We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$152
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$217
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$158
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$240
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveler rating
359
539
311
110
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
539
311
110
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springssuperior cabincosta ricacanopy tourrocking chairszip liningstandard roomthermal poolsresident slothwet barfront porchgreat view of the volcanoswim up barair conditioninghorseback ridingbeautiful groundsbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed two nights. Our cabin was isolated and dark. We had to walk between our cabin and the reception area and/or the restaurant under the rain and in the dark because the hotel does not provide any means of transportation within the premises. Only one mediocre restaurant. Dining at La Fortuna town was $24 more expensive considering the taxi fair. Some of the pools were empty. I wanted to get out of there badly.

Room Tip: Only people with their own transportation should stay there.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEMiami2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

We regret that you have not enjoyed our stay is our hotel, is very important to us that our guests leave satisfied, thank your for your comments they are very important to us, it helps to provide a better service. It is important to mention that we offer to our clients transportantion service within the hotel only you have to call to the front desk and request.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

First let me say that the setting is absolutely beautiful. You have a fantastic view of the volcano and they clearly spend a lot of time maintaining the absolutely beautiful grounds. Beyond the serenity of the place, there is not much to recommend it. First, the pool and hot springs (there are NOT 14 swimming pools. They are little interconnected hot sprig pools) are old and kind of creepy. They are definitely in disrepair. While spacious, our cabin was completely utilitarian and not at all comfortable. My kids (and I) complained about how uncomfortable the beds were. While large, our room did not have sufficient lighting and I could not lie in bed and read. My husband gave me a little flashlight. While I can't speak highly enough of the wonderful and helpful people in Costa Rica, the same can not be said of the staff. We asked the concierge to make reservations as the most popular restaurant in Fortuna and he said he couldn't find the phone number, we would have to do it ourselves. In addition, there is only WIFI in the lobby. That would be fine, but when I went down at 6 am to get a little work done, the staff turned on the radio really loud. When I moved to get away from the music, they turned it up and started singing along. Finally, the food at the buffet is pretty bad. My kids ate almost nothing and there unless you want really greasy eggs or some form of bread, there isn't much. We ended up going out to breakfast one of the mornings we were there. It was very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director General at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank your for your comments they are very important for us.
We apologize not to accomplished yor expectatives during your stay in our hotel, we will work in about tour comments that we can improve with the objetives to provide our guests a better service. It is important to mentione that the our hot springs are designed with a natural and privade contest and for that reason they appear like a river and the color is unclear because it is from the arenal volcano and it has a lot of minerals and special properties of tha volcano.
We hope that ir your next visit you will enjoy with your family of our services.
Bestn regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We loved our stay here, the room (and bathroom) were large enough for the 4 of us to be in one room. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was excellent. The breakfast buffet was huge, freshly made food and excellent service. The dinners were delicious and large portions. We chose to eat here 2 of the 3 nights we were there. The pool bar was wonderful, the staff friendly and the drinks fruity and delicious! The hot springs were hot near the top and progressively cooler and loved how they are surrounded by jungle setting. We would definitely recommend staying here for your visit in the Arenal area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank your for your comments, they are very importat for us, it was a pleasure had your visit in our hotel and satiscy yor expectatives, we are pleased to know that you enyoyed our services and facilities
we hope to have your visit again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We liked everything about this hotel except the pool area (kids didn't even ask to go in). The hot spring pools were small, not the least bit inviting, and luke-warm at best. Nice views, nice rooms, nice landscaping and good service. My husband and I had an extra day here, and might have chosen to relax at the hotel, but the pool area was limited, not nice enough to hang around for that long, we took a cab to Fortuna for the day instead. Also, the trail to the waterfall from the hotel is a treacherous hike/crawl at best, sort of cool if you want an adventure instead of a leisurely walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent a weekend here at the beginning of our Costa Rica trip this year. We had a standard room which was a cabin with a great view of the volcano. We were traveling with 2 other couples and it was quite comfortable sitting on the porch on the rocking chairs. Rooms are in need of updating but were clean. As water is heated with solar, the hot water runs out quick, space out your showers! Breakfast was included and was quite good. The grounds are beautiful, the hot pools were a disappointment though, more like warm/cool pools. We zip lined here and that was fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments are very important to us, we are in an improvement project with our rooms, we hope that in your next visit in our hotel we will satisfy your expectatives. It´s important to let you know that we are a friendly hotel enviroment and this is the reason that we have solar panels to heat up the water in the showers.
It was a plesaure to had your visit in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews