We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, pool area not inviting, hot spring pools unappetizing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice hotel, pool area not inviting, hot spring pools unappetizing.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We liked everything about this hotel except the pool area (kids didn't even ask to go in). The hot spring pools were small, not the least bit inviting, and luke-warm at best. Nice views, nice rooms, nice landscaping and good service. My husband and I had an extra day here, and might have chosen to relax at the hotel, but the pool area was limited, not nice enough to hang around for that long, we took a cab to Fortuna for the day instead. Also, the trail to the waterfall from the hotel is a treacherous hike/crawl at best, sort of cool if you want an adventure instead of a leisurely walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    476
    275
    91
    75
See reviews for
297
494
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent a weekend here at the beginning of our Costa Rica trip this year. We had a standard room which was a cabin with a great view of the volcano. We were traveling with 2 other couples and it was quite comfortable sitting on the porch on the rocking chairs. Rooms are in need of updating but were clean. As water is heated with solar, the hot water runs out quick, space out your showers! Breakfast was included and was quite good. The grounds are beautiful, the hot pools were a disappointment though, more like warm/cool pools. We zip lined here and that was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments are very important to us, we are in an improvement project with our rooms, we hope that in your next visit in our hotel we will satisfy your expectatives. It´s important to let you know that we are a friendly hotel enviroment and this is the reason that we have solar panels to heat up the water in the showers.
It was a plesaure to had your visit in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msp
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. We had our own cabin with a porch and two rocking chairs which had beautiful views of the arenal volcano. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The service was excellent. The rooms and furniture are in need of updating. Nice hot springs and pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIgirlMsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
It was a pleasure to had your visit in our hotel and kwow that you enjoyed our services and facilities, thank for your comments they are very important for us, we will be taken them to make improvements and provide a better service.
We hope to have your visit again in our hotel.
Best regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenhart
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here at the end of our trip to Costa Rica. Rooms clean, spacious, but no hooks to hang wet clothing. Resort beautifully landscaped. Hot springs a big plus. If you are looking for a jumping, vibrant time - this isn't the place to go. Very sedate - big time birder paradise. Empty bar / but friendly bartenders. Food pretty good. If I had my drathers - would have stayed in Fortuna where there was more action. I would say good value if you want a quiet get-away. Don't stay more than 3 days - you'll be bored. There is so much more to see in Costa Rica. The Arenal area struck me as kind of touristy. Glad I did see th volcano, though.....

Room Tip: Get the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyK528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
It was a pleasure having your visit in our hotel, thank you for yor comments they would be taken to make improvements in the rooms about the hooks to hang the wet clothing, Arenal Paraíso is a relaxing and adventure place where you can do differents tours like the canopy tour and horseback riding or take a treatment in our Mayin Spa, besides ejoyed the hot springs. It´s really important to us that you ejoyed our dishes in the restaurant.
Regards for all of us at Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonville
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we pulled into Paraiso Arenal we wondered if we were at the wrong place. It looks way more deluxe than our $130 would cover. We were amazed at how pretty and garden-like the grounds are here and the breakfast was the biggest and best of our entire trip. There's several hot spring pools which are great to sit in and take in the views of Arenal and the jungle around, but they aren't big and deep like the hot spring resorts across the highway. While enjoying the hot springs we viewed toucans, hummingbirds iguana, and a dinosaur-like emerald basilisk. Great fun! We didn't have any issues with dampness or the shower like previous reviewers here. Everything was actually better than expected and we felt like this was an exceptional value for the nice volcano-view cabana, excellent breakfast, hot springs and pool, and the opportunity to wander the grounds here and spot some wildlife including sloth, crested guan and dazzling honeycreepers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtRainierDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and share your experience at Arenal Praíso , It was pleasure that you relly enjoyed the serveces and our facilities ahd have the opportunity to offer you a beaitifull palce and the best view of the Arenal Volcano and different kind of animals.
Best regards from Arenal Paraíso Hotel, we hope that you wiil come back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I just wanted to tell you about my recent trip to Arenal Paraiso resort and spa. We travelled yesterday to this resort. It was raining when we got there but as a canadian I am quite used to rain. We checked into our rooms and the rain persisted. My husband and I were in 271 and friends in 272. We went to the restaurant for an early supper which was delicious and the service excellent and then returned to our rooms for the night. 271 was extremely damp and as the night wore on got much worse. My husband began to shiver and suffered a fever. The room was so damp that the sheets actually felt wet and the room very cold. The clothes in my suitcase also became damp. we slept very little if at all. In the morning my husband was no better. We thought that a hot shower would help him to warm up , unfortunately there was no hot water. and eventually no water at all. I went to the office and they offered to move us into another place, however by this time my husband was really not well and I felt that it would be more appropriate to pack up and return back to Playas del coco were we are staying. I spoke with the assistant manager and she then with the manager and they offered no refunds and said it was raining and they couldnt help the weather. My problem was not with the weather it was with the fact of the dampness in the room . There was no way to dehumidify the room or warm it up in any way. Ii really feel that I should be refunded for one night at least for the room that we wre in, as we were travelling together my companions of course could not stay for the second night. We are back in Coco now and my husband is still shivering and feeling unwell.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thak you for your commentes, they are very important for us, about the weather it´s important to know that we are ubicated in a tropical area and we have differents microclimates, we sory during your visit in our hotel the weather was not good and the best to enjoy the nature an panoramic views of the Arenal area.
we hope that in your next visit to our hotel the weather will be find for you and your husband and we will satisfy your expectatives and offer the best service as you deserve.
Best regards from all of us at Arenal Paraíso Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The room is really bad for the price. It is clean and spacious, with a really nice view of the volcano, but these are the only good things I have to say about it. There was no hot water in the shower (the hottest we could get was just lukewarm and it was changing to icy cold periodically and I had to step out of the shower and wait for it to change back to lukewarm. I called the front desk and complained, they sent a maintenance guy who tried to tell us something but he didn't speak English, so I had to call the front desk to get some translation. They ultimately told us that this is as warm as it gets and hang up. To be fair, I believe they have solar-only water heaters and the weather was ugly for the 3 days we were there - very cloudy and rainy, so there wasn't enough sun to power the water heaters. If you are lucky to have nice and sunny weather, you probably won't have this problem, but hey, for $105 per night, I'd expect hot water year round...
Among other annoying things - there absolutely no hangers/hooks in the shower to hang towels, wet clothes, etc. Since it is always very humid in Arenal, it is problematic enough to dry your swim suits and other clothes, more so if you have nowhere to hang them.
The breakfast was decent, but uninspiring.
The biggest disappointment was the hot spring pools. They are very small (jacuzzi size), and could be nice for just two people, but since there are only few really hot ones, they get crowded. So if sharing the tiny pool with a bunch of loud German retirees is not your idea of a romantic soak, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We regret that your visit in our hotel was not the best for you. we want to let you know that we are an ecological hotel ando for that reason we use a solar panels to save energy and be friends withe the environment .
How you know we have the biggest hotel of the Arenal area, and we receive many type of clients, our idea to desing the hot springs like a river is because we know the differents needs of our guests and we want to satisfy all the expetatives of each one,
We sorry that you does not enjoyed our termals, we will hope the next time you will harness our the relaxing and confort of this services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,409 reviews
5.0 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#22 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 84-4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing