We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent 6 days at this resort. The grounds are beautiful. All rooms have a view of the volcano. Although our view was not super, we did not spend much time in our room during the day, so it really wasn't an issue. The views of the volcano from the pool and restaurant are amazing! Our standard room was comfortable and clean. The complimentary breakfast buffet each day was really good. Nice options for anyone. The pools and pool bar were nice. Bartenders friendly. The staff at the front were helpful and friendly too. The zip lining was awesome! Guides really helpful for first-timers and had a photographer to capture everything. Resort was only a short drive into town for shopping and dining. Only suggestion would be to have WiFi in the rooms, as the only other option was the Reception area and the Restaurant (which was not working during our stay). Would definitely stay there again and recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliefahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    419
    239
    81
    67
See reviews for
250
425
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. The room was nice and cozy, the bathroom spacious and front porch with the rocking chairs lovely. We had an amazing view of the volcano and eventhough it rained one entire day we could still use the hot spring pools and enjoy the day to the fullest. Thanks to the canopy tour and waterslide even my 5 year old had a blast. The prices are reasonable and the staff absolutly friendly and helpfull. Overall an excellent get away from the city I would definetly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I loved staying at the Pariso. The food was very good, but a little over priced. The view of the volcano from my cabana was excellent! The zip line was really good too. I found the people to be courteous. However, it is pretty far out from La Fortuna ~$12 each way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I went there during the holy week. We arrived late in the afternoon and then decided to go to the thermal pools. It had rained before and when I took the steps of the cabin, I fell down and hit my elbow and back really bad. The stairs didn't have any anti-slip material. Thank God I could walk after that, so we went to tell the front desk and the guy there told me: "Fortunately nothing bad happended to you"...The people at the hotel have to be thankful for their thermal pools because that prevented my body from serious bruising and ache. A day after I talked to the manager about this and he offered a doctor, but thank God I didn't need it but that is what the front desk should have offered the day of the accident.

The outdoor plans that they offer are very expensive. It is better to go to the places by yourself and pay directly. They offered the hanging bridges for more than twice the real price!!! And they won't make any discount if you want to do more than one activity.

The thermal pools are very dark at night and they are in the open. Breakfast is good. I won't come back to Arenal Paraiso and I won't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent 4 days in this hotel in May. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms have great views of the volcano. Our standard room was comfortable and spacious with rocking chairs on the porch. The hot spring are nice with small pools at different temperatures. It would be good to have Wifi in the rooms and not only in the lobby and restaurant. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank costaricafan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed two nights here. It has a series of thermal water pools at various temperatures. Quite unique. It is near the active volcano Arenal.
Units are independent cabanas so there is not much problem w noise. Each unit has porches so nice to relax. The whole complex is huge and breakfast was included in their cafeteria.
Our room had fridge, air con and tv. Showers were large. The housekeeping crew does a wonderful sculpture w towels. Once it was a beautiful armadillo!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveHuanchaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We did a last minute trip to Arenal and ended up in a suite here. We opened the door and it was about 120 degrees in the room with the air off and windows closed. The windows had no screens so when open the room filled up with bees. After 6 hours the room finally cooled off. At night we heard what sounded like a screaming banshee, we first thought local wildlife came into our room but it was the refrigerator. We had to unplug it. They have an ala carte menu of everything they charge extra for using like the in room safe, Internet, extra towels, etc.. The furniture and cabins themselves need serious renovation. The hot spring pool at the top of the grounds was hot although pretty small. They also have nearly no lights at night so very hard to see. Included breakfast was average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chamarivercr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing