We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great family destination” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great family destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just spent two nights at Los Lagos and our family thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Like others have said, the grounds are gorgeous and it's great having so many things to enjoy on the property: pools, hot thermal pools, breakfast buffet, butterfly/frog/crocodile gardens, zipline.
The price is more than we'd normally pay but it was worth the splurge.
One comment I'll add b/c I don't see it mentioned in others' is the safety factor at the pools. I know because of our extensive travels in Mexico and Central America that safety standards do not compare to what we're used to in the States and Canada. However, I'm shocked that there are not any life guards of any kind at any of the pools. There were many unsupervised kids doing dangerous activities (diving in shallow water, standing on unsafe ledges, walking UP water slides, running on wet surfaces) and teens and adults not following the posted safety guidelines and coming down the water slides 2-3 people at a time. You will want to be aware of your surroundings for your own safety and if you have kids, keep an eye on them!
Breakfast buffet had a nice variety both mornings although the french toast was rock hard and it would have been nice if the person preparing eggs could make something more than just fried eggs (omelettes are typical on other similar buffets and she wouldn't make a scrambled egg for our daughter)

Room Tip: Get a room close to the pools so you have a short walk to everything instead of having to use a shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    519
    170
    40
    33
See reviews for
505
391
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We came to Los Lagos via a Living Social trip. While we didn't stay at the facility, we had a one day pass that included horseback riding and Ziplining as well as the hot springs. There is a lot to do here, including frog, butterfly and crocodile gardens. Food in the restaurant was decent and the people were very kind. The zipline instructors were great as well. If the ask you if you want to go upside-down, say YES! They'll let you actually hang upside down as you're Ziplining! Lots of fun at this place!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Centerice99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a package from travel by Jen that included a car. We went out of Buffalo its much nicer then Toronto. The drive up is long and winding and we didn't get there to late. But they were waiting for us. Everyone was helpful and in minutes we were in our room. We woke up to a spectacular view of the volcano. There are hot springs and water slides and things to explore. We drove into town for supper and see the town. The only hitch we had was a bad door lock which they fixed quick.
The volcano hike was included it was informative but they could have done it form the resort for all the things we saw. Beter view from the resort.
We went on the sky tram zip line which was great but they only take one photo of you at the end. We rented the video helhey took some great pmet but the guide screwed it uo so it was not very good.
We also went on the white water rafting It was awesome even when we went into the river, Thet took some great pics. They also took us to a place and fed us and showed us some gardens. Great tour.
Then we packed up and went to the next resort

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOREOFLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The room was average (I didn't spend a lot of time in my room), but the resort has a number of wonderful amenities including on-site hot springs, water slides, swimming pools. The meals were fantastic and the bar service excellent. We did have the minor inconvenience of a malfunctioning door lock that was remedied the next day.

Minus one bubble for the average room and the inconvenience, but otherwise an enjoyable stay. Stay here if you're exploring Arenal all day instead of staying on resort.

Room Tip: Ask to stay close to the pools and hot springs. Some of the rooms are quite a hike away from there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My family and I enjoyed our visit to Los Lagos. Luckily we visited during low season and so the price was a steal. The staff was friendly and helpful. The warm water and slides were particularly fun for my college aged brothers and me. We had been stuck in the car for a while and so it was nice to get some exercise in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englewood, Fl
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We enjoyed 3 days at the Los Lagos Hotel and were amazed by the eye-popping tropical landscaping. Exotic birds were literally in our backyard, fun to watch from our balcony. But it did rain and rain. No doubt we were in a rain forest at the base of the Arenal volcanoe, whose peak we saw once for about 12 seconds in the dusk. The service was exceptionally polite and transportation around the property excellent. The hot spring fed pools were delightful. Great palce to vacation, but take a tour bus from San Jose. Don't try driving it on your own. The roads are narrow and locals walk on the road and don't move from it. So many near mishaps. But a very worthwhile palce to explore and visit.

Room Tip: Nice villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmusickphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Los Lagos has a few fabulous features: a very good breakfast buffet included, fun swim-up heated pool, and convenient location (at the base of the volcano and very close to La Fortuna). I was very satisfied with the service and enjoyed meeting others staying at the hotel. Employees were very kind.

A few cons: The room was very uncomfortable to me. The bed left me aching and the bathroom was very very tight. We visited Costa Rica to be outdoors, so these two negatives ended up not being a big deal as we only spent time in the room to sleep and shower.

If your vacation is more for leisure and relaxation, I wouldn't recommend Los Lagos. Otherwise, it's a great option for your vacation!

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the entrance. Others are very far (.5 mile) from restaurant, pool, and tran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#19 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing