We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$168
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$259
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mountain Paradise(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$127
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$142
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$240
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 07/26
$135
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,632)
Filter reviews
1,632 results
Traveler rating
677
651
210
53
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
651
210
53
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidesant farmobservation pointbutterfly gardenswim up barhot springssuperior roomarenal volcanowet barcosta ricahot poolszip lininghorseback ridingshuttle servicespring poolscanopy tourleaf cutter ants
Filter
Updating list...
1,107 - 1,112 of 1,632 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The grounds and location of this hotel were outstanding. Its sits directly in the backdrop of the Arenal Volcano and offers beautiful views. Though the best lava views seemed to be either at the very edge of the property in the observation area or at other resorts further down the road, we were still able to glimpse the eruption from our room. Nightime viewing was tough due to nightime cloud cover and rain during our stay. The property boasts a lot of forest area - enough even to allow a troup of howler monkeys to make an appearance just outside our room on our final afternoon. The hotel had a beautifully landscaped property & a multitude of well kept hot and cold pools. Our family ranged in age from 17-43 and we enjoyed the hot springs and the waterslides. I bet families with younger children would have probably enjoyed the pools even more than we did.

While there we took advantage of a couple of on site activites - horseback riding & zip-line canopy tour. These were easy to book and convenient as they both took place right on the property itself. The guides were very fun, knowledgeable and helpful and experienced. They all went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. Since we did not repeat these in other areas I am not sure how they compare to other similar tours in the area.

The only con we could find was the sleeping was a little tough due to hard uncomfortable matresses.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracilang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This resort is amazing. The setting is beautiful with the best view of Arenal that one can find. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. No complaints at all with the room. The included breakfast was terrific.

Grounds are amazingly beautiful. The water is dreamy and the slides are fun. Our entire party -- from age 3 to 37 had a terrific time and our stay went by way too fast.
I would not hesitate to return.

Two areas for improvement are the lack of internet in the room and just the knowledge that many of the rooms are a LONG way from the dining area and the swimming area. There is a free van transfer but wait times seem long. This is a small price to pay for the benefits. The natural hot springs, slides, swimming and environment are simply unmatched in the world, seriously.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlotto7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

***We really enjoyed the area of Arenal (we wished we had booked more than 3 nights) and felt Los Lagos was the perfect fit for us... the quality of the hotel/resort for the value*** After reading tons of reviews here on Tipadvisor my husband and I decided to email Los Lagos and see if they could offer any specials (we went during the off season in September and learned that most hotels will offer you specials if you just ask- but keep in mind this process of communicating will take much longer than it does in say the USA... think of it as "relaxed Costa Rica time"). We stayed in a "Standard double" for an amazing $90/night special rate (breakfast and taxes included- for 3 nights min, we liked the newly redone rooms we were put in as well) and it was perfect for us!! Since it was our wedding anniversary we wanted to stay in a nice resort-like hotel, but weren't willing to fork out big $$$$ for the well-known Tabacon and other 5star resorts, 3-4stars was perfect considering the best part of Arenal was all the adventures/excursions we booked (which the hotel did a great job of setting up for us)! The one thing which makes Los Lagos that much better than other 3-4 star resorts is that Los Lagos has its own natural hot springs/pools :) we checked out others such as Tabacon and you would pay $75 per person to just go for one night! But since we were staying at Los Lagos we could enjoy our own hot springs every night for no additional charge :) and we did! The only thing we found strange about costa rica rooms was the lack of an alarm clock, bring your own cuz there isnt any in the rooms (u can get a wake up call though)... probably because that would go against the relaxing feel of the country. We had read some negative comments about the staff before we went, but honestly they were totally fine! Just dont set your expectations super-high as you might desire at a 5-star resort! All of the staff was professional and helpful.
Regarding activities... in the area we loved every one we went on, and after pricing out other competitors we realized the pricing offered at the hotel was just as good and more convenient. Here are some examples of what the hotel arranged for us I HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU TRY THESE :) :
--Pure Trek Canyoning (rappel down waterfalls) http://puretrekcostarica.com/canyoning.html (cant recall the price but prob around $70-90 pp w/ lunch & transport) This was sooooooooo fun!!
--Wave White Water Rafting (El Toro river) http://www.waveexpeditions.com/products/1-toro-river (I've never done it before, but definitely recommend this one)
--Zip Lines.... yes los lagos has some, but they are nothin compared to the Sky Trek ones which are huuuuuuuuuuuuge and awesome! http://www.skyadventures.travel/Arenal_En/Sky_Trek.html (the last zipline tour departed at 3pm each day and was $60 per person) We drove over to do the zip lines towards the end of the day and then since we were so near to the Observatory lodge we went there for early dinner and watched the lava fall for hours on the active side... very cool, you should not miss this, but try to time it with the weather/visibility!
*Note, although the observatory lodge has a great view of the active side of the volcano, i felt much better on the other side while sleeping :) at Los Lagos... but definitely make the trip one of the days to hear and see the active side!
--La Fortuna waterfall... if you are looking for a quick little adventure, drive yourself there and enjoy a dip! I dont think its worth $40pp as a tour though, glad we had our rental car.
Lastly, regarding cars in costa rica, we rented a car from San Jose (cant recall the company but it was well known) and it was a fun adventure in itself to drive around costa rica... GPS was critical :) as there is no such thing as addresses as we know it in the USA, but as long as you are headed to a well known destination your gps will find it... otherwise the people are very nice and helpful if you get a little lost along the way! HAVE A BLAST!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3to4starTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Me,my family and some friends stayed at Los Lagos back in May, the property is very nice and as a matter of fact throughout the yearsI have stayed here maybe 3 or 4 times but my surprise was this last trip when they were billing me for my room. So let me try to explain,their rates are given in dollars so you would expect to be charged in dollars for your stay if you were to pay with a credit card, because in Costa Rica credit card machines have the ability to charge you in dollars, but what they do is give you the total in dollars and use a phony exchange rate so that they can charge you more when they make the conversion to colones. When I was at the hotel the exchage rate at the Central Bank had an exc hange rate of 511.00 colones (buy) for $1.00 and 521.00 (sell) for $1.00; at Hotel Los Lagos $545.00 as you can see their convertion rate is extremly high, so to avoid being taken advantage your only option is to pay in cash (dollars).

P.S. In Costa Rica the Central Bank determines the rates that all Costarican financial intitutions can use to exchange currencies.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank coperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

From the gateway into the resort we were impressed with our selection.
We are greeted by a beautiful waterfall followed by amazing gardens!
There is a security gate that is guarded 24 hours a day and the guests are
given bracelets to ensure our security.

We stayed in a cabin that was close to everything: pool, restaurant, souvenir shop,
flower gardens...perfect locations.
There are cabins that are further away and are perfect if you are super active, or
have a vehicle for traveling.
The volcano lookout is with in DRIVING distance....you are up for a hike if you want to
walk to the look out....beautiful once you arrive!

Our room was clean and they kept up with towels and making our beds...it was like they were hiding in the closet :)

Dinners were great, but if you had a vehicle it was worth it to drive into town and find a small local business to eat at and shop at for souvenirs.
Always have an umbrella or poncho on hand, the volcano heat causes daily rain showers!!

Beautiful and would stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKleop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews