We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with hot springs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with hot springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent 4 days in this hotel in May. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms have great views of the volcano. Our standard room was comfortable and spacious with rocking chairs on the porch. The hot spring are nice with small pools at different temperatures. It would be good to have Wifi in the rooms and not only in the lobby and restaurant. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank costaricafan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    450
    262
    90
    75
See reviews for
273
475
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed two nights here. It has a series of thermal water pools at various temperatures. Quite unique. It is near the active volcano Arenal.
Units are independent cabanas so there is not much problem w noise. Each unit has porches so nice to relax. The whole complex is huge and breakfast was included in their cafeteria.
Our room had fridge, air con and tv. Showers were large. The housekeeping crew does a wonderful sculpture w towels. Once it was a beautiful armadillo!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveHuanchaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We did a last minute trip to Arenal and ended up in a suite here. We opened the door and it was about 120 degrees in the room with the air off and windows closed. The windows had no screens so when open the room filled up with bees. After 6 hours the room finally cooled off. At night we heard what sounded like a screaming banshee, we first thought local wildlife came into our room but it was the refrigerator. We had to unplug it. They have an ala carte menu of everything they charge extra for using like the in room safe, Internet, extra towels, etc.. The furniture and cabins themselves need serious renovation. The hot spring pool at the top of the grounds was hot although pretty small. They also have nearly no lights at night so very hard to see. Included breakfast was average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chamarivercr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Our first Standard room smelled like cigarette smoke and when we asked to move we were told we could upgrade to a superior room for $40 more per night which we did. Both rooms were clean but dated and in need of remodeling. We had to ask twice for extra pillows and toilet paper.  

The setting and grounds however were very beautiful and the 13 man-made pools filled with natural hot water kept the kids happy. The restaurant was average and pricey but had wonderful views of Arenal. The front desk staff was helpful and booked our jeep-boat-jeep excursion to Monte Verde and allowed us to leave leave our cars parked in their lot for two days. 

Don't pay for the hot springs at Tabicon just ask to park in front and walk to the hot "natural river" instead. The entrance is through the yellow gate near the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Located at the base of the volcano, along the edge of the jungle. This resort has it's own zip lining which was phenomenal with the best tour guides you could ask for. It also has it's own hot springs which were fantastic late at night. You could hear the animals in the jungle while enjoying the hot springs.

the private cabin was excellent with an incredible view and it's own courtyard. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

On the up side, the Paraíso is well located, has lovely views of Arenal and, as always in Costa rica, staff are friendly and helpful. There is wildlife to enjoy without leaving the premises and a joy of an outdoor cascade spa, which appears always to have space, set in luscious grounds.

Nevertheless, the rooms were not up to the category of the hotel. Furnishings were not up to standard and bungalows were not walled up to the top, so any noise from the neighbours could be heard as if it were in your own room.

Lastly, the staff did not know how to deal with an appalling group of people, drunk, lewd and antisocial in the floating bar, which made other residents avoid the entire area. Another example of disgraceful attitudes by a people, unable to respect the fact they are visitors in another country and not its owners.

Room Tip: "If you're prepared to take a walk, go a little out of the way, and make sure no-one else i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffwellard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Was A great location, room was great as well , i had one of the 2 King beds offered in the deluxe.When we arrived, we were impressed beyond the descriptions on-line. The grounds are lush and well-kept. THE THERMAL POOLS were the best i have been to in Arenal area.THEY WERE ACTUALLY HOT.(The Springs resort, and Baldi all the pools were cool for $400 plus a night you expect their thermal pools to be hot) The Value and the location of this hotel were awesome and i would return again...

Room Tip: Go with the deluxe Suite and get 1 of the 2 rooms they have with the California King Beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing