We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place for families”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband, 5 yr old son and I stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are spacious and clean with nice views of the volcano and resort grounds. The pools are fun and perfect for everyone in the family. You can do a lot in the resort without having to leave the grounds. Downside: the restaurant is way overpriced and there is no shuttle to town. Spend the cab money to eat in La Fortuna where you can find good local food at the "sodas". Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Los Lagos and would come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lchurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    570
    186
    42
    35
See reviews for
561
439
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our son and his family, 2 children ages 2.5 and 5.5, for 2 nights. The rooms were very large, the queen beds comfortable, had quiet air conditioning, had a porch both in front and in back of each room with table and chairs, and had a great view. There are numerous swimming pools, some are thermal pools and others cooler. Our grandkids loved swimming in the pools, even the warm ones. The breakfast was served buffet-style so we all had something that we liked eating. We had a rented van which was necessary for us as our rooms were quite far from the pools. I did see a shuttle bus so I imagine it was possible to call the office and be brought to the swimming area. There were also a few little "zoo" areas: butterflies, crocodiles, frogs and ants. Our grandkids really enjoyed seeing them. During our stay in February, we had rain at nights, drizzle in the morning, then sun/partly cloudy for the afternoons. The rain didn't spoil our stay but I was glad I brought umbrellas. We ate dinner in nearby La Fortuna at La Parada which we liked very much, bought ice cream at Pops, and there is a park across the street where children can run and play.

Room Tip: Bring an umbrella for the rain. We stayed in rooms 201 and 202 both of which were large and well-app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathywells42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked 3 nights here and had what they called the superior room. This basically means you have a perfect view of the volcano. Unfortunately Arenal isn't active right now so no lava flows and no need to book a room in this price range. Our agent did this and we were disappointed paying so much.
It also means you need a shuttle to get back and forth to your room. It's a steep walk uphill to your room and tough if you have little ones.
The rooms were clean, a small fridge and a safe available. There were only 2 wash cloths and towels for 3 people. A coffee maker, no coffee, or condiments.

You are given passes for your towels and if you "lose" your towels there is a $10 fee per towel. I asked what if the towel is taken and I was told to watch my towels and they weren't weren't a lot of people so I should be ok.

They have zipline and horseback riding on site. $50 for 2 hours. Pricey. You can also book tours there. Don't. Way overpriced. Go into town and use one of the Information centers right on the Main Street. Cheaper than anywhere else. We booked atv tour and paid $70 each instead of $80+ elsewhere. I recommend using la padera (sp?).

My son liked the frog, butterfly and crocodile area. It's basic but nice enough.

Restaurant is very pricey, small portions. Go to town. Great little Soda called Soda y Rio on a side street on the corner. Inexpensive, good portions, good Tico food.

I didn't come to CR for electronics however I would expect the $ we paid for Lagos that there would be wifi available in our room. We like to keep in tough with family while on our trips and only access in the reception area was a bummer.

Hot springs are man made. If you want the real experience you need to go to Tabacon or one of the other ones in the area.

Pools are nice. The big slide goes really fast and scared my son. No respect by adults, older kids or enforcement that the age for the pool is up to age 10. Or the slide that goes into it. There were adults goin down the slide with little kids in the pool and staff did not stop this.

Finally, a taxi is $8 to town. When we did a tour we asked to be dropped off in town so we only had to pay one way.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tristensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is a very touristic (american) resort. The highlight is definitely the pool with a hot-water slide (!), which ends in a thermal pool, from which you can swim directly to the pool bar! With a great view on the Arenal volcano!
We enjoyed the little "zoo" in the hotel premises, especially the ant house, where you can see leaf cutter ants close-up.
Prices are really high, especially the restaurant. You could think about only paying the entrance fee to the hotel for the pools.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ani_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel during our stay in the La Fortuna area. We are in our early 30's and booked this to utilize their hot springs rather than pay elsewhere to use some. This hotel cost us about about $30 more than the hotels we stayed at in the area but figured we could save at least $60 by staying here and using theirs. During the day this hotel looks tired and could use some "sprucing up"....during the evening though, this hotel is great. You cannot see how tired the pools and hot springs are. You just soak and relax and let your tired bodies unwind. The drinks are reasonably priced and walkways are well lit.

Breakfast was average, and the rooms were average. The hot springs on-site are the biggest plus this hotel has going for it.

There is alot of activities and animals for children to see and there is a few waterslides. I would imagine this would be THE spot to bring families for a visit to the La Fortuna area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDickert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my husband and two children (ages 6 &9) in January 2013. We chose Los Lagos because it had a lot to do without leaving the resort and it was much cheaper than the "really" nice places down the road. We had a great time and it was never crowded, as other reviews have mentioned. We stayed on a Monday night.

We dropped our stuff off in our superior room, which had a nice porch/view both in front and back, before heading to the pool area. It took us a while to figure out where to get towels (on the upper (left) side of the building with the lockers). We all really enjoyed the pool areas. There was something for everyone. They even had one waterslide into the hot pool (which was too hot for either of my children to really enjoy). They had one slide into a small (but deep) pool that was only for 6-10 year olds. Both of my children liked that and the water was cold. The final water slide was very long, and very fast, into the large cold pool. We finally let my 9 year-old try it since the tico kids were doing it (definitely younger than 15) and he LOVED it. It was too fast for me, and on my 3rd time down I actually scratched my eye area somehow and looked like I had a shiner for the next 2 days. We splurged and shared a virgin pina colada, which comes in a hollowed out pineapple. It was delicious!

We tried all of the smaller pools going up the hill and they all had different temperatures, so everyone coud find something they liked. But we spent most of our time in the larger pools since that is what the kids liked.

We had an OK dinner in the restaurant, but I felt it was overpriced. We slept very well in our room and the draperies kept it very dark in the morning, which was nice. After enjoying the buffet breakfast, we explored the crocodile area, butterfly garden, frog room, and the pretty grounds before having another session at the pool before checking out at noon to drive to Monteverde.

The wifi is only available in the lobby and restaurant.

If I were traveling as a couple or only wanted to visit some hot springs, I would choose a different resort with a different feel to it, but this resort worked perfectly for our family so that we could enjoy the Arenal area without having to drive to a bunch of different places.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room and it was very spacious and had great views both in front and in back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpokaneMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked the hotel through a Groupon deal with Desafio. The hotel was great. Loved the pools, the waterslides and the grounds were beautiful. Because of our deal we had the buffet for dinner every night except our last night. Overall the food was good, including the breakfast. Our standard room was basic and didn’t have a clock, but it was everything we needed. We had a great view of the volcano at all times since the hotel is at the base of the volcano. We had blue skies with some clouds. But, that didn’t affect the magnificence of the volcano. We had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdventureTraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing