzi. The hotel is a 5 minute drive from the center of town and part of the road is unpaved when entering the property. Will go back in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunred10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. Rooms are individual and well appointed bungalows. Lovely ground to walk round with views of Arenal and surrounding countryside. Good restaurant - all meals buffet style with plenty of choice. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is located in the road hat runs around La Fortuna, but the access is made by way of a unpaved road. The rooms are simply decorated and the bathroom was good. The breakfast was too simple with few kind fo bread and options.

Room Tip: Ask for a room whose varanda make possbile to watch Arenal Volcano. Do not count on this hotel in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great hotel, would recommend this to anyone who wants to get a bit away from town but still be only a short drive away. Rooms are nice and the service is excellent. The gravel road to the Hotel is a bit interesting. The first time going there I thought I was lost. Better signs and some road improvements would be appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_G_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here two nights during our flexdrive, allowing us a little rest and secclusion. We had a lovely, roomy bungalow with a terrace with view on the vulcano, and a spacious bathroom. We really liked the fact we could park our rental car in front of our room too! Waking up looking up the vulcano and watching the hummingbirds fly right past you is just an amazing experience.

There's a little swimmingpool, which I bet would soon be overcrowded in the high season. Nonetheless there was also a hot whirlpool which was very nice and relaxing during the evening! Breakfast was a little confusing; one morning we had a buffet, and the second a (in the price included) a la carte breakfast, which was more limited. Nonetheless we were very impressed with the service and the kind reception, and we really enjoyed our multiple day stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolanda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,965 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,353 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,862 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $71 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing