We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely terrain and view on the vulcano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely terrain and view on the vulcano”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here two nights during our flexdrive, allowing us a little rest and secclusion. We had a lovely, roomy bungalow with a terrace with view on the vulcano, and a spacious bathroom. We really liked the fact we could park our rental car in front of our room too! Waking up looking up the vulcano and watching the hummingbirds fly right past you is just an amazing experience.

There's a little swimmingpool, which I bet would soon be overcrowded in the high season. Nonetheless there was also a hot whirlpool which was very nice and relaxing during the evening! Breakfast was a little confusing; one morning we had a buffet, and the second a (in the price included) a la carte breakfast, which was more limited. Nonetheless we were very impressed with the service and the kind reception, and we really enjoyed our multiple day stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolanda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    384
    64
    7
    16
See reviews for
322
795
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you are looking for the closest place to stay at Arenal Volcano, Hotel Lomas Del Volcan is it! We recently were there and our cabin was at the base of the volcano. Cabins are clean and set in beautiful surroundings. Staff was very freindly and met every need. Very quiet and surrounded by tropical greenery. Great breakfast and close to town. Will stay there again!

Room Tip: All cabins have good view of volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ford A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights of our trip through Costa Rica. We loved the individual cabins, and the view of the volcano was amazing! Many people mention that the cabins in the 500's have the best view, but we were in 308 and had an unobstructed view as well. Breakfast was very satisfying, and the dinner we had one night was very very good. We did not have a car, so walking down into La Fortuna was not the easiest, but we appreciated the quiet and peacefulness that the long driveway provided. It was a wonderful way to begin our great vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The rooms are individual cabins, so it feels very private. It was very spacious and clean with amazing views. It is set back off the road so there is no traffic, but it's a very quick drive into La Fortuna. There is also a beautiful hike on the property that gives great views of the volcano as well as interesting flora and fauna. The back patio provided an amazing view of the volcano. The best we could have hoped for anywhere! It was relaxing and the grounds were beautiful. The food was a little overpriced for what it was, but I highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Cabins on the hill in the 500s are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler617514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Everything about this Hotel is exceptional.
Excellent location. Amazing, well kept ground. Beautiful, spacious rooms ( Cabins ). Friendly staff. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend it to friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroshaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon on the recommendation of a friend and it was such a good find! The staff was always very helpful and spoke excellent english. We used them multiple times to help book excursions and tours. The rooms were great- we had our own large cabin with air conditioning that we could easily control, with a proch in front an in back, with a huge flat screen tv, with wireless internet, and a huge bathroom with walk in shower. We were right at the base of the volcano so had an incredible view on a clear day. The whole property is very well maintained and beautifully landscaped. It was a short walk to breakfast every morning where they laid out a great buffet of both costa rican foods as well as other breakfast favorites like pancakes. We may have overdosed on the plantains every morning. In addition, the pool area was great. We spent an entire rainy afternoon in the covered hot tub outside looking up at the volcano. We didn't have a car with us and found it very easy to get a cab to pick us up and take us back for about $5 each way. We would highly recommend this place for families or couples or groups!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Top notch service from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Food was way above average, and had one of the best steaks I have ever eaten. Had a large flat screen tv, with plenty of cable channels to choose from. The hotel staff does everything they can to satisfy their guests. Constant upgrades, such as new paint in all the cabins had been recently completed. Hotel sits a bit off the road and is unpaved for the 1st stretch. They are working on this too, but it is slow work. Only negative was almost lack of internet connection. Can barely get a connection even in the main lobby. Really this didn't matter, as everything else kept me busy.. To town it is approximately 3(000) colones, or about $6 each way.. If you don't rent a car, this is by far one of the best hotels to stay as getting to and from town is quick, and doesn't break the bank each way, plus it is far enough removed from town to be able to enjoy the volcano without a lot of tourist traffic. Fabulous stay!

Room Tip: 503 and 507 have the best view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Tarkenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,284 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing