We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel around Arenal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Ok hotel around Arenal”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently while doing local hiking and white water rafting at Wave Expeditions in La Fortuna.

Sleep:
Sleep was ok...beds were quite hard and the pillows were too soft. Other than that, we slept very well.

Trail:
There is a trail at the top of the hill behind the hotel just behind the top hot spring. This trail is for experienced hikers only. The drop is very steep and it takes a good hour and a half to hike out of there. Don't let the trail map mislead you. It is tough. If you are looking to take in some of the local scenery and want a good work out, take the trail.

Hot Springs:
hot springs are a joke. These are heated pools of mineral water, heated by underwater heaters at the hotel.
The pool was good and the pool bar is WONDERFUL. Very warm and the bartender was quite pleasant and proficient in serving delicious concotions.

Food:
Food was ok... Not bad but not great. The grilled and breaded sea bass are good. The Avocado salad and Hearts of palm salad are good as well. Coffee and fruit are delicious. I personally thought breakfast was better than dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments are really importan to us. It was a pleaure that you eyojey your stay in our hotel. About the comment that you made of the hot sprins let me tell you that the water of these pools are mineral water, we have a nascent in our property if you want to visit it any day this place we can go with you and show how it workes. For that reason the water has a yellow color becase has a lot of minerals from the Arenal Volcano.
We hope had your visit again in our hotel.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    472
    275
    91
    75
See reviews for
295
493
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a beautiful, peaceful resort! The food was fantastic and the hot springs pools were such a cool, different experience! The rooms were extremely clean and although the volcano was under cloud cover almost the entire time, it was still so nice to sit on the porch rocking chairs and relax. We also took a horseback ride to the volcano with the hotel's ranch guide Marco, who was terrific!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meaghan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for you time taken to write your comments, it was a pleasure to had your visit in the hotel and kwow that your really enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Our main objective is offer an excellent service to satisfy our guests expectatives. We hope have your visit again in the future in Arenal Paraíso Hotel and provide you and your family our services.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraiso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at the Arenal Paraiso for 2 nights and it looks beautiful on the outside, but it is pretty average within the rooms. We had to change rooms right away because the bathroom had a weird moldy smell.

Pros:
Air conditioning unit worked well and it was quite a luxury
Discounts to tours and activities
Breakfast meal - eggs, bacon, fruit were delicious
Nice views and well-kept property
The pool looked clean

Cons:
The walls are thin and can hear noisy neighbors
Staff not very helpful when responding to call about a bill/invoice question
Costs $0.15 to dial local calls
Wifi only in the lobby
Lumpy beds

The hotel/spa resort is a bargain, but it seems like you get what you pay for. I won't be back here because we called several times to resolve a bill and we just got a run-around from their staff. I think there are so many other great places to stay in Arenal and I can't be bothered by mediocrity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello thank you for your comments are very important to as, becase help us to improve our services, we apologize with you because we don´t satisfay your expextatives of services in our hotel, we wiil taken it to make improvements in all departmanets in the hotel an also with our employees to bring a better service. We would like to have your vist again in our hotel in the future.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraiso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We wanted to do a quick trip to hot springs during our 2 night stay near arenal, and this 20$ budget option seemed nice in the photos on the website. However, we were very disapointed that half the pools were stagnating or empty. We would not recommend goin there!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakeforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for yor comments are very important to us, it help us to improve our services every day, we apologize about the incovenient with the pools that you had. But we have a plattform maintenance that we have to fulfill and for that reason we have 13 hot springs for our clients have options and the service whill they stay on our property.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A hotel $10 cab ride outside La Fortuna. It is under the volcano but of course you cannot always see it. And, of course, it no longer spews lava! The rooms are spread around as paired cottages but with very thin walls. The loo in particular allows a lot of sound to pass through! But the grounds are nice and there are several pools. On a walk, we saw the groundsmen find a really interesting non-venemous snake which they caught and moved to the forest. Massage is available. Breakfast was fine and we tried good value sandwiches in the evening having had a large lunch out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjlfarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank for your comments they are very important for us, we apologize your disagreement in our hotel. It was a pleasure had you visit in our hotel. We hope to receive soon.
Best Regards From the Arenal Paraíso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Traveling over Easter week with a family of 6, it was challenging to find a hotel that could accommodate us. We had a suite at Arenal Parasio, but it had an odd setup with a kitchen/sitting area and then 2 bedrooms on either end of the main room. That would have been fine except the main room did not have air conditioning and with it being 85+ degrees we could not congregate as a family in this room and therefore had to separate into the bedrooms while at the hotel. I agree also with other reviews that the beds were not that comfortable and I was not impressed with the expensive food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank your your comments, they are very important for us, they help us to improve our services, we apologize over your disagreements in our hotel. We hope in your visit in our hotel we provide you and your family a better service.
Best Regard from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We traveled to this hotel with our 5 month old, they set up a crib for her but didn't do it correctly, if my husband hadn't been holding her she would have fallen on the floor. We called to ask them to remedy the situation, they said they couldn't until the following day and would write a report to make sure someone took care of it. Luckily we had a king size bed so she slept with us for that first night. By 2pm in the afternoon the next day we hadn't heard anything so I had to call and get someone to come fix it. That night I woke up in the middle of the night to find we had a fruit bat in our room flying above our heads, by the time they sent someone to take care of it I had already gotten rid of it. The caretaker they sent said it happened all the time - yikes! Thanks for the warning!

The onsite restaurant is very tasty and the servers were so courteous and helpful! Breakfast is included and was yummy. The hot spring pools are very dark at night and surrounded by things like bullfrogs and other critters, I refused to get in them since I couldn't see what creatures were in there with me. The are 3 other pools that have better lighting, one of them is the "bar" pool and it has very loud music, one is cold water and the other is pretty shallow and looks dirty (because of the minerals) so at night this area could use some improvement.

Rooms come with fridge, coffee maker and safety deposit boxes. Great-sized bathrooms with lots of hot water. Cute little front porch with rocking chairs to enjoy the view. TV with cable and several channels and remote controlled A/C. Staff was pretty friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It was a pleasure had your visit in our hotel, thank your for taking your time to write us your comments and experience in our Resort. We apologize about the inconveniences that you had at the hotel, we are working to improve the quality of our services to provide our guests the best service.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,406 reviews
5.0 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,395 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 84-4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing