We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights here for a mini vacation. It was beautiful, clean, convenient and just amazing. Restaurant serves fresh food but it is a little costly. If you are driving, drive into town and find yourself a local, hole-in-the-wall restaurant because they serve the best non-touristy food. We would definitely come back here. They also have currency exchange on premises and have better rates than the airport!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mas786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariadorey, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your visit, it is a pleasure to help you. Your are very welcome any time!
Best Regars Los Lagos´s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

A group of 4 adults went at 6pm and stayed until closing (10pm). There are a series of 4 pools of hot springs. The very top one is the hottest (source) and the rest cool a little until the bottom one. Next to each hot spring is a little pool to cool off. Cost was $15 per person.

There is a huge pool at the bottom too but we didn't go in. The wet bar is kind of "resorty" and played clubby music, but we spent most of the time up top at the thermal pools so didn't really hear it. We got nachos which were $9 (Velveeta type cheese) but not too bad w/chicken and veggies.

The lobby is super outdated, but we weren't there for that :)

It was a wonderful way to relax at end of day....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hot springs were fun and clean, the rooms were nice and the grounds did have a pleasantly surprising number of animals to see, but after having experience the true Costa Rica at Tico owned hotels, we found Los Lagos a little tacky. It was very artificial and run like a giant resort. We did not feel as welcome here as we did throughout the rest of our vacation. Food was pretty good though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent the last 4 nights of our honeymoon here. We stayed in September so it was like we had the resort to ourselves! Very clean, well taken care of resort. Pools and water slides were great along with swim up bar. Staff very helpful. View of the volcano from our room was amazing! Zip lining at the hotel was awesome!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived to beautiful grounds; smiles and service! Decided will have to come back to do more as one night may not be enough. The food at the hotel was outstanding and the prices fair enough for the quality The hot springs were exactly what I wanted and more. A lot of privacy could be found for love birds as well as family areas for fun! Cannot believe at my age I went down that long slide into the cool pool! Although I didn't participate, watched as a group went out for a horse back ride but noticed how beautiful and healthy the horses looked. Part of our group enjoyed a personal hike. I saw a lot of variety of birds but the Tucan was the best! Loved the butterfly and alligator sight seeing walk. The rooms were nice with safes, slept well and overall loved the experience. For a one stop shop, this place had it all and the price was right! We didn't do the spa but it looked so peaceful, it will be a definite on the next trip.

Room Tip: All rooms looked to be strategically placed for optimum view of volcano but always ask, "is tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debitthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were surprised when we arrived at Los Lagos by how lovely it was. We had originally planned to stay there but to spend the day at one of the bigger hot springs locations, but once we got there we realized we could stay right on the property and have a great time. The children really loved the various water slides and could have played there from morning until night without stopping. There were many pools of various temperatures and sizes to keep everyone entertained. The grandparents, parents, and children on our trip all had a great time. The large, very warm pool was a lot of fun. The grounds are beautiful, the room simple but comfortable, and the food was enjoyable. The staff is very helpful as well--I had forgotten an item in my room and they held it for me for a couple of weeks until I could get back to pick it up. I would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naturegirlsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The site is very nice but remote from anything else, less than 10 minutes by car from La Fortuna. The ressort have many hot pool, some water slides, and also offer addtional activities like Ziplines for additional cost. I was really impressed by the small zoo. Of course it is not huge but for an hotel at this price, I spent a good hour (I'm slow to visit attraction) looking at crocodiles, plants, ants, butterflies and many colorful frogs. My daughter did not enjoy it because she does like frogs and it was rainy. The pools were short walking distance from our room but the site is big and you can have few minutes walk to get to them in hilly trails, good for legs. Room was very big but old style. We were a bit captive of the resort restaurant but it was good food and good variety of choices. Price are not cheap.

Room Tip: Make sure to look at site map to see where you want to be, it can be a good walk from front desk, po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoPolo010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,965 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $81 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing