We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Los Lagos Rocks - even without volcanic activity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2007

We actually didn't expect much from Los Lagos, but their recent re-vamp must have done wonders - or maybe other reviewers are not quite realistic of the price level involved here.

We loved it! The kids thoroughly enjoyed the pools - though they would have preferred the normal pools heated better, and the hot spring a bit cooler (the latter more difficult to arrange...). Beware of the totally fun, but rather dangerous slides - not for frail adults!

The gardens were full of lovely plants and animals to explore - and people wizzing above you; our daughter loved it.

The breakfast buffet was brilliant, with fresh pancakes and omeletes made to order. Lunch and dinner were fine as well, and all served on the terrace overlooking the gardens, with a good view of the hummingbirds enjoying the fruits and feeders put out for them.

Avoid rooms 101 and 102, between entrance and car park, and I would recommed either Superior rooms by the side of the pool area (easy access, ok volcano view), or Superior Deluxe rooms right at the top - quite a treck back and forth, both totally isolated and beutiful views of the volcano, halfway up to the observation point. Take the transport up and down, or walk, feel virtuous and watch the sloth in the trees on the way! Only differnce in the room is that Deluxes have coffee makers!

Do go and see the Fortuna waterfall - just take a taxi there, it's very cheap, and there's no need for a tour guide. It's a strenuous, but easy walk down, and easily the most impressive waterfall I've seen - it thunders so hard, you can feel the vibration! Stop the taxi on the way for a refreshing drink of cold, young coconut from the little stall, run by some local children - the driver will happily wait.

We went on the Cano Negro nature watching trip, organised online from home, but could also be done via reception, and it was extremely good and well organised. It's on the border to Nigaragua, and one of the few things not possible to do on your own. We saw loads of fearsome iguanas (vegetarians!), monkeys, bats and of course masses of birds incl some very rare species.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billeharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2007

Flew to Arenal with Nature Air from Quepos. Plane held 19.A very stoney runway was landed on.Stayed in Los Lagos Hotel which was a combination of small houses around the Arenal volcano.Adequate with a good view of the volcano which was covered with cloud that disappeared a little to allow us a quick view of the summit. Ther was a few shops in the complex and a large restaurant area for food.Veery good buffet breakfast accompanied with the feeding of humming birds around the edge of the canopy.Good pools and warm pool bar. Pleasant to walk around the garden and watsh fish and crocodiles. Went ATVing up to the waterfall.( excellent guide) Venado caves, about 45 kilometres away, were investigated. This guide was something else and we were well looked after. Be prepared to get down, wet and muddy. A shower is needed after. This was well worth a visit. Thermal pools, heateed by the volcano. at Balnearnio Tabacon with dinner at night is a must. Taxis were cheap to La Fortuna where we had a meal at Rancho La Cascado recommended by Rough Guide. It was here at a Travel place recommended by Rough Guide that we organised our tours- turn left from the taxi stand and continue down the street. The girl was having something to eat but nothing was any bother.
Tripadvisor Member Lurgan N. ireland

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

Spent the night in Arenal and ended up at Los Lagos per a friend’s suggestion. Pulling into the property I had a feeling this was gonna cost me and arm & leg. Inquired about room rates & availability and was surprised the best room, superior room, was only $119 a night for two people including tax & breakfast. Was given the key to the room and map to get there, wow this property is big.

The superior was very large and modern, and great views on both sides including the volcano.

The property included a hot pool, aka hot spring, open to 10 pm. Not on the same level as the Tabacon or Baldi Springs, but it was free and did the trick after a long drive.

The free breakfast, buffet style, was adequate and enough to start the day.

Can’t wait to come back, next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RSalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Los Lagos had great views of the Volcano - even though we never saw lava flow at night. There are a few pools - one with a swim up bar and one hot spring pool. However, not many chairs to lounge around the pool. There is an alligator farm and butterfly farm as well - so a nice activity to do with children or curious adults. We also spent a morning talking a hike up to the observatory tower.

The rooms are simple and clean and have AC and a small fridge.

The breakfast is delicious and a great spot to watch different birds. Over a few cups of coffee we saw at least 5 different types of birds.

Activities near the hotel that we participated in were the hanging bridges (15 USD cab ride) and Tabacon(about 10-12 USD cab ride). We went to Tabacon at night and I was glad we did - it exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank WheretonextBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

Los Lagos is a great place to stay for familes. There, pool and slides are great for the kids. They even have one set up for the adults by the Hot Springs pool. I chose this hotel thinking it was on the "lava flowing" side of the volcano. I was mistaken :(
The hotel has only 1 ding option and its a bit pricy. You can get food by the pool but its not that great. If you stay here, definately take a $4 taxi rid eto La Fortuna "town". There you can shop for souveniers, get a cheap massage, and eat great typical Costa Rican food. One place we went to eat was Nene's. The arroz con pollo )checken with rice) was so good. Back to the hotel. After about 10pm the hotel is dead but i notice that to be true wherever i went and stayed in Costa Rica. Like I said, great for families but if you want to see the lava action, stay at the other side of the volcano.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank smilecookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The superior room was huge. Plenty to keep you busy when you are at the resort - the included breakfast was very good. Would recomend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flycatcher06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Los Lagos for 4 nights in February.

We had originally decided on the Arenal Paraiso, however when we tried booking our tickets all the rooms had already been reserved there. The travel agent suggested Los Lagos instead. We thought the photos on their website looked kind of cheesy, but decided to go ahead. We are glad we did -- it was much nicer than we expected!

The resort is outside of La Fortuna, located on the base of the Volcano. It has three pools -- two "normal" ones and one "hot" (and more were under construction during our stay). There is also a spa, a large garden area with croc, frog, and butterfly enclosures, a canopy tour, and a two-track 2km trail leading up to a very nice observation point. The campus is large and very hilly, but they offers a shuttle service if you need to get from one place to another without ruining your knees.

The on-site restaurant serves a decent free breakfast buffet, but avoid it for other meals. There are much better places in La Fortuna.

Pros: Nice and close to La Fortuna means meals won't be a hassle. Decent room service. Great volcano view. Hot pool is awesome. Well-manicured grounds. Helpful front staff. Waterslides are fun as hell.
Cons: Kind of far from the tours on the other side of the volcano, but it balanced out with the proximity to La Fortuna. Avoid the on-site canopy tour, book one elsewhere.

The cabs were a bit more expensive than we expected, but service was always quick and painless. The drivers like the fares, so if you get a cab ride one way you can ask them to be back in 2 hours (or whatever) to pick you up and know they will.
Cab rates from Los Lagos (one-way):
La Fortuna - $4
Tabacon - $8
El Silencio - $10
Arenal Natl Park or Hanging Bridges- $15
La Fortuna Waterfall - $20

Recommended tours:
El Silencio (just a trail) - very neat jungle hike. Great panoramic view of the volcano at the top.
Arenal Natl. Park - It's awesome to walk over the 1992 lava flow.
Hanging Bridges day - Great views, expect to see some neat wildlife
Hanging Bridges night - We didn't see as much as I expected from other reviews, but this was fun! Tarantulas and snakes...

All in all, we were very happy with Los Lagos for the money, and would recommend it to people looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank GR_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,031 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,878 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $82 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing