We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here with teenage kids. Big room great views nice hikes. The spa was awesome the massage was as good as any we have had. Since you in basically in the jungle expect some bugs but we dealt with that. The staff was friendly The pools were nice but tabacon had much nicer hot springs. Our room was also at the end of the complex so we had to drive shuttle or walk a long way on the grounds

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    564
    186
    42
    34
See reviews for
550
434
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were extremely pleased with our 3-day stay at Los Lagos. The resort will itself take more than a day to 'tour' through, if you enjoy the various hot spring pools, take your kids to the crocodile farm, butterfly, frog gardens, have a pina colada at the wet bar, do horse rides, canopy tours etc. The list just goes on. And ofcourse, dont forget the breakfast which is a feast in a perfect location (among the costa rican flora and fauna !).
The service is super, the site is very well maintained and Diana at the reception was outstanding ! We had a superior room, with a great view of the valley. The shower is great with ample supply of hot water and the rooms are huge. Did I mention that the pools are terrific ?Overall, I think this place is perfect for families. We will stay here again for sure.
The only small con is if you dont have a rental car, you may be dependent on the shuttle to get to your room.

Room Tip: Superior room on top of the hill if you have a rental car. Somewhere close to the wet bar if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RushHour707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The great -
The hot springs are amazing. The temperatures are different in each area, so make sure you check out the farther ones out that are hottest.

The resort is close to the mountain where you can hike up to the observation deck. There is horseback riding there as well, or you can just hike up there and see horses hanging out...

The really good -
The customer service is excellent, and the food at the restaurant is very good. The steaks are great. The beer of choice is Imperial or Pilzen...have both!

The resort does a great job of setting up excursions for you....take advantage! My wife and I did the ATV and horse back riding.

The okay -
When it rains, you can really hear it because the roofs are made of metal or steel....very loud.

I loved the fact that the resort had a lot of locals, but there were too many kids for my taste!

Great resort....will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BA_from_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just spent two nights at Los Lagos and our family thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Like others have said, the grounds are gorgeous and it's great having so many things to enjoy on the property: pools, hot thermal pools, breakfast buffet, butterfly/frog/crocodile gardens, zipline.
The price is more than we'd normally pay but it was worth the splurge.
One comment I'll add b/c I don't see it mentioned in others' is the safety factor at the pools. I know because of our extensive travels in Mexico and Central America that safety standards do not compare to what we're used to in the States and Canada. However, I'm shocked that there are not any life guards of any kind at any of the pools. There were many unsupervised kids doing dangerous activities (diving in shallow water, standing on unsafe ledges, walking UP water slides, running on wet surfaces) and teens and adults not following the posted safety guidelines and coming down the water slides 2-3 people at a time. You will want to be aware of your surroundings for your own safety and if you have kids, keep an eye on them!
Breakfast buffet had a nice variety both mornings although the french toast was rock hard and it would have been nice if the person preparing eggs could make something more than just fried eggs (omelettes are typical on other similar buffets and she wouldn't make a scrambled egg for our daughter)

Room Tip: Get a room close to the pools so you have a short walk to everything instead of having to use a shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We came to Los Lagos via a Living Social trip. While we didn't stay at the facility, we had a one day pass that included horseback riding and Ziplining as well as the hot springs. There is a lot to do here, including frog, butterfly and crocodile gardens. Food in the restaurant was decent and the people were very kind. The zipline instructors were great as well. If the ask you if you want to go upside-down, say YES! They'll let you actually hang upside down as you're Ziplining! Lots of fun at this place!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Centerice99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a package from travel by Jen that included a car. We went out of Buffalo its much nicer then Toronto. The drive up is long and winding and we didn't get there to late. But they were waiting for us. Everyone was helpful and in minutes we were in our room. We woke up to a spectacular view of the volcano. There are hot springs and water slides and things to explore. We drove into town for supper and see the town. The only hitch we had was a bad door lock which they fixed quick.
The volcano hike was included it was informative but they could have done it form the resort for all the things we saw. Beter view from the resort.
We went on the sky tram zip line which was great but they only take one photo of you at the end. We rented the video helhey took some great pmet but the guide screwed it uo so it was not very good.
We also went on the white water rafting It was awesome even when we went into the river, Thet took some great pics. They also took us to a place and fed us and showed us some gardens. Great tour.
Then we packed up and went to the next resort

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOREOFLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The room was average (I didn't spend a lot of time in my room), but the resort has a number of wonderful amenities including on-site hot springs, water slides, swimming pools. The meals were fantastic and the bar service excellent. We did have the minor inconvenience of a malfunctioning door lock that was remedied the next day.

Minus one bubble for the average room and the inconvenience, but otherwise an enjoyable stay. Stay here if you're exploring Arenal all day instead of staying on resort.

Room Tip: Ask to stay close to the pools and hot springs. Some of the rooms are quite a hike away from there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing