We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel! Peaceful, relaxing and fabulous views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed here for three nights during a two week trip in Costa Rica. Property is well maintained and grounds are well groomed. The rooms are individual cabins and is well furnished with rustic decor, comfortable bed and is very spacious. Bathroom is well appointed, and equipped with on-demand eco-friendly hot water heater. Loved waking up just before the sunrise, sitting out on the terrace with a fresh cup of coffee, listening to the birds and the howler monkeys in the near distance. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silversuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour. You stay in spacious individual cabins (note - some are up a hill so if you have trouble walking mention it when you make reservations) with A/C, flat screen TV, very nice bathroom and a view of Arenal volcano from your back porch! The food at the restaurant was good. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, mention it when you make reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Beth999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very good hotel, I would certainly recommend to stay here. We first missed the entrance since when driving in from La Fortuna, it was not clearly signposted from THE road. The view on the vulcano was impressive. Nice pool. The restaurant was excellent. We had dinner twice and we regretted not to have eaten à la carte the first night as well. Breakfast was buffet style and also included pancakes. The room was a stand alone cabin with à big bathroom and little terrace outside.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexandra68_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights during a 3 week trip around Costa Rica. WE loved the hotel, the cabin for our family of four was really spacious, with fantastic views over the volcano. The grounds are lush with vegetation and very well maintained.
The hotel is just a short $5 taxi ride into La Fortuna where there are plenty of restaurants and tour companies for activites to choose from.
Excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Service was great. All staff was very friendly and helpfull.
The lodge was rather big. Bathroom was very clean.
We stayed here for 3 days. Breakfast was excelent. So much to choose from!
For dinner: very good food and a wide variety to choose from the menu.
Swimpool nice to swim in and a very nice yakuzi to relax in!

Activities to do nearby:
We did the chero chatto lagoon hike: Wonderfull to see. Rather big hike to do, but it s great to swim in the lagoon.
Arenal vulcano national park: Decent hike with great nature, but its not really on the vulcano itself. only a very nice view of it.
Butterfly conservatory: beautyfull garden to see al the variety's of butterflys in Costa rica. You could also see monkeys, frogs and other insects here.

Room Tip: Very clean and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nerinckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Lomas del Volcan for a few days while on our honeymoon. It exceeded our expectations when we arrived. The restaurant was pretty good but there never seemed to be very many people there eating. The service was great. The front desk helped us with everything from getting taxis to booking tours. We had a great view of the volcano. Everything was very private even though the bungalows are kind of close. Overall we both loved this place. We will definitely go back whenever the time comes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsharris88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Nice place, very well maintained. Rooms were updated with flat screen TV and comfortable beds. We rented three seperate cabins all together. Some have much more impressive views than others. The pool was very clean and we saw toucans and humming birds while wadding. Hot tub was night time hangout but solar "heated" so it was only warm at best. Great views of the volcano but this time of year we only saw it for an hour very early in the morning before it was covered by the clouds. Wireless interenet was not accessible in all the rooms but available in the areas close to the lobby.

Room Tip: ask to see the room and view before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,997 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,368 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $95 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing