We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice but overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sarnia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Grounds are well kept, the rooms are ridiculously large with little furniture, drinks are expensive ($8.00 for a cocktail,$3.50-$5.00 plus for beer) meals where a little pricey also. If it wasn't for the Volcano, the trip would not have been worth it, the country side was absolutely beautiful, if driving, be for warned.....scary. The whole trip ended poorly at the Airport, The airport Security searched all carry on luggage twice and stole what they wanted from your bags, they should invest the 28 Dollars they steal from you leaving the country to train these Baffoones to be more honest and nicer. If renting a car, be prepared to pay for insurance even if your credit card covers it, they don't except credit card insurance an you will pay up to $30.00 dollars a day, just another way they can rip you off.

Room Tip: upper mountain cabins are a long way from main activities and you have to be shuttled, there are roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald.mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    519
    170
    40
    34
See reviews for
505
392
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Los Lagos has the complete package. Very comfortable rooms with great views and tons of space Our room had two queen beds and two pull outs, so you can cram people in if you want to. There are very nice hot springs and pools on the property, and we also took advantage of the zip linning and horseback riding tours without having to go elsewhere. Service was OK by costa rica standards, but dont expect american or asian quality service (like everywhere else in costa rica).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helbirdier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Los Lagos hotel was very nice. The room was clean and spacious with a sitting area in front and back. The walk from the room to the restaurant was challenging, but that is normal for the area. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The pools were very nice and the wet bar was fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
271 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Sadly the weather set the mood for this place - constant rain and cloud cover.
It went downhill from the moment we checked in. Clerk changed room to a lesser grade than our friends; a room in a 'motel block'. Key not work and neighbours were loud partiers. Room changed to same quality was friends, now in a cottage. Dinner coupon was incorrect - so that had to be changed, Restaurant was an open air, covered place. Birds flying in and landing on guests plates. Food sadly was poor; very limited buffet style looking very unappealing. 6:30am Wakeup call came at 5:30. We were glad to get out of there, and have filed a compliant with the tour operator who took us there. As to seeing the volcano from your room; I dont see how that is possible, though in our case the weather did not cooperate anyway.
Grounds had hot springs, ponds, water slide, etc
Maybe it was just one of those days for all concerned... but it did ruin our visit.

Room Tip: not a good esxperience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

POSITIVE:
- Friendly staff
- Comfortable bed (the best of our 9 days stay in Costa Rica) and spacious room (2 queen beds with pull out extra bed below the main bed, and still plenty of room to walk around!). Flat screen TV with a few US channels and fridge in bedroom.
- Good location a short drive away from La Fortuna
- Good breakfast buffet
- Several FREE activities on site for rainy days:
# outdoors 'zoo' with frogs garden, butterfly garden, a very interesting leaf-cutter ants exhibit, crocodiles & iguanas)
# a series of hot pools with cool water slides and a wet bar with decent cocktails (try the sangria and caipirinha)
# 2km hike/drive to a viewpoint of the volcano
- Several activities on site for a fee:
# $45 for 3kms of canopy with longest being 700m
# horseback riding

NEGATIVE:
- the hot pools are not natural hot spring water (unlike other available in the area)
- no rain-forest feel but manicured garden (although pretty)
- the rooms are dated and a bit dark. The sink in our bathroom was broken in several places. The plastic plates of the light switch were dirty.
- the overall look of the resort feels old, with dated decor and tacky fake wood pillars and fencing made of concrete (although I suspect that this is also because it's difficult to maintain real wood in such a humid environment)
- we were shown room 204 and sold an upgrade to a superior room with a view. Then given room 216 which had many trees planted just in front of back terrace to mask another building and therefore no rear view whatsoever.
- internet available only in lobby of hotel (free WIFI and self-service computers)
- if you have noisy neighbors, you'll hear everything through the walls/windows.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MlleO_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I've been many times in this place with clients & my family too and everybody loves it, tho location next to the Arenal Volcano with the natural hot springs, all the different pools & temperatures, the spa, the gardens os butterflies, frogs & ants.
The crocodile farm, the canopy tour & all the trails makes of this place a great choice.
The restaurant is great too with a big menu and a wonderful view

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticorides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights of a 9-day vacation around costa rica and this place had the most activities/ things to do. We were bored out of our minds everywhere else even tho the scenary is nice at other locations....
Try the zip lining! So much fun and if your group is small theyll teach you tricks! Also it's worth the short drive to see the waterfall , or you can take a tour there on horseback. My favorite part was the wet bar in the hot springs. We booked this as part of a pre-packaged vaca, but right next door is te Baldi hotel which I would stay next time even tho it is more expensive. We went to Baldi for dinner once bc we weren't impressed with the food at Los Lagos, and Baldi was ah-maz-ing. The breakfast buffet at los Lagos was blah but free so better then nothing. The spa was Beautiful, I highly recommend getting a service! We got a couples massage and body wrap for $140, not too bad for 120min for 2 ppl.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bfawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing