We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed November 25, 2006

Check-in was quick and easy. The desk staff was helpful with planning activities to do in the area. Upon entering our room, we noticed a strong "urine" odor (the resort allows pets, so we think that might be the cause of the odor). After turning on the air and leaving the door open a bit, the smell faded so it turned out ok. The room was large and clean, as was the bathroom. The grounds are amazing (definately the best part of the resort)! The crocodile farm and gardens surrounding were great! We were a little disappointed because the pool (with the huge waterslide) is closed for repair right now - however, the hot spring pool was still open so we settled for that. Overall, it was a good value for the price, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hmj1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    573
    189
    43
    35
See reviews for
571
441
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2006

Not a bad place but the staff at the front desk were VERY arrogant. The breakfast buffet was fantastic but the dinner was a little pricey. Overall for the $70 a night we paid it was a nice place.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank gpb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2006

What a joy it was to end my 6 week journey in Costa Rica at Los Lagos. The rooms were quiet and spacious with spectacular views. The breakfast buffet was the best of my entire trip. It was a pleasure to sit in the hot pool and view the volcano in full eruption. Lots of trails and on one hike up the hill I passed a tree that held at least a dozen toucans. Book this place, you'll love it.

  • Liked — Peaceful with great views
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Paulajeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2006

The Los Lagos is a great place to see the Arenal Volcano erupting. We just got back from CR, and spent 3 days at the Los Lagos. It's property is gigantic, and the rooms are rated based on how close (how far up the mountain) you are to the volcano. But... get a rental car to drive up and down the hills (unless you really like the exercise), also you can get back and forth from Fortuna with a car.

The best part of this hotel was the people. Warm, friendly, helpful and really neat.

I miss them already.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at Los Lagos for three nights in May, 2006. We really enjoyed our affordable stay (approximately $65/night, double occ., including b-fast). The resort has warm and cool pools (we found the warm pools too hot during the day when the sun was beating on us, but nice once the sun set), water slides, a wet bar, a restauarant, and best of all, miles of trails we explored up around the volcano.
The rooms are all located up a steep hill; so depending on where your room is, plan on walking uphill a short distance, or a little longer one (they have a shuttle if necessary).
Upon check-in, they provide you with a map of the grounds and of the 'horse' trails. (They offer a horse-back-riding tour). We decided to hike on foot instead. It was incredible. Up more steep, barely-shaded hills, we got to an Observatory overlooking a lake and with a great view of the volcano. We saw/heard the rocks tumbling down Arenal. We explored some "high risk lava zones" some more and spent hours wandering around the horse/cow fields and paths through the forests and gradually made our way to another side of the volcano (all of this, I believe, was still the hotel's property).
The food was delicious but not as cheap if you went into town. The staff was friendly. I think this hotel has a great view and location of the present lava flow of Arenal.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CC5krunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,844 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing