We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Nearby Hotels
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$146
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$215
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$179
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$294
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
167
150
38
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
150
38
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtsbutterfly gardensoccer fieldhuge iguanassan carlostwo storeybalcony overlooking the groundsbird feederscosta ricariver runningla fortunaextensive groundsgorgeous birdsswimming pool and jacuzzitour groupbird lifepeace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 372 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2007

The grounds are lovely, but the nicest surprise was the "bird feeders" perched outside the dining room during breakfast. These bare "trees" were strung with papaya rings, and attracted dozens of birds and squirrels. Since the dining room is open-air, we could watch them at close range, snapping plenty of photos. We saw a beautiful display of all colors of birds!

Typically, we stay in bungalows or cabanas, so we were wary of staying in a "regular" hotel. However, it was pleasant. Our room was spacious, with a very nice bathroom and a balcony overlooking the grounds and the river. The only complaint was that, since it was not as secluded as a bungalow, we heard a lot of noise from people walking past.

We don't usually have TV, phones or hairdryers in bungalows, so it was a luxury to have them here --- unfortunately, the TV remote didn't work. But with so much to see and do, who needs TV?!

It was a bit farther from La Fortuna than we anticipated, and it seemed like all the activities we wanted to do were the opposite direction from La Fortuna, but paved roads made the drive quick, and we enjoyed driving through the farmland.

The staff was extremely polite and helped us book a zipline tour.

We really loved La Fortuna, returning there again and again. There was also a lot to do in the area, from zip lines and hanging bridges to hot springs, shopping and more.

We usually stick close to beaches, but this was a very welcome and pleasing surprise.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LaLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

Had no idea what to expect, having booked as part of a vacation package that included several desitinations within CR. Was GREATLY surprised by what we got: beautiful grounds that respectfully balanced guest needs with those of the natural environs in and around the resort. Rooms were clean and standard, food was quite good and our guide, Humberto, really proved vital in touring us around. Couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoBuNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2006

We stayed at Tilajari for the 2nd half of our honeymoon. Our tour operator, Serendipty Adventures, recommended this hotel because of its location to many of the activities we'd planned (tree canopying, hot air ballooning, hot springs (not Tabacon, as it's too big & touristy), horseback riding, etc.).

As other reviewers have mentioned, the grounds were beautifully kept, the staff friendly, and the rooms simple & clean. We'd booked a junior suite, which was very reasonably priced. It included a fairly large room with two double beds, a small table & 2 chairs, dresser, TV, wardrobe, and small, but adequate bathroom. It also had a porch with adirondack chairs for sitting and viewing/listening to the local wildlife. The air conditioner was great, since it was hot, but it was noisy when trying to sleep. The only problem we had were little black beetle-type bugs on our linens the last night.

The breakfasts were good. The staff hung fruit from bird feeders around the outside edges of the indoor/outdoor restaurant. Made for great viewing of various birds and lots of iguanas -- especially late during the breakfast hours, when staff threw down fruit for them.

There were many locals who stayed at Tilajari while we were there, as it serves as a 'country club' and was hosting a tennis tournament. The butterfly garden was not in operation while we were there, unfortunately. Watch out for the gift shop -- they tried to charge me more than marked prices when I went to buy some souvenirs.

Overall, we were pleased with Tilajari. We'd recommend it for anyone planning to be take part in activities near Arenal volcano. We also highly recommend Serendipity Adventures for private tours -- friendly, efficient, very knowledgeable staff!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Austin-1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2006

We stayed at the Tilajari resort for 5 nights from 15th Jan. Everything that has been previously mentioned is true. Beautifully kept grounds,nice rooms overlooking the river,lovely restaurant where you view the birds & squirrels on the feeders,& friendly & helpful staff. The owner is a very nice man & always around chatting to the guests.
We did a walk in the rainforest with the hotel staff assisting,wading through mud & absolutely soaked,a true rainforest. Also did a river float,in dinghys.Very interesting stop at a locals farmhouse. The guides managed to find a red & black poison dart frog which I wanted to see. We were not lucky enough to see the top of the volcano when in the area as always covered in cloud.
No negative comments at all.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JaninaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2005

I really think this is a great resort. The accomodations are well kept, clean and surpass many of the Costa Rican standards. This property is riverfront and the natural wildlife of iguanas, red squirrels, birds and butterflies are amazing. The owner, lives on property and is commonly seen visiting with the guests, always reviewing their comfort and satisfaction. He quickly arranged a special tour for us, when he found out time was an issue. The horseback and rain forest tour is GREAT ! He has staff that personally host many of the tours, so they are of quality. Just about anything you want to do, such as the hot springs, kayaking, ATV tours, horseback riding, butterflies, fishing arenal, cano-negra national park and canopy tours... all are offered right here.. most with the maximum get to of about 30 minutes (except Cano-Negro much longer). Food was great and a plentiful breakfast buffet is included.

I think staying here, versus the Tabacon area is the secret. They are only a $20 taxi ride apart, but Tilajari offers the quiet rainforest atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank c2c4u2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews