We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here first 2 nights of our trip and it was a great start. Waking up and seeing the volcano out of our window was awesome. The pools were so cute and the higher you went the warmer the water was. The wet bar at the big bottom pool was fun and my husband enjoy the waterslide:-) The bathroom was cool but had an odor which I wanted to believe had something to do with the volcano :-) Other than that I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beautifullife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    575
    190
    43
    35
See reviews for
574
441
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

me and my husband had a very good time in this resort ..loved the hot springs and all staff are friendly and polite..free shuttle from room to restaurants , spa , pool till 10pm.
nice spa packages.
only problem is too much light in the room from outside, so if u r lite sleeper, beware.
amazing view front n backside of the room..we stayed in 217 room.
u need to pay for ur coffee everyday of course not too much, its just a dollar for 50g coffee.
u may have to carry moisturizer as they don't provide in the room.
good free breakfast spread included..pretty decent and clean food..
i will recommend this place and good for families with kids as they have 2 water slides into pool and i saw many kids having fun..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougAndCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Traveling for 12 days through Costa Rica with four "older" adults and three young adults between the ages of 18-21, there's bound to be some disagreements but we all agreed that this was a lovely place to stay. I believe we were in superior rooms - they were large and comfortable, very clean and well-appointed with flat screen t.v., strong a/c, coffee pot, refrigerator and safe. The bathroom was also large with a walk-in tub/shower, two sinks, hairdryer, soaps and shampoos. We were quite far up the hill from the lobby/restaurant but found a beautiful walking path that took us down a hill, though a lovely garden, and across a hanging bridge. The shuttles were also very prompt and easy to use. The restaurant was very expensive, although the food was delicious, but after the one dinner, we only ate the free breakfasts. This was the largest breakfast buffet of the trip with at least four rows of food choices which kept all happy. The staff was polite and helpful and we had great service throughout. We never saw the volcano until the day we left, due to clouds, but no matter - the pools more than made up for it. After a long day hiking on hanging bridges and down to the Fortuna waterfall, the luxurious hot pools (and they are hotter the higher up the hill you go) combined with cold pools for cooling off and some incredible water slides (try the one in the cold pool but be prepared for a very fast and furious ride!) were a perfect antidote to tired muscles. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great views. Grounds are beautiful, the pools, waterslides and hot springs are fabulous. After a day of 'off sight excursions' what's better than soaking in hot spring. Our room was very comfortable, staff was accommodating. Restaurant was fine but pricey, we preferred to eat at local restaurants in La Fortuna. Negatives; some rooms very far from pools/restaurant & you must rely on shuttle. Construction on restaurant & a pool while we were visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaMom314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, MN
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was a beautiful resort with plenty of facilities to swim and see their animal exhibits, relax, get alone, have some drinks, terrific restaurant, fantastic location, an amazing view of the volcano (when the clouds part). There were just a few little things with the room: the door didn't lock well, the vents on the AC were broken, the walls were thin etc that kept this from being a primo spot. I'd still recommend it for location and facilities. Most Costa Rican's live outside and if you're sitting in the hotel you're doing this trip wrong. The price is pretty high so you expect both facilities AND good rooms though. The staff was friendly and spoke excellent English. I would return.It's the nicest resort in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomunchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent two nights as part of two-week Mother-Son trip to Costa Rica. This was our respite in between other more rugged parts of the trip. Rooms were adequate, TV was broken but Staff came and carried away one TV and brought another one the same night. Pools were great and my son spent hours on the water slide.
Went horseback riding one day--about 3 hours. First ambling through the meadow with cows, then up dirt and then cobblestone street, have to keep single file. Then very steep brick road, my horse was slipping on the bricks which was unnerving. Then we Stopped for visit to Waterfalls. About 300 steps down--very steep. Able to swim at bottom. Then those 300 steps up again! My quads will never be the same.
My son also went Zip-lining-pretty tame, about 12 platforms mostly near the Resort Grounds. From our hotel room I could see him Zip by!.
Food was good, but not cheap. Breakfast excellent.
Ate at the bar outdoor restaurant mostly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I spend a weekend here and I was positively surprised by this hotel, the staff very attentive. Nice amenities and services, I did not use the spa, but I heard good comments about it. In La Fortuna is one of the few hotels with natural hot springs, with a nice swimming pool with plenty of trees and beautiful gardens.Complimentary breakfast buffet and the restaurant served very good food.

Overall we were impressed by the service provided by the hotel staff and we would definitely go back here without hesitation.

Room Tip: book a standard room, which are cheaper and close to the pool and frontdesk area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,858 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing