We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$123
$105
View Deal
Hotels.com$123
Expedia.com$123
Agoda.com$117
eDreams$105
Travelocity$123
CheapTickets$123
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,635)
Filter reviews
1,635 results
Traveler rating
423
626
348
135
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
423
626
348
135
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs costa rica canopy tour superior room rocking chairs zip lining wet bar thermal pools front porch pool bar great view of the volcano horseback riding beautiful grounds reception area stayed here for two nights included breakfast howler monkeys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 1,635 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2016 via mobile

We only visited for one night as part of a tour and thank goodness.
The location is beautiful and from the outside the cabins look great.
We arrived in the dark and had problems finding our room - spent over 15 minutes lugging cases up and down the slopes. No help was offered other than given a map which was not easy to read in the dark either - guess we needed a torch.
Room was musty, damp and small even though were told the room is suitable for three adults - yea at a push for a night maybe. Beds small and linen was harsh, rough and well worn.
Only 2 chairs on porch so had to bring small stool from room - this was so rickety so we took turns sitting on the floor! Towels tiny and only 2 hand towels in room - good job we brought our own. A/c not working on arrival but was fixed within 10 mins of making the call to reception - thank you for that as it was needed. En suite had many cracked and broken tiles with sharp edges broken tiles it was unbelievable.
Best part of the accommodation was watching the Geckos on the glass in the porch - made sitting on the floor bearable.
The food was shockingly bad - the pork (I think it was pork) was so hard it could not be cut and the other unidentifiable meat was totally black. Two out of the three of us only ate the rice and we are not a food fussy family.
Check what drinks are included with price of meal to avoid confusion and embarrassment. Waiting staff ok - restaurant manager very very rude .
The pamphlet stated breakfast served at 6.30 - our tour left at 6.40 so didn't get to try breakfast - told later breakfast was available at 6.00am - if this is right please give correct information to guests.
Pool bar was good - lovely barman but pools were filthy - this is not because it is a hot spring spa - the greasy tide mark around the edge was disgusting, a quick scrub each day would sort it out.
This would be a fantastic hotel in a stunning location but sadly was more like a hostel than a hotel. We have never been happier to leave a hotel.

Date of stay: March 2016
Thank BusterMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Dear guest

We are sorry to see there were some problems during your stay. We take all our comments and suggestions from our clients very seriously and work on them to be able to offer a better service every day. Immediate corrective actions have already been made regarding your observations.

We are sorry little details didn’t let you enjoy in full of our facilities and services. We hope you give us the chance to change this experience around.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2016 via mobile

We spent four lovely nights at Arenal Paraiso Hotel & Spa. Everything about our stay was wonderful. Our private bungalow had a magnificent view of Arenal Volcano. The restaurant served amazing buffet breakfasts and great food at lunch & dinner, too! And we loved hearing and seeing the many amazing local birds. We even saw Two-toed Sloth in the tall trees by the restaurant! And on our last day, we had a blast on the onsite Zip-line Canopy Tour.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank LindaSudduth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2016

Dear Linda

We are happy to see that you had a great stay and that our services and facilities helped make that happen.

At our hotel our clients’ will always have something to do, our grounds offer something for each kind of traveler, those who are looking for a relaxing stay or even those who prefer the rush of adrenaline of our guided tours.

At our restaurant we are sure you will be delighted from breakfast until dinner, with the best selection of dishes and service.

We thank for sharing details of your stay and for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2016

This hotel is certainly not what it is advertised to be. We stayed in a Superior Room for two nights, part of a package trip to tour Costa Rica. Getting to the room was a challenge, dragging our suitcases upwards some steep hills upon arrival. We later heard in the reception that others got an offer to be driven to their rooms; we didn't get that. The room is very basic (not what would expect when booking a Superior Room), most of the area is covered by two large but simple and not so comfortable beds with old linen and plaids. Some of the walls are made with wooden boards that don't fit against each other (we could see outside through the gaps between the wooden boards on the back of the closet) and we could hear conversations of people passing by. The bathroom is nothing to write home about. There were not enough towels for two people. There is a fridge in the room but it was switched off and warm when we got there. There is a coffee machine but there are no cups and there's only one serving of coffee per room per day. Their idea of cleaning the place is to just randomly throw the linen on the bed again and the plaids and extra pillows were thrown on a pile on the other bed. There is no WiFi in the rooms or in any other location apart from the restaurant and the reception area (with whatever that entails concerning speed/quality). For the 2 days we were there, there were technical problems with the router/WiFi so we couldn't get any internet connection at all. As this coincided with the terroristic attacks back at home (Belgium), it was a source of great distress for us. The hot tubs were nice but always overcrowded and most of the time taken over by big families with many children splashing around. The good thing about the hotel is the view and the fresh air. The restaurant is pretty decent too, but it's the only thing to do there. In order to visit La Fortuna (7km away) you need a taxi.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for evaluating us and sharing details of your stay at our hotel.

At our property we have three different types of rooms, standard, superior en suite. The superior rooms are individual wood cabins with a large terrace with rocking chairs, all surrounded by beautiful nature, where you can enjoy amazing views of the Arenal Volcano any time of day. All our rooms are designed according to the environment and nature of the zone, so our clients can have the best experience.

We offer free Wi-Fi at our lobby and restaurant. We apologize for any problem there might have been with the service during your stay.

We have taken note of your observations and will be working on them immediately. We pay extra attention to all our guests suggestions, we work hard to correct whatever our client’s think needs work on to offer a better service every day.

Thank you for your comments, on behalf of all of us at Arenal Paraíso, we sent you warm greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

Our 'superior' room was in an excellent location with a fabulous view of the volcano. A problem with the A/C on our first night was efficiently dealt with in the morning. Excellent breakfast ..we thought the evening menu to be a little pricey. We went in the warm springs after dusk which were quiet and relaxing. The on-site canopy zip-line is excellent, as is the on-site massage facility.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank VisitorfromBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear guest

We are happy to see that you had a great stay and that our services and facilities were up to your expectations.

From all our rooms our clients’ will have the best views of the Arenal Volcano, also our grounds are ideal for relaxing by our swimming pools or hot springs and also feeling the rush of adrenaline in our canopy tour.

At our restaurant our guests’ can enjoy of breakfast, lunch and dinner. With plenty of options for you to choose from and always with the best service.

We thank you for your comments. On behalf of all our staff we send you warm greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016

The resort is beautiful and the view of Arenal Volcano is breathtaking. There's no beating the hot springs scattered throughout the property and the awesome animals found in the most unexpected places (like the sloth hanging outside the restaurant). However, the rooms were awful. The bathroom of my room had a fly infestation that I complained about multiple times. However, it was never resolved. In addition, there were insects throughout the room and in the beds. I woke up with bites I didn't recognize and my boyfriend just recently learned his bites/rash is from lice. I don't know if this is only a problem in the standard rooms, but my friends in the neighboring rooms has similar issues. Finally, when we were checking out the hotel kept telling us we owed money for transportation that was paid the day we arrived. It was disrespectful and unprofessional on their part.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicamontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear Jessica.

Thank you for rating us and sharing details of your stay with all of us. We are sorry there were some inconvenient during your visit. We have forwarded your comments to our general manager who will be checking on the issues immediately.

We would like to let you know that our rooms are tended daily, we offer daily housekeeping and we have a plague control policy, since we are in a mountain location and in a country with a high percentage of biodiversity some insects are almost impossible to avoid. We recommend to have some repellent in case you are going to take some of the mountain tours to avoid any bug bite.

We apologize for any inconvenient that might have happened and hope to have the chance to serve you again in the near future and change whatever bad experience you had in the first visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews