We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$134
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$279
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$293
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$512
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$135
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$138
$123
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$583
$538
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$450
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,594)
Filter reviews
1,594 results
Traveler rating
656
640
204
53
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
656
640
204
53
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidesant farmobservation pointbutterfly gardenswim up barhot springssuperior roomarenal volcanowet barcosta ricahot poolszip lininghorseback ridingshuttle servicespring poolscanopy tourbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
663 - 668 of 1,594 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here two nights. Was able to check in at 2 pm, no late checkout. Room is smallish, bathroom okay. A/C cover missing, as was light fixture cover. Grounds are fabulous, restaurant food is excellent. No in room coffee maker.
No in room fridge. Shuttle bus reliable and frequent. Went rafting on the Sarapiqui, which was excellent. Reception staff not extremely helpful nor friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harmsenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here three nights upon our arrival in costa rica.A fantastic place to shake off the snow and begin our vacation.Staff was very friendly and helpful,room was great,food excellent and just wandering the extensive grounds then a dip in any temperature pool you desired was fabulous. is a swim up bar ever a bad idea?? Our daughter loved the wildlife and was treated in a special manner by all. Enjoy

Room Tip: Lower rooms =less hilly walking closer to pools
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The location is outstanding (directly at the base of the volcano) The hotel grounds are spectacular. The pools are awesome. The water slides were a blast. As adults, we loved these. The crocodile sanctuary was very cool. The food at the main restaurant was excellent.

Unfortunately, the hotel front desk staff was rude. I tried to speak with them on many occasions during my stay, but they had no interest in communicating with me or trying to help me. I speak both English and Spanish so there was not a language barrier. To be fair I even approached them on 3-4 different occasions just to be certain I didn't catch an employee in a bad moment. They would not let us check-in to our room one minute before 3 PM. We didn't feel comfortable leaving our bags in their storage closet (they are lazy and just give the key to guests to retrieve their own luggage), so essentially everyone has access to your bags. I expect more than this at a hotel that was charging a high dollar.

The drinks at the bar were very pricey, but to have a drink with a volcano view was priceless so I didn't have an issue with that. The only decent drink they made was a pina colada. The other drinks were terrible. We tried multiple drinks. The rooms are very average, but they have huge bathrooms which was nice. Nothing special in the rooms,

Overall, I was happy with the stay except for the lack of customer service and the mediocre rooms. I would only recommend this hotel for families traveling with children. I would give this hotel an "Above Average" review, but due to the lack of customer service and basic rooms, the highest I can go is average.

Room Tip: The grounds are so spread out you have to take a shuttle to/from your room. The rooms are nothing special, but do offer large restrooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WakeChmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is beautifully landscaped and has lots of birds, the red ones will eat out of your hand! The rooms are pretty average, the swimming pools are nice, and the food is pretty good. You have take a taxi into town though, no shuttle provided. It is right in front of the volcanoe.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a very nice choice of resort around the base of Arenal. Plenty of accommodations and excursions on the huge property. The pools are awesome, so are the water slides and wet bar. So are the massages and piña coladas, so is the awesome view and the grounds, so is the enormous and delicious breakfast. Free wifi works across most of the grounds as well. Some areas especially by the crocodile and butterfly exhibits need some TLC and it seems like they're getting it. You won't go wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews