We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful and beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful and beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This resort is gorgeous with many hot springs, a regular pool, 3 waterslides (that go fast!), a great restaurant, and very friendly staff. The only thing I'd say is that the shuttle to pick you up from your room is a little unpredictable but this was not enough to prevent me from staying there again. You will see many birds, lizards, and they have 4 farms there to see butterflies, crocodiles, frogs, and an ant farm.

Room Tip: The rooms farther away feel more private. but, you may want the shuttle to take you down to the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    498
    160
    40
    29
See reviews for
462
369
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esterillos Este, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Los Lagos is the best place to stay in Arenal for a number of reasons...the hot springs, water slides, the swim up bar, the gardens, the breakfast buffet, the views, the location and the service. We have stayed here 4 times over the past year and each time they never disappoint. It's a beautiful setting over looking the majestic volcano with 4 water slides which adds to the fun of anyone's stay. The breakfast which included in the room stay is wonderful...a huge buffet complete with omelets, potatoes, bacon, fruits, yogurt, granola, juices, and coffee. The rooms are quiet, comfy and private. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeyndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A great place with everything you could ever ask for in a resort. I stopped counting the number of thermal pools after at least 9. All hot springs with3 pools with great slides with fun slides.This resort is at the foot of the volcano and its magnificent view. Right now, we an only see smoke from the top but as for me that was good enough. The lava is not important..lol! The ground itself has a small crocodile farm, butterfly farm and other adventure activities on site. Our stay also came with a very scrumptous buffet breakfast, frest tropical fruits, plantain for days, and plenty of meats and cook to order eggs. YUMMY! The dinner was amazing at Las Palmas - my serving was huge that I had so much left over. Our superior room was huge and enough to fit 6 people comfortably. I really liked my stay there. La Fortuna is quite a drive from Liberia (about 4.5 hours) very zigzaggy roads but it was so worth it when we finally saw our hotel. We did the ATV at LaPradera and that was awesome too and it came with a great dinner.
Safari boat tour was awesome and very educational -- we saw sloth, iguanas, howler monkey tribe, jesus lizard, toucans. Our guide was funny and at the end of the tour we got served some local snacks like cassava bread, fresh cheese and coffee and juice. Costa Ricans are very hospitable..Pura Vida. I loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiare224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south riding,va
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

what a beautiful resort with great view of volcano and free bird watching.
Thank you tripadvisors friends for recommended this resort.
Our kids fell in love with the pools and it 3 slides(rough ones but fun)
we did the observatory hike 3 times in 5 days and it was 4km of strenous exercise.
restaurant had decent food.
taxi takes $8 for downtown trip
one negative thing I didn't like that hotel was very paranoid about the towels/things in room?
overall great resorts but dont expect a lot from frog farm

Room Tip: stay in superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My mom and I stayed for three nights. Our room was clean, spacious and had a wonderfully quiet A/C unit that we used each night. A delicious, local breakfast was included with the stay. Food was fresh and varied each morning. The coffee was excellent. The breakfast staff, especially Jose, Mario and the chef at the buffet, were gracious and answered dozens of our questions. The grounds are lush with a variety of hot spring pools well-hidden from casual view. Two computers are available in the lobby for guest use. The lobby clerks were very kind, especially Grieveve (?). The tiny town of La Fortuna is close-by offering restaurants, shopping, grocery stores, post office, etc. The lake and waterfall is a must see. All in all, it is a fantastic hotel with many things to see and do, on and off the hotel grounds!

Room Tip: We had one of the single story rooms near the Los Canones tour and the horse stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingTeresa908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbely, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great time for families with kids, but for 3 guys who travelling around Costa Rica it is a bit overpopulated, but it was only one bad thing about this hotel. Spent one night in Exclusive appartman and went on trip to Arenal view point which is also par tof this resort. Bar is in very hot water and also tobogano ending there. You can chill in colder water in the middle of tropical jungle, surrounded by mangos and other flowers. Also you can enjoy huge butterflies same as hummingbirds.
Can only recommend :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ondrej B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Susan and I dropped by Los Lagos, knowing that we only had about four hours to kill. We were offered a package including lunch (gorgeous restaurant), a canopy tour (fast, fun), and access to the hot springs. It was perfect. While we did not allow enough time for the lunch, the canopy tour was fantastic, with deep gorges, lots of exciting runs, and fun guides. After zipping, we took some dips in their warm and cold baths, and felt relaxed and satiated when we got back on the road. We can't comment about the actual rooms, but for a drop-in visit, it worked out exceedingly well. Lush and professional.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck, Santa Cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing