We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$108
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$240
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$293
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$200
$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,621)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveler rating
670
649
208
53
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
649
208
53
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidesant farmobservation pointbutterfly gardenswim up barhot springssuperior roomarenal volcanowet barcosta ricahot poolszip lininghorseback ridingshuttle servicespring poolscanopy tourleaf cutter ants
Filter
Updating list...
778 - 783 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Really liked the views of the volcano and the multi-temperature hot springs. The swim-up bar and water slides were also fun. The only problem with the place is that it had a bit of a disneyland feel, with plaster rocks and trees, and hot springs that were more fancy hot tubs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm glad we (Wife, daughter and myself) spent 5 days at Los Lagos because out of those 5, we had one beautiful clear day around the volcano. The other days were great, too, but most of the time Arenal is covered with puffy white clouds. Anyhow, Los Lagos is in a perfect location. In between most of the activities and downtown La Fortuna, which I recommend visiting for food and booking tours.

Our stay in Los Lagos included breakfast, which was very nice and filled with plenty of options. We definitely ate until we were full because most of the tours require quite a bit of walking. We soon learned to eat a nice breakfast with some fruit in between, which kept us full until around 4 or 5pm for dinner. Yep, you have to eat early if you plan on going to bed early. The days in Costa Rica start early, around 5am. We were going to bed by 9pm because of our tours, but also because after 2pm or so, it gets cloudy and sometimes rain comes pouring down. Anyhow, we enjoyed the early dinners and the wind down in the thermal spas and/or pools.

One day we only did a half day tour and that gave us a chance to walk around the hotel and check out some of the attractions. Los Lagos has a butterfly house, but I didn't see any butterflies. There are a few crocodiles on property so make sure to stop by that area. Within the hotel there are horses for the early morning ride to the volcano and I did notice some canopy lines, which we didn't do because we had already ziplined with an outside tour company.

Rooms: At first the rooms are cute because they feel like small cabins, but once inside, it's just basic. One night I asked for Ice, which was brought right away but when I asked where am I suppose to put it since I didn't have an ice bucket, all I was told was to put the bag in the small fridge. Our standard room had no Iron either. I did like the small table and chairs in the back (some have them in the front) of the room. Gives you a chance to enjoy the view while you have a cup of coffee outside. Maid service was wonderful.

Overall, very good hotel, especially for families!

Tip: If you are driving in Costa Rica, try the SODAS (which is what Costa Ricans call local small restaurants). Food is good and very affordable, plus you'll get a chance to experience some Costa Rican plates. We ate at La Parada, twice, which is in front of the park in La Fortuna.

Tip: Laundry service at Los Lagos is pretty cheap compared to other hotels and other areas in Costa Rica. For example, I believe a pair of shorts was $1, but a hotel in Manuel Antonio was $3.50.

Room Tip: If you have a family, it's probably a good idea to get a standard room because they are closer to the pools. We stayed in 151 and that might of been too high up (you'll get tired after a while of going up and down), but maybe 140 and below is good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ismael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here first 2 nights of our trip and it was a great start. Waking up and seeing the volcano out of our window was awesome. The pools were so cute and the higher you went the warmer the water was. The wet bar at the big bottom pool was fun and my husband enjoy the waterslide:-) The bathroom was cool but had an odor which I wanted to believe had something to do with the volcano :-) Other than that I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautifullife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

me and my husband had a very good time in this resort ..loved the hot springs and all staff are friendly and polite..free shuttle from room to restaurants , spa , pool till 10pm.
nice spa packages.
only problem is too much light in the room from outside, so if u r lite sleeper, beware.
amazing view front n backside of the room..we stayed in 217 room.
u need to pay for ur coffee everyday of course not too much, its just a dollar for 50g coffee.
u may have to carry moisturizer as they don't provide in the room.
good free breakfast spread included..pretty decent and clean food..
i will recommend this place and good for families with kids as they have 2 water slides into pool and i saw many kids having fun..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougAndCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Traveling for 12 days through Costa Rica with four "older" adults and three young adults between the ages of 18-21, there's bound to be some disagreements but we all agreed that this was a lovely place to stay. I believe we were in superior rooms - they were large and comfortable, very clean and well-appointed with flat screen t.v., strong a/c, coffee pot, refrigerator and safe. The bathroom was also large with a walk-in tub/shower, two sinks, hairdryer, soaps and shampoos. We were quite far up the hill from the lobby/restaurant but found a beautiful walking path that took us down a hill, though a lovely garden, and across a hanging bridge. The shuttles were also very prompt and easy to use. The restaurant was very expensive, although the food was delicious, but after the one dinner, we only ate the free breakfasts. This was the largest breakfast buffet of the trip with at least four rows of food choices which kept all happy. The staff was polite and helpful and we had great service throughout. We never saw the volcano until the day we left, due to clouds, but no matter - the pools more than made up for it. After a long day hiking on hanging bridges and down to the Fortuna waterfall, the luxurious hot pools (and they are hotter the higher up the hill you go) combined with cold pools for cooling off and some incredible water slides (try the one in the cold pool but be prepared for a very fast and furious ride!) were a perfect antidote to tired muscles. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slhMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews