We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touristy, but at the foot of the volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
201 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Touristy, but at the foot of the volcano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was a good place to stay with children. We had 3 adults and 2 kids in the room, in which they fully accomodated us with the two cot beds under the regular beds. The beds were hard, but there was AC. The bathroom was decent and we had a tv in the room. The hotel has several things to do to keep the kids entertained, but they are a bit less interesting for adults. The butterfly enclave thing did have a lot of butterflies, the frogs could not be found in their little area, the crocodiles and ant exhibits were interesting. We began the steep walk up to the volcano when we were told by other "hikers" that the top was nowhere near the actual volcano (as we had been told) and they were highly disappointed. Nonetheless, the hotel is directly at the foot of the volcano and it is quite awe inspiring. The breakfast buffet was decent, but the restaurant was very expensive for dinner. The warm/hot pools were probably the best part of the hotel, with several at varying tempartures, along with a few water slides. It's a bit out of town, so there's not really anything within walking distance - be prepared to drive. It was a decent hotel at a decent value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    565
    186
    42
    34
See reviews for
551
435
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Great views of the volcano. Two pools with fun water slides.
No TV.s in the rooms but they do have AC. Nice grounds. Had a hard time getting ice which seems to be traditional for the country.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are hard to come by without a reservation,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWonderer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

The grounds were beautiful and breathtaking. The many different hot springs pools were a delight. Zip line on premises was awesome.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My children and grandchildren and I celebrated my 70th birthday with a trip to Costa Rica and had an absolutely perfect vacation. On our visit to the Arenal volcano we stayed at Hotel Los Lagos. The rooms are huge and well appointed, and most look right out onto the beautiful volcano. The included breakfasts were great--lots of amazing fresh fruit, eggs and omelets to order, lots of stuff the kids loved as well. The pools and waterslides were such fun. The view of the volcano from the lounge chairs poolside is beautiful. One of the things that was especially fun for my grandkids and all of us to explore is the resident animal population--crocodiles, frogs, iguanas and butterflies all living on the property.

One thing I should mention is the fact that (contrary to most guide books info) the Arenal volcano has been dormant for a few years now, so you will not see lava flowing as described in so many of the guide books. It is still steaming, but no lava flows. However, that hardly seems to matter to most folks because there is so much else to do there. We rafted down the Rio Penas Blancas, hiked the rain forest, went on the Hanging Bridges hike through the cloud forest and enjoyed the hot pools at The Springs Resort. The little town of La Fortuna has good restaurants and nice little shops.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OkanaganArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I traveled with another couple to Arenal and stayed at Los Lagos from Feb 10 through Feb 12. The four of us stayed in a two bedroom superior duplex (rooms 248 & 249).

The front desk was quick and helpful. They give you a key for the safe as well as the electronic keys for your place which you may also need to keep the lights on. There is gated security at the only entrance to the resort, and they check for a bracelet each time you enter and also raise the gates when you exit.

The rooms are spacious with two queen beds and plenty of extra room. The beds were on the firmer side and the linens were clean, although they do not include comforters on the bed, but you can get one if you ask. The bathroom towels were clean and the maid does come to make the bed and replace your soiled bathroom items on a daily basis. The amenities (TV & safe) worked well, although I never could figure out how to set the time on the alarm clock. There were a few times when the entire grounds would go dark, due to a power surge, but it never lasted for more than a couple of minutes. The view of the volcano from our back porch was spectacular, as it also overlooked the main horse grazing pasture. The grounds were beautiful with many different flowering plant species and several different kinds of brightly colored birds flying around, I even saw a toucan on a walk I went on at the very top of the property.

The thermal and regular pools were all clean and comfortable. We only went into the thermal pools, and they were all very relaxing, but not too hot as to be uncomfortable. The service at the pool side swim up bar was good and they served us our libations in a timely manner.

The spa experience was some of the best spent money of the entire trip. My wife and I both signed up for the special, which was $75 for a facial and a Swedish massage. The whole process lasted about an hour and fifteen minutes, but it was a struggle to remain awake, because it was so relaxing. I do not normally get massages and I've never had a facial before, but it was one of the best massages I've had.

The breakfast buffet was solid, with many different fresh fruits and different hot foods were available each day. The common eating area is covered but is open air and overlooks the garden where all the exhibits are kept (frog, leaf-cutter, croc & butterfly gardens). Your coffee cup is continually being refilled and the orange juice is excellent. We ate dinner there one night for sushi night. The service was good, but I was a little disappointed by the sushi selection. I was thinking more along the lines of sashimi, but it was all rolls. The sushi was good, but I was hoping for a little more variety.

The property is sprawling and is located at the foot of a volcano, thus it is very hilly. We had no problems walking up and down the paths that include a hanging bridge. If you have mobility issues, or do not feel like walking, they do have vans that will come and drive you to wherever you need to go in a reasonable amount of time. Parking space is also ample, should you decide to bring an automobile.

The best thing about this place is all the different activities available on the property (zip lining, horse back riding, the animal exhibits, volcano trail, thermal pools) and the location: on a good road at the base of Arenal, yet only a few minute drive to La Fortuna. The animal exhibits were neat, but you really need to look hard for the frogs (we counted four about the size of a quarter in about a 1,000 sq ft enclosure, I'm sure there were more, but they were hiding). For all the amenities, this place is a great value and would be an excellent place to bring the entire family, but is also nice enough for a romantic get-away.

If you have the time, try walking to the top of the volcano viewing spot. The views from the trail alone are worth it, but is also where I saw the toucan, some sort of raptor and another bird about the size of a turkey, as well as leaf-cutter ants doing there business on the side of the trail and there are many different types of small flowers. If you cannot do the walk, then drive to the top, the trail is bumpy, but the view of the volcano sitting atop the lake is inspiring.

I would go back to Los Lagos if we return to Arenal. The only reason I listed it as very good instead of excellent, is due to the high-end facilities in the area (Tobacon) that are likely more spectacular, but also more expensive.

Room Tip: Check out the trail at the top of the property and get a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fennville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

My friends and I stayed for a few days at the Los Lagos spa. While I'd cal the room "basic", it was clean, air conditioned, had a safe, and set in a beautiful setting, right below the volcano. If you stay there, swimming in the hot springs pools are free. They have some great slides that end up in the hot springs, and one that ended up in the regular pool. Both kids and adults enjoyed the slides. They will provide beach towels. Be aware it's at your own risk, so supervise your kids.
Breakfast was included in the price, but they charged $22 for each person over the first two in the room.. It's an ok buffet, but the view is great and we saw many wild iguanas and birds. Don't miss the crocs, leaf cutter ants and frog displays, all free.
The hotel helped us to line up activities each day, and for $8 each way, they will drive you to and from Fortuna. There are much more expensive places to stay, but this was a nice hotel for under$200 per night in their high season.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are large and have two Queen beds. They have a shuttle that will drive you up the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinder53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

The location was great with a view of the volcano outside of our room. After a 5 hour drive from manuel antonio the room was a disappointment. Perhaps it was the bright fluorescent lights that made the room seem cold and uninviting. The room was a superior room so it was extremely spacious, but luckily we did not spend too much time there. The breakfast in the morning was great and the grounds were really beautiful. The pools, hot spring and butterfly garden were delightful. We had only a 2 night stay and did a day trip of a zip line which was a real treat. Aside from the disappointing room the front desk was a hot mess. Every question required a wait on a line and was somewhat disorganized. Once booked the front desk did a good job, but the crowds and confusion were off-putting.

Room Tip: The superior room was very large & had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing