We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good location - but manage your expectations a bit ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value, good location - but manage your expectations a bit ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed for three nights in a "Superior" room (they also have "Standard" and "Deluxe") - Superior gets volcano view and a lockbox in the room (compared to Standard). The grounds were lovely, the various thermal pools were clean and rarely crowded, and the on-site restaurant provided good food at reasonable (for a resort) prices. Breakfast buffet was above average - good selections and plentiful choices.

On the managing expectations front, the rooms are basic and somewhat spartan. Everything works and is in acceptable condition, just feels a bit out-of-date and in need of a facelift. The thermal pools are not hot (as compared to the ones at Baldi, for example), but are still refreshing. Once we adjusted our expectations, this became one of our favorite places of the whole trip. Easy 5 minute drive into La Fortuna for better selection of restaurants, groceries, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear David,

Receive a special regards from us.

We appreciate for share your comments with us in this web-site, them are very important for us.

In Arenal Paraiso we try to offer all our best every day; we will going to take into account your experiences, to improve in our services, and offer great products to our guest

Hoping you return and recommend us, we send you a special regards.

Arenal Paraiso Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    450
    258
    89
    75
See reviews for
271
470
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

After reading all the reviews we decided to book a night's stay here. I can safely say that I can overlook the fact that the room was greatly outdated and the shower made me think twice if not three times about showering. The worst part is that the windows were missing glass panes leaving the room exposed to the bugs that could come through the screen. This made us feel very uncomfortable. Our room did not have parking so we had to park on a grassy area across the cabin. If you are on a set budget and need to have a family sleep in the cabin which has three beds and don't mind forgoing the small amenities then this might be the way to go. Do bring your soap and don't expect things like an iron or a luggage rack. What bothers me the most is that this place is not as I expected based on the reviews. It is pretty much barebones as far as hotels go. Great potential, good location but in great need of renovations.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suleydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Suleydi,

Thanks for your comments, we really appreciate it.

We wish to ask apologize, because you does not enjoyed our services. We take the necessary measures to eliminate this kind of things that you mentioned.
However we comment you that in the last months we were working in renovations in different areas of the hotel, and how you can see, almost all the comments are really good.

Always we want to serve with the best quality and service, and we will take into account your experience to make the necessary improvements

A special regard from all in Arenal Paraiso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This was one of our accommodations for our tour group. The place is amazing with beautiful views all throughout. You get your own private cabin and a spectacular view of the volcano from the porch. The room is clean and spacious. A family of four will comfortably fit in the room.( it has two queen size beds). The bathroom could use some updating however. Breakfast and Dinner buffet are very good. A lot of choices and service is excellent. They have two beautiful swimming pool, one with a bar and about six hot spring pool of which we enjoyed very much. It's surrounded by lush foliage on a winding path. Very nice and relaxing. Perfect place to be after a day of touring the area. The resort is a short trip to town.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prescy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Prescy,

Thanks fully for your lovely comments.

For us is very important to offer the best services to all our clients, and we feel really glad to get that you enjoyed our products in Arenal Paraiso.
We hope you come back and recommend us with family and friends.

All our best,

Arenal Paraíso Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Form best to worst.
Spring waters: this is definitely the highlight of the hotel, pretty relaxing indeed. The pools are organized in such a way that the warmest pool is on top of the hill and the coolest at the bottom. You can try the warmest freely as the temperature is not excessive. More details about temperatures and minerals provided by the spring water can be found at the pool area. The pools have a brown color which, as far as know, is due to the minerals in the water, not because the pool has not been cleaned.
Nature: the hotel was designed in such a way that even at the restroom you can see the volcano. It was also designed using bungalows which allows them to be surrounded by nature. You can see 8-12 different species of birds.
Breakfast: nice buffet, includes some local basics like “gallo pinto” (rice and beans), “natilla” (sour cream), eggs, and local fruits.
Restaurant: decent prices for a hotel, USD20-30. Quality is good but you can also try restaurants in the area at cheaper prices and similar quality.
Service: the personnel is nice and will always deliver a towel-made animal in your bed.
Bed: This was probably the worst thing about the hotel. Your back can kill you after a couple days. It is something that definitely needs to improve. I like to think that I’m an adjustable person and not too picky but for some this could be a deal breaker.
Congo waterfall: it has a disclaimer regarding going “at your own risk”. The way to the waterfall is not in great shape (full of nature on that sense). Though the part is that you can come across a snake (as we did), no idea if venomous or non-venomous, but pretty scary nonetheless, so make sure you prepare accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolivar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi Bolivar,

Receive our regards.

We appreciate you send us and share your comments and experience in our property, these are of benefit for us.

We have a big property, surround of nature and environment that make us different and special in the area.

We try to offer a lot of services to our guest and with the best quality as possible; the trail in the mountain is a plus for people who likes the adventure and adrenaline in middle of nature, however, it is no our responsible right now because we offer this service for free. Maybe in the future we will going to arrange the trail and offer guides tours in that place.

All our best, from Arenal Paraiso Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed Paraiso. The hot springs are lovely and take advantage of the surrounding tropical foliage and views.
Regretfully, we were unable to see the volcano in full view as we visited in rainy season... But the view was spectacular nonetheless... Zip lining on the property was one of the highlights of our stay in Costa Rica. The guides are friendly, cautious of safety and even used our camera to capture the event.
Breakfast is terrific tipico fare in a comfortable dining room with exceptional service.
We would recommend Paris and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HDB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Savannah,

It is a pleasure to receive your comments, they are really lovely.

We feel glad to know that you enjoyed and liked our services and property.

Hoping you return in the future, we send you a special regard and hug.

Arenal Paraiso Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I love this place. I stayed a week and did just about everything. Ziplining is a trek up the mountain side and it was worth it. Beautiful scenes as you wiz by on the line. I also did the hike and horseback riding and it was an experience. I've never been on a horse and it was a relaxing experience. The cabins had views of the volcano and everything you'd expect in a resort. Try the highest spring tub as it is the hottest and probably free of people.

The housekeeping staff made my pillow into an animal each day and I enjoyed coming back from breakfast to see what was created that day. The buffet style breakfast was basically what you're used to. No surprises but they will deliver you breakfast, lunch, or dinner to your room if you'd like.

The prices were expected and I felt it was a good deal. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadingWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Customer:

Is a pleasure for us receive your lovely comments.

It was an honor to have received you in our hotel, and we are glad that we met your expectations; for everyone in Arenal Paraiso is pleased to offer the best and meet our goal "happy customers"

We hope you return soon and share with us again.

A hug from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were greeted by some Great staff, it was an awesome location, right across the volcano! It is very family friendly as well with some great hot spring pools. Rooms were very cozy and clean beds. Reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Choose the superior room, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VNADFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Was a pleasure receive you in our hotel, we feel really glad that you enjoyed in our resort.

We work every day to give our best to our clients and hope have had a special treatment with you.

Have a great day, of your friends in Arenal Paraiso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing