We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$156
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$581
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$209
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$463
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveler rating
358
539
311
110
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
539
311
110
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springssuperior cabincosta ricacanopy tourrocking chairszip liningstandard roomthermal poolsresident slothwet barfront porchgreat view of the volcanoswim up barair conditioninghorseback ridingbeautiful groundsbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Arenal Paraiso during our 10 day tour of Costa Rica. We traveled a good portion of the country during this trip. When we arrived at La Fortuna, we were quite road weary. The Spa and other amenities were very rejuvenating. Complimentary breakfasts were fresh and tasty. Our time in La Fortuna was during a fog that never revealed Volcan Arenal, however the spa amenities and strolling the grounds at Arenal Paraiso made that portion of the trip worthwhile. Sin duda volveremos a Arenal Paraiso Resort y Spa. Muchas gracias.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floyd O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

It was a pleasure that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel, we hope that you con back with your family and your friends to Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
We will happy to attend you on another time and provide you all our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first hotel on our trip to CostaRica Room #136. We arrived and went to sleep. I was up all night itching in the bed. I informed front desk and they said they were mosquito bites. I have confirmed 30 bedbug bites and my boyfriend has 17. Beware, don't risk it. These bites last for weeks and the bugs are hard to get out of your things since you can't see them!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmart702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director General at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We want to thank you for visiting us again. It was a pleasure having you in our hotel
We are really sorry to hear about the bites and we would like to explain you, the measures we have to avoid these kinds of situations
Our cleaning process in rooms:
• The linens have a strict cleaning process that has steps with cold water and 5 different products that include the function of disinfection. And at the end, the linens pass for the final step with hot air, for drying, which means that after all the products and the different temperatures, is not possible that bugs could survive.
• All the rooms are completely clean, with products that have the same functions, clean and don’t allow any bacteria, virus or bugs in order to provide a healthy environment for our guests, actually, this products are also biodegradable.
• Also, we have a fumigation program in all our rooms and public areas.
So, as you can see there is a really low probability that you could have gotten these bites in the room for all the hygiene protocols. It looks like you had Chiggers bites, these are tiny red mites from arachnid family that could be found in grassy fields, along lakes and streams and forests. So is probable that you were in touch with these chiggers sometime in your trip in Costa Rica.
Considering that we are a country with tropical weather, our refund policies do not include bug bites or similar insect-related incidents, since -even if we do our best with bed bugs and such- most are not under our control, but nature's, instead. We hope you can understand our position, as we understand yours.

Hope you feel better soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Arenal Paraison for our first 3 nighs in Costa Rica. The resort was beautiful, with mature tropical landscaping, beautiful pool and hot spring area, very private bungalows and a great outdoor dining area. We had a superior room, which was very comfortable and spacious. Only cause of concern was the shower pressure and temperature. Since the water supply is solar-heated, we did not always have a real hot shower each day, but certainly warm enough. Restaurant was a bit pricy, although we did enjoy the breakfasts included with our booking. We ate dinner after the first night at local eateries to truly experience the local flavor, bith food and atmosphere of the are. Very conveniently located to Arenal Volcano Park, and away from the hustle of La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out through a large area, with walking involved to dining rooms and main office. If necessary, request a room close to the main entrance if walking is an issue. We enjoyed the walks as the grounds and landscaping are beautiful...even saw toucans outside our cottage!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJRuggiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director General at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We are happy that you had a great time in our hotel , it was a pleasure to attend you, it is very importante for us that you really enjoyed the breakfast in our restaurant.
we hope that you come back to our hotel and provide you our services and our quality staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel offers amazing view of Arenal Volcano and is located nearby all area attractions. Little bungalow houses are surrounded by a variety of lush tropical plants, trees and flowers. Heaven for botanists and birdwatchers. Hotel has acres of of rainforest..so can go hiking or zip-lining without driving anywhere. Rainforest inhabitants, animals/birds, can be seen on the premises. Great thermal pools are at your service 24 hours a day. Hotel offers wonderful spa services. All-in-all: great place, great staff, great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel has so much potential to be a stellar resort. The grounds are beautiful and well tended. The cabins are nice for privacy, and have tiled porches with rocking chairs and a view. We had a alligator "towel art" on one of the beds when we arrived. The amenities are plentiful. We were welcomed warmly, but then practically ignored.
Our bathroom had ants on and around the toilet and floor. Our safe did not work. The toilet ran unless you waited long enough to jiggle the handle. Three of us had 2 towels the first day, and only 1 the second day. We wanted (and were promised) a room with a tub. Ours only had a shower. When we called the desk, we were told we could upgrade for $190 more a night. What's more is that a taxi ride OR a shuttle ride into the nearest town, La Fortuna, is $12 each way.
The mineral hot springs are wonderful! The hot breakfast with fresh fruit, juice and cereal were awesome. The restaurant was pricy, but delicious. The advertising says there is WiFi, but there is none in the rooms or restaurant. It's available only in the lobby.
The personnel seemed uninterested in us after we were checked in. We were referred there by a travel company, and the rest of our vacation with them was flawless. I priced other hotels and found many others for a better price and they seemed just as nice.

Room Tip: I only saw our "Superior" room. The advertising shows an awesome room with a jacuzzi. This was not even close to ours. Be sure and ask about how far you will be from the main entrance (the back cabins are a LONG way) and make sure about details. (Safe, bathroom, etc.)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myracox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

It was a pleasure that you enyoyed our hotel in general, we ask apologies about the problems wiht the towels, toilet and the wifi service, we have worked about this problem and now we have available wifi in the lobby, wet bar and in the restaurant.
We hope that you come back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews