We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“you don't need to leave the resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“you don't need to leave the resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

You can go to nearby activities, but you don't need to leave the resort. It has everything you need. Great warm mineral water pools with swim up bar. Fun slides. So handy to have the butterfly and frog garden on the grounds. Didn't do the hipline but it is there. Good food at the bar and restaurant. The rooms are large and clean with small fridge. The staff was friendly and helpful. The tour desk will arrange activities. A good eco hipline tour place is very nearby. Good resort. If you are lucky, the clouds will clear and you'll view the volcano.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite far from the lobby and uphill. But the staff will drive you to your room in a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosecruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    519
    170
    40
    33
See reviews for
505
391
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel is spread out on huge ground. The drawback was for everything we needed a shuttle service. Hotel's policy of pool towels was also bad. Guests staying in the hotel should have complimentary pool towels in the rooms.
Kids enjoyed the pools. Staff at front desk isn't very friendly. We had booked our rooms through orbitz and they had a promotion of free room upgrade, which initially they didn't honour. When we asked to call the manager and they spoke with him, only then we were given the upgrade.
The other time when we went to inquire regarding the various tours, their information was very limited. It was because i had researched on the internet i wasn't fooled for tour price they were giving me. I had 9 yr old travelling with me, so it should be discount price but they were quoting her adult price, until i informed them about internet showing a different price. It was good that i had done my research regarding the tours & their prices.
Overall not our best experience in the service.

Room Tip: Get the ones closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soCalCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here with our extended family, including kids and Grandma, and everyone had fun! Los Lagos is a little way outside Fortuna town, but a quick 5 minute drive will get you there. It has a sweeping view of Arenal Volcano. It seemed to me that every room had a great view. There's something for everyone here - great views, fabulous landscaping, pools, fish pond, a mini-zoo with butterflies, frogs and crocodiles, a zipline, a hanging bridge, swim-up bar, gourmet restaurant, a hiking trail and horseback rides. The pictures don't do it justice, this place is gorgeous.

The best thing for our large groups was not having to leave the grounds for all of our adventures. We could go to the hot springs here and also do a great zipline. The hotel has an extensive pool system, with cold pools and hot pools. There is a large hot pool with a swim-up bar (get the pina colada in the pineapple, you won't be sorry), but there are smaller hot pools stretching up the hillside. Some are really nice and private. We wanted to do a zipline and researched it carefully. It turned out that the one on the property is one of the best around. We all loved it, even Grandma! Not having to drive anywhere to do these 2 activities allowed us to spend more time having the adventure instead of driving there.

The rooms have a lot of floor space and ours had a front porch to look at the volcano and a back porch where we could spot one of the zipline platforms. Each room has a small refrigerator, safe, jetted tub, AC and TV. All the rooms are on hillsides, and a shuttle is provided. We generally walked down and shuttled back up to our rooms.

Breakfast was an extensive buffet with fresh fruits, gallo pinto, local cheeses, breads, pancakes, yogurt, juices, a fresh dish of the day and someone cooking eggs. With this giant breakfast we barely needed lunch. Dinners are pricey but worth it. Try the ceviche, it's unbelievably good. Every single item we ordered was delicious. Even the snacks at the bar were spot-on.

All in all, this place is a great score - a great and comfortable bed, adventures out your door and a perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kryptogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
281 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

First off let me say that this is our third stay here over several years of travel to the area. We have seen the progess made to this resort over the years. The rooms are large with sparse furniture, but the beds are comfortable. The grounds are well maintained and very nice. The new hot pools that have been added since our last visit, were OK, but lacked any personality, The drive up to the observeratory point is well worth it. The views of the volcano are unforgettable from there. The included breakfast buffet is very good and is never the same from day to day. Overall. this is a great place to stay, if you want a lot of activities included at a reasonable price, and do not want or need a luxurious room to sleep in.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior room, It is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Grounds are well kept, the rooms are ridiculously large with little furniture, drinks are expensive ($8.00 for a cocktail,$3.50-$5.00 plus for beer) meals where a little pricey also. If it wasn't for the Volcano, the trip would not have been worth it, the country side was absolutely beautiful, if driving, be for warned.....scary. The whole trip ended poorly at the Airport, The airport Security searched all carry on luggage twice and stole what they wanted from your bags, they should invest the 28 Dollars they steal from you leaving the country to train these Baffoones to be more honest and nicer. If renting a car, be prepared to pay for insurance even if your credit card covers it, they don't except credit card insurance an you will pay up to $30.00 dollars a day, just another way they can rip you off.

Room Tip: upper mountain cabins are a long way from main activities and you have to be shuttled, there are roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald.mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Los Lagos has the complete package. Very comfortable rooms with great views and tons of space Our room had two queen beds and two pull outs, so you can cram people in if you want to. There are very nice hot springs and pools on the property, and we also took advantage of the zip linning and horseback riding tours without having to go elsewhere. Service was OK by costa rica standards, but dont expect american or asian quality service (like everywhere else in costa rica).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helbirdier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Los Lagos hotel was very nice. The room was clean and spacious with a sitting area in front and back. The walk from the room to the restaurant was challenging, but that is normal for the area. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The pools were very nice and the wet bar was fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing