We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a magical, relaxing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Such a magical, relaxing place”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I don't think I've ever been able to unwind and relax so thoroughly as I did at Los Lagos Hotel recently.Every detail was perfect. Lovely accomodations, a beautiful room and every detail taken into perfect consideration.The gardens were so lovely, and the spas were so relaxing. There were plenty of pools to choose from. The only thing they could do better is to allow wifi access in the rooms instead of having to go to the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CroArlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    570
    186
    42
    35
See reviews for
561
439
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had no clue about any of the activities on the hotel grounds! The rooms were not the best by American standards (Marriotts) but the grounds were beautiful. They had about 10ish pools, three cold, the rest hot and the hot spring at the top is the reason I will probably come back it was HOT water like hotter than a jacuzzis on one side and cold on the other side. I think I spent three hours just going back and forth between the two. There are 4 slides that are great and EXTREMELY fast. The main warm pool, the springs get hotter as you go up, has a pool bar with great drinks and in the night there are lights and everything. The bar food is great and cheaper than the hotel restaurants! The hotel rooms themselves are spread out...you only get wifi in the lobby beware. If you want to be able to walk to your rooms ask for 126ish rooms but the ones that are higher up are much better because even though you might need to use the small hotel shuttles, there is a hell of a lot less noise because you won't be near the frog pond and stuff. There is horseback riding and zip lining on the hotel grounds and a two kilometer hiking route. Breakfast is okay nothing spectacular however I enjoyed fried eggs and the rice and beans which were there everyday. They have great coffee though. But out of everything thing the hot springs are a stand out must do. If you are coming to la fortuna/arenal you have to stay at a hotel with these hot springs they are actually fantastic! The town is a 5-10 minute taxi ride that costs 8/10$ you can get food there I recommend the rainforest cafe which has great empanadas!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went with my family- hubby and 2 kids. Great hotel, wonderful location. Awesome hot springs. We loved everything about the hotel. Swim up bar. Cold water pool with slide was fun for the kids. Very relaxing after a whole day of sightseeing. Arenal area has so much to offer and the hotel added to our experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

we stayed in one of the "superior" rooms, were two queen beds and was a very large size. the hotel property is on the side of a volcano and is very steep hills.
the room needed a room key to start the power and turn on the A/C
we ate the complimentary breakfast everyday and was wonderful
we ate in town ( la fortuna) twice la choza del laurel and another place w a thatched roof...all very good but cannot say enough about the pizza place outside the resort down the main road to the left...thin crust wood fire grilled and awesome sangria
the resort is 7 km from Tabacon hot springs which are a MUST see esp at night
the buffet dinner was very good there also
several hot pools, magnificently landscaped
Los Lagos had dinner at the resort but was nothing special , although the thai seafood soup was to die for and could be served as a main meal with a side of rice
the butterfly gardens and hot springs are very nice on site
we booked several tours
would NOT recommend the 1968 tour...lots of uphill and not much to see
we did the safari dingy float which i would rate as moderate, but you can see lots of monkeys
we also did the waterfall hike and the hanging bridges,....enjoyed both, but beware the waterfall hike is LOTS of steps down and then back up is a killer
there is a shuttle on property that you can call for any time and they will drive you up or down to your rooms

Room Tip: we stayed in 205, small rooms up on the hill, but shuttle will take u up or down whenever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vista, ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to CR with our kids and Los Lagos was the perfect spot. We stayed in the villa (401-402) which I would recommend if you are a group of at least 5. Only downside is that it's far from the lobby, pools, etc., but the shuttle arrives within minutes ( usually before we were all ready to go). Very nice having hot springs on site, no need to leave and pay $$$ just to go to Tabacon. Having been I can say that. Also nice to have ziplining on site. Not as high or as fast as sky trek, but if it is your or your kids first time it's a good introduction and reasonably priced. Restaurant was pretty good, although if you are staying in the villa and ambitious you can buy groceries at the supermarket and eat a few meals in your villa to save $$ ( at least breakfast and lunch). Oh, and the watersides are great, especially the one in the "regular" pool. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vistasweethearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The best part of this hotel was the hot springs pools. There are a couple of cold pools, one large pool that is very warm with a wet bar, then a series of about 7 smaller and more private very pools, all hot or even hotter. If you are going to enjoy the Arenal hotsprings, then staying in a hotel with pools makes the most sense, because the pools are included in the lodging price and they can be enjoyed at night. We also ate in the restaurant onsite, and it had a nice variety of dinner time items. The breakfast was also excellent with a wide variety of options. Of note, we were traveling with our 15 year old daughter with autism, and the restaurant staff was especially accommodating to her needs.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms near check-in and the restaurant and hot pools are probably the best becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This time around we stayed for 2 nights and as part of a group of 9 people. The kids really enjoyed the slides, warm water and the area with the wildlife. Other than the wet bar, everything is very decently priced. The girls enjoyed an amazing spa package at the spa (those ladies really know what they are doing and you receive your treatment in a room that opens into the rainforest!) and we had a fun time riding up on horses to the closest observation area for the volcano.

This time around, however, we were put into the cabins closer to the horse stables. While they are very clean and it was nice to sit out late into the night for a large group of people (lights out for the whole resort around 11.30pm), they were a little less nicer than the superior room that we had the last time and the doors had big cracks around them so all sorts of insects got in.

We were here on the weekend and there was a lot of locals, which we do not at all mind, but we did not enjoy the wetbar service as it seemed that the bartender made sure that everyone else was served before we were, regardless of who arrived first.

The breakfast buffet, which was included, was small but good and the service attentive.

Room Tip: Get the superior room if you can - it may be further away but it is bigger with nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms-behaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing