We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as 3 years ago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“As good as 3 years ago”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This time around we stayed for 2 nights and as part of a group of 9 people. The kids really enjoyed the slides, warm water and the area with the wildlife. Other than the wet bar, everything is very decently priced. The girls enjoyed an amazing spa package at the spa (those ladies really know what they are doing and you receive your treatment in a room that opens into the rainforest!) and we had a fun time riding up on horses to the closest observation area for the volcano.

This time around, however, we were put into the cabins closer to the horse stables. While they are very clean and it was nice to sit out late into the night for a large group of people (lights out for the whole resort around 11.30pm), they were a little less nicer than the superior room that we had the last time and the doors had big cracks around them so all sorts of insects got in.

We were here on the weekend and there was a lot of locals, which we do not at all mind, but we did not enjoy the wetbar service as it seemed that the bartender made sure that everyone else was served before we were, regardless of who arrived first.

The breakfast buffet, which was included, was small but good and the service attentive.

Room Tip: Get the superior room if you can - it may be further away but it is bigger with nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms-behaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    567
    186
    42
    34
See reviews for
557
437
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place was so great!! The landscaping was incredible and the view of the Arenal volcano is UNREAL!! If you stay here you HAVE to do the zip-lining, it's a truly great experience and it's right in your front door! The breakfast was phenomenal, the staff was always friendly and helpful and exchanged money without a commission. The rooms were neat and simple, but at least had A/C! It was nice to sit out front of the room at the table and chairs and enjoy the outside and drink some beers while on vacation!
The pool is GORGEOUS and the heated pool with the water slide at night was SO much fun! You really get going fast down that water slide! I went up it like 10 times as if I was a kid again haha.
Absolutely one of the best places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort, beautiful people. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. We had a huge room way up on the hill. We actually enjoyed the walk but the shuttle was always very fast when we called for it. The kids loved the pools, water slides and animals. The only thing I would have liked to see is less expensive food options at the hotel, although the food in the restaurant food was very good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank chvlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I visited Los Lagos Resort with my husband and another couple. My thoughts:

The good: Beautiful landscaped grounds; nice pool w/slides and swim-up bar; great hot-springs soaking pools, ordinary breakfast buffet, clean rooms, friendly service, wildlife viewing (saw a Toucan pair from our room along with a number of other bird species), good restaurant food (see below).

The not so good: Needed a ladder to get into the bathtub for a shower, phones in room didn't work, light sockets worked but hung from the wall, poor lighting in the bathroom/dressing area, traffic drove by room all day taking tourists to the zip lines, all food overpriced, terrible bar food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We stayed in a room up a steep hill, but there was a responsive shuttle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Amazing Hotel, has a great set of pools and geothermic hot springs. The hotel restaurant is also stellar. Rooms plenty big, beds are comfy, and the environment is great. Be sure to take the hiking path/lookout once. The campus is huge but they have a shuttle service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The grounds are gorgeous and the many different temperature pools are wonderful. We loved having so many gardens and paths to walk through. We even hiked the 2km to the observation site. This, I think, is actually a bit too strenuous for most people. As far as the little farms, we didn't get to see too much. We only found about 5 butterflies and 1 frog. They also close the frog farm at 2pm for some reason. I also found the pool's slides to be too fast for me, but the kids seems to like that.

We especially loved the ambiance of the open air restaurant, hearing the sounds of the crickets and other insects at night. The buffet food was good enough with excellent fresh juice available at each meal. The meal prices include tip and tax which is so nice. The dinner and lunch buffets cost $18 total, so that's $14.60 before tip/tax. There is also a la cart food available as well.

Our room was well situated near the pools, restaurant and lobby so we could walk everywhere. They offer free internet access in the lobby which was a great way to communicate with the kids at home via Facebook.

The cabin was nice with enough space. We loved hearing the cows moo and the rooster crow in the morning! The horses were also very close to our room.

The only things not too great were the smell of the room's disinfectant, and the air conditioner that became very noisy in middle of the night. I think I lowered the fan on my second night and that was better.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay. Thank you Los Lagos!

Room Tip: I liked the smaller rooms close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbldecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked our stay at Arenal Nayara Hotel and Spa (Great Honey Moon resort), but decided to venture out since we rented our own car. We ended up getting great deals to excursions through the Tourism info center that is right down the street from Los Lagos. Some of which were actually directly through Los Lagos and on their massive grounds (Horse back riding, and zip lining). The hot springs are great to go to in the evening and when it is raining.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing