We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find other accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Find other accommodations”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is terrible and in need of a serious update! The food at breakfast that's included is terrible!! Dinner is alright but pricey for what you can get in town. The rooms have mold and bugs! I left the remote on the side table and grabed it when 100 tiny bugs started to crawl all over me! The spa was but alright, I have had way better facial for the price... They claim to do extractions but they dont have the proper tools. We had 2 rooms one for our friends and one for us, they got there room cleaned 2 times and they didn't even come to replace our towels once, or clean our room. The pools were cold! There were know lights leading up to the other springs so my friend fell. As we checked In we paid with a card and our friends paid cash.... They gave us towel cards to use.... At the end of our stay we returned all 4 towels, the front staff looked at each other and asked for our friends recipt... They said what recipt? It was for the cash deposit for the towles! They never said to keep this tiny hand written piece of paper. Even though they brought back the towles they still have us a hard time! Then they made us wait 1 hour for "the guy who took the deposit" to come from home... We waited long enough! My husband speaks fluent Spanish has lived in cr for years and the front desk acted like they had know idea what was going on, we tried explaining that we bought our towels back!! So my husband thanked them for nothing after a hour and a half we left. As we were leaving, we saw the two front desk agents pocket the money from the little cash box.!! Could believe it!!
Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabobunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    483
    278
    92
    75
See reviews for
303
501
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Property is very nice. Lush green grass and trees everywhere. There is several hot springs scattered though the property. Bungaloos are very cool. Everyone has there own little "home". Rooms are very basic, but comfortable. Be warned that taxis are VERY expensive. Since this is considered rural the taxi begins charging you from when they leave town. You'll end up paying $12(one way) for the two mile trip to town. The resturant can use some help. Breakfast was ok. Dinner was below average. There are no resturants within walking distance so unless you want to add the $30 round trip taxi for dinner you're foced to eat at the resturant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our first stop on our trip in 2008, our room looks directly at Arenal volcano. We enjoy the pool where you can swim up to and sit on a stool in the hot springs water. The grounds are lush, green, beautiful flowers and tropical birds flying around. Large resort that I walked around and took pictures of. The room was small and modest but we enjoyed the porch and rocking chairs. We very much enjoyed a guided tour at Arenal Observatory Lodge and saw howler monkeys, leaf-cutter ants and spider monkeys. We also ziplined! What better place could one zipline, looking at nothing but a canopy of trees below.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location is fine, but the rooms themselves are depressing: old decor, danky smell, unpleasant toilet/shower. There are lots of better alternatives in the area. Check TA reviews, and go with something else.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anonmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel campus is huge, way larger than I thought it would be. The views were great. The hotel room was a bit small, as was the TV inside the room (maybe 19''). We did really enjoy the little porch and those comfortable chairs. The food was ok, nothing special. The price of the food and drinks in the gift shop were very expensive ($3.00 for a soft drink, and $2.00 for a bottle of water). I would advice anyone to stop before you get to the hotel, and buy your own drinks (beer, soft drinks, water, etc) and skip buying stuff on the resort.

The hot springs were a nice touch (don't be turned off by the water color). There were many different springs, with many different temps., it was neat.

The hotel seems nice, we didn't have that much interaction with them (which I guess is good).

Overall, I enjoyed the resort, but found the room a bit small and the food/drinks to be expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great location and perfect view of volcano from rocking chair on front of chalet
Had wonderful tour to see volcano close up withv Joeji in the pouring rain!

Restaurant good especially the buffet breakfast.
Ziplining on site - fantastic experience. The 3 boys were well looked after by two guides who pointed out wildlife
Girls enjoyed relaxing in the hot pools.

Room Tip: Keep a close eye on your beloning we had raincoat taken from restaurant area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent 6 days at this resort. The grounds are beautiful. All rooms have a view of the volcano. Although our view was not super, we did not spend much time in our room during the day, so it really wasn't an issue. The views of the volcano from the pool and restaurant are amazing! Our standard room was comfortable and clean. The complimentary breakfast buffet each day was really good. Nice options for anyone. The pools and pool bar were nice. Bartenders friendly. The staff at the front were helpful and friendly too. The zip lining was awesome! Guides really helpful for first-timers and had a photographer to capture everything. Resort was only a short drive into town for shopping and dining. Only suggestion would be to have WiFi in the rooms, as the only other option was the Reception area and the Restaurant (which was not working during our stay). Would definitely stay there again and recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliefahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.0 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,435 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 84-4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing