We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for your buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Los Lagos for 4 nights in February.

We had originally decided on the Arenal Paraiso, however when we tried booking our tickets all the rooms had already been reserved there. The travel agent suggested Los Lagos instead. We thought the photos on their website looked kind of cheesy, but decided to go ahead. We are glad we did -- it was much nicer than we expected!

The resort is outside of La Fortuna, located on the base of the Volcano. It has three pools -- two "normal" ones and one "hot" (and more were under construction during our stay). There is also a spa, a large garden area with croc, frog, and butterfly enclosures, a canopy tour, and a two-track 2km trail leading up to a very nice observation point. The campus is large and very hilly, but they offers a shuttle service if you need to get from one place to another without ruining your knees.

The on-site restaurant serves a decent free breakfast buffet, but avoid it for other meals. There are much better places in La Fortuna.

Pros: Nice and close to La Fortuna means meals won't be a hassle. Decent room service. Great volcano view. Hot pool is awesome. Well-manicured grounds. Helpful front staff. Waterslides are fun as hell.
Cons: Kind of far from the tours on the other side of the volcano, but it balanced out with the proximity to La Fortuna. Avoid the on-site canopy tour, book one elsewhere.

The cabs were a bit more expensive than we expected, but service was always quick and painless. The drivers like the fares, so if you get a cab ride one way you can ask them to be back in 2 hours (or whatever) to pick you up and know they will.
Cab rates from Los Lagos (one-way):
La Fortuna - $4
Tabacon - $8
El Silencio - $10
Arenal Natl Park or Hanging Bridges- $15
La Fortuna Waterfall - $20

Recommended tours:
El Silencio (just a trail) - very neat jungle hike. Great panoramic view of the volcano at the top.
Arenal Natl. Park - It's awesome to walk over the 1992 lava flow.
Hanging Bridges day - Great views, expect to see some neat wildlife
Hanging Bridges night - We didn't see as much as I expected from other reviews, but this was fun! Tarantulas and snakes...

All in all, we were very happy with Los Lagos for the money, and would recommend it to people looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank GR_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2007

We had a great time at Los Lagos especially since we were able to view the glowing rocks tumbling down the mountainside from outside our room. We even had a visiting cat that made it seem like home. The pools are nice - both hot and cool - and the water slides are quite a thrill! The breakfast each morning was fantastic and the restaurant was pleasant. However, the atmosphere was a bit too much like being at a theme park starting at check-in when they banded our wrists with bright yellow plastic bands (that we had to wear for the duration of our visit) and having the zip lines operating over our heads throughout the day.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michiganfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We spent two nights at Las Lagos in Feb. 2007. The room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The amenities of the hotel are bounteous: a butterfly garden, zip wire, hot pool, cold pool, horse-back riding, shuttle service, excellent breakfast, and absolutely stunning view of Volcan Arenal.
Two exciting and yet relaxing days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KPHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2007

Stayed: January 2007
9  Thank schinamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2007

Our entire family, including 3 kids ages 12, 8, and 4, absolutely loved Los Lagos. We booked a premium superior room, and the kids loved the novelty of two rollaway beds under the 2 big queen-sized beds. The room was huge, and the view was amazing. During the day we could see rocks (mostly big puffs of ash where the rocks landed) rolling down the side of the volcano right from our room. One night (of 3) we were lucky enough to see hot lava rocks rolling down and breaking apart. The other two nights were too cloudy, which the locals said was unusual in general, but fairly typical for this year. We took the long long long hike up to the observatory point, which was worth the effort because we could see and hear better from there. We were glad to have binoculars, though. Back at the hotel, the kids loved the pools and the waterslides. The food was very good, and reasonable, I thought...the breakfast buffet was not something I'd rave about, but it was fine...good food. Dinner was the same...really good food, but we appreciated it as much for the convenience as for the quality. We booked a trip to La Catarata waterfall through Lourdes at the Los Lagos travel agency, and had a wonderful guide (William) who genuinely liked the kids, and modified the standard tour so we just went (by car) to the waterfall and then into town for lunch. It was a great day for us, but tons of steps to climb down (and then back up!). Definitely worth it, though. There are two nice gift shops on site. We also booked a day trip to Eco Termales hot springs, and it was a wonderful morning. We went from 10-1, which was plenty of time. It was beautiful, and there were only a few other people there. We had lunch there, which was delicious! We had way too much food, though, served family style, so we could have ordered a meal or two less than we did. We had a driver pick us up from Liberia and take us to Los Lagos, then did the taxi-boat-taxi to Monterverde. That was a really good choice for us...the roads are steep, narrow, winding and not really paved for much of the trip, and the bouncing around got old pretty fast. The trip across the lake was great. Back to Los Lagos, the only drawback was that it was hard to walk from the room to the pools and restaurant because the hills were so steep and it was a far distance for the kids. But the shuttle always came right away, and we did walk a couple times and everyone survived. I was surprised at how many other hotels were right next to the road, so I was glad that Los Lagos was well off the road and our room was up a hill. We found everyone to be nice enough, some very nice (the shuttle bus driver), and our high school Spanish got us pretty far. We had a great trip to Costa Rica, and Los Lagos was a big part of that!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank VAEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2007

Unbelievable view. Our rooms from the balcony, looked at the Volcano. We did see some red hot rocks flowing in the evening, just spectacular. The hotel is overwelming. From the desk to your room there is a shuttle, and you will need it, its straight up, nice walk down, but coming up is a bear.Rooms were excellent, and very clean. The pools are outstanding and there are two slides. The pool bar is great, the food is outstanding and the prices are super. There is another restaurant right next to the desk area, its very nice and the prices are more than reasonable. The SPA is beautiful and worth the stop. This was a great hotel, the staff was excellent and a fantastic stop on the tour. The town is just down the road and has lots to offer.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank jonbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Over Christmas, we stayed at Los Lagos for about a week. It was very nice. The layout of the grounds is very well done. Our room was clean, although it did have a slight odor upon arrival. I'm pretty sure the odor is humidity related as the room was spotless. When not in the U.S., the concept of "resort" is rather different. The room had a coffee maker in the room (a must for my husband), but if you actually want coffee, you have to call down to the lobby and ask for it and they will charge you for coffee each day. Kind of tacky coming from a "resort."
The sheets had those little pills on them. Cheap sheets in a resort? Our room had a nice view of the volcano. On only one night could you even see the lava flow due to cloud cover. Even so, it was a nice view -- there wasn't lots of noise from others as the cabins are pretty well spaced out. We were able to sit out on our front porch each night and enjoy the weather.

They have a really nice swim-up bar at one of the pools, although the bartender seemed to be rather surly. It was a great place to relax at the end of a hard day hiking around the countryside. If you have kids, this is the place for you as they have waterslides and several pools to keep them entertained. My husband kept calling the place "Disney World." But I thought that the hotel was well done for the most part.

The hotel offers complimentary breakfast -- it is buffet style and everything was good. Lots to choose from. We at lunch at the restaurant on one day -- it was just okay.

The front desk people -- only moderately helpful. We asked for the front desk to try and get us a reservation at one of the private hot springs. He seemed kind of put out to have to do any type of service for us. He called twice (while we stood there) and it was busy. He told us that it was the holiday season and that he was sure ithe hot spring was booked up. I went back to our room, called the hot springs and was able to make a reservation with no problem.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Shadow04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,872 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,371 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $82 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing