We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$123
$105
View Deal
Hotels.com$123
Expedia.com$123
Agoda.com$117
eDreams$105
Travelocity$123
CheapTickets$123
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,635)
Filter reviews
1,635 results
Traveler rating
423
626
348
135
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
423
626
348
135
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs costa rica canopy tour superior room rocking chairs zip lining wet bar thermal pools front porch pool bar great view of the volcano horseback riding beautiful grounds reception area stayed here for two nights included breakfast howler monkeys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 1,635 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

We made this reservation in the middle of December, our first hotel of choice being already full(Book ahead during the high season). It was a good choice... We were pleased by the small bungalows with a/c and refrigerator. Ours had the best view on the Arenal volcano. Water was hot and everything was clean. Breakfast was good and included in the price. A few good dinner options are available nearby as it is not very far from La Fortuna Village. Beware of the roads; they are narrow and it may be hazardous to drive at night. The staff is very nice and friendly and always very happy to help. One bit of advice;if you need a room fit 2 adults and 2 kids, make sure you spell it clear as a note on your preferred reservation website. We reserved one room for 2adults and 2kids plus a room for 2 adults. We were assigned 2 identical bungalows; each one had a double bed plus a second smaller bed that was not big enough for the kids. The staff was kind enough to install a second bed on the floor but only after my wife that speaks fluently Spanish, had to negotiate with them. I was surprised the put they made it so difficult and blamed the website instead of trying to please a customer. Not the best but it worked... The pool is nice and cool. The thermal water pools by the bar seemed dirty(brownish as a result of thermal water probably) so we decided not to try them.

The restaurant offers a very good breakfast with typical Costa Rican options. Dinner was a good option and the food good but as everywhere in Costa Rica, it is not cheap.

The also offer nice activities. We hesitated between Arenal Paraiso Canopy Tour and Ecoglide that is close. Our tight schedule combined with our precise analysis of the two ;-) guided us towards Arenal Paraiso (Not to mention we were right on the site since this was our resort). Miguel and Donald, our 2 guides were very helpfull and made our ride memorable. They were always very very cautious, they respected security rules very well and we felt always safe. They are both very professional and they took the time to explain a bunch of nature related stuff as we were progressing. We warmly recommend this activity.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TripMember18032019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear client

Thank you for sharing with all of us details of your stay. At our hotel we will always try to make the visits of our clients special.

Our facilities hold the best mix in relaxation and fun. Starting with our hot springs and swimming pools to our canopy tour and horseback riding. All these activities surely will help make your stays fun and entertaining. The water at our wet bar is the same as from our hot springs, it will always be warm and the color is due to minerals on the volcanic waters.

At our restaurant all our clients can enjoy of buffet breakfast and also lunch and dinner, our menu offers a wide selection of dishes for every kind of palate.

We thank you for your comments and hope to be able to serve you again when your travel plans bring you to La Fortuna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2016

We were not originally booked to stay at this hotel. as part of a tour hotels can be changed if necessary. Sadly the room and restaurant standards let it down. On arrival the gardens and reception look lovely. On entering our room we wanted to move. The room was damp and very dirty. Decor was very dated. En-suite was the same The air condition leaked and the room smelled damp.Thankfully the bed linen was clean. A move was declined as the hotel was fully booked,apparently. Dinner and breakfast is buffet style.The restaurant wasn't clean. The food choice was average. Service was okay. Stayed two nights. Spent the day visiting the area, however if I was due a longer stay in the area I would have insisted on a different hotel.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear client

Thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. We are sorry there were some problems during your stay. We have sent your comments to our general manager who will be taking immediate actions to correct the problems in the room that was assigned.

We always try to make the stays of our clients something special, we would love to have the chance to serve you again and try to change whatever wrong impression was left of the previews visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Loved the feel of the rooms being "cabin-like" and even though the shared wall with the neighbor was thin, I still felt like we had privacy. Sharing with my two friends, we all had our own bed and three rocking chairs on the porch. The included breakfast was decent and the hot springs (more like warm springs) were fun and authentic. The grounds were great for exploring too!
The downside is there was no wifi in the rooms, only the lobby. We also couldn't find too many English channels on TV so evening activities were limited.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JAK1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear guest

We are happy to see that you had a great stay and that our services and facilities were up to your expectations.

At our hotel our clients’ will have plenty of options to make their stay fun and relaxing. At our grounds you can enjoy of up to 13 hot springs, each with a different temperature, also swimming pools, wet bar, spa and tours that can be booked at our front desk.

The view from our rooms is something to sit back and watch, the beautiful Arenal Volcano is a beautiful sight.

At our restaurant all our clients can enjoy of buffet breakfast and also lunch and dinner, our menu offers a wide selection of dishes for every kind of palate.

We thank you for your comments and observations.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2016

We stayed in a cabina overlooking the Volcano, the experience is a special event, the hot springs, zip line, food, I would go there again.

Thank wolfdog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2016

This was our favorite stay on our Road Scholar tour. Nice rooms and nice views. Comfortable and quiet rooms. Very nice grounds. Friendly staff. Pretty spread out, though. Nice pools. Restaurant was OK.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sistapleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear guest

We are glad to see that you had a great stay and that our services and facilities were ideal to make your stay even better

At our hotel our clients’ will be able to enjoy of the best service and grounds that offer something for each kind of traveler. From our rooms you will have the best views of the Arenal Volcano, where you can just sit back and relax.

At our restaurant all our clients can enjoy of buffet breakfast and also lunch and dinner, our menu offers a wide selection of dishes for every kind of palate.

We thank you for sharing with all of us details of your stay.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews