We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$156
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$152
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$108
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$209
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$480
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
169
151
38
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
151
38
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtsbutterfly gardensoccer fieldhuge iguanasbird feederssan carlostwo storeybalcony overlooking the groundscosta ricariver runningla fortunaextensive groundsswimming pool and jacuzzigreat wildlifeexotic birdstour groupbird life
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 375 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2008

I saw the wonderful write-ups for this hotel here on Trip Advisor and booked a stay here at the end of a trip to Costa Rica. We had planned to stay four nights but we fled the next morning. Even if there hadn't been tour buses full of teenage soccer players from the States staying there, the food would have been enough to drive us away. It was very bad, very bland, and lacking in variety. Since this property is pretty remote, you have no choice but to eat here. The rooms were spacious and the service was good but this is not the place to stay if you want to have even the dimmest awareness that you are in a foreign country.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nofixedaddress72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TilaEmarketing, Manager at Tilajari Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Dear client,

First of all we want to wish you and your family a great 2011 year. Now we will be more aware of online contact channels like tripadvisor.com, due client´s opinions are basic for us in order to improve constantly.
Last two years we have been doing important changes in our services and facilities here in Tilajari, our hotel is specially appreciated for retired couples and families who are usually happy with our not crowded, spacious and safe location. Roads are in excellent conditions, Arenal Volcano and other attractions are less than 30 minutes away from us (SJO airport 80 miles), our webpage details different routes to get to the hotel and shows the area where we are located. We also offer a brand new menu and new Executive Chef since your visit, now we have more than 70 dishes available plus a daily special and a standard of 18 different products we serve every breakfast buffet.

As your visit was in 2008, we would love to have the opportuny in a near future to have you with us again and prove by yourself our efforts to become a better hotel.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We stayed 2 nights here, as part of a tour of Costa Rica. Wish it had been longer! After staying in the Tortoguero region on the Caribbean coast, and before a week on the Pacific coast, this was our favourite hotel. The grounds were well tended and full of iguanas and interesting birds. There was even a sloth up a tree as our coach drove away!
As other reviewers have said, there are large iguanas up the trees and a wonderful butterfly enclosure where you can see every stage, from eggs on the leaves to the caterpillars, pupae suspended in airy boxes, and the butterflies finally emerging and flying around.
The rooms are organised in blocks, and we had a corner room (217) on the 2nd floor. The shower was powerful and we had good air-con, a nice balcony & a spacious room. The only criticism is that it was close to the road, and early-morning buses picking up their passengers at 7 a.m. leave their engines running ~ highly irritating! The ground-floor rooms facing the sloping lawns down to the river were in a better position.
The food was reasonably priced & delicious (try the Mahi-mahi with shrimps & salad for dinner). Breakfast is a buffet, extensive & well tended, with a strong American influence.
I don't normally eat much but couldn't resist the fruit and pancakes with maple syrup, & of course wonderful coffee. There's a pool table & free internet access, useful for reassuring the kids back home!
The pool had plenty of sun loungers & shady trees, although if you want a mango juice or whatever, go & get it yourself, don't wait for the waiter to bring it out. We ordered drinks & he forgot all about us! From here we went to the thermal baths, a definite "must" in the evening, just lying in the hot waters gazing up at the stars & distant volcano.
Would love to go again & stay longer, but with a different room away from the road. Tilajari means "evergreen" in local language, & it's certainly that ~ like a botanical garden!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Own2feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We booked our vacation through Gate I Travel. Hotel Tilajari was included in the package and it was fantastic. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms new. The Tilajari is actually on a wildlife reserve so you can see tropical birds and the river passes right by some of the hotel rooms and spa/swimming pool. Most of the tours booked through the hotel/Gate I were great, but we were disappointed with the horseback ride. Some of the prices are high, so look around for good deals. I would definitely recommend Gate I and the hotel. We talked to some other travelers who paid 3 times the price as we did and weren't staying at such nice hotels. Gate I also put us at the Cariari Doubletree in San Jose and the Cloud Forest Lodge in Monteverde. Our agent, Kimber, recommended the La Paz Waterfall gardens near the Poas Volcano and this was a definite highlight of our trip. If you are staying near San Jose or Arenal check this place out!

Stayed: February 2008
4  Thank Jempolo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We were in Costa Rica for 10 days, spending 4 nights at Tilajari. We were in a two bedroom with the balcony looking out over the river. The staff was always accomadating. We went on several tours and especially enjoyed the horseback ride to the Arenal Volcano with Justin Hamilton. The food at the resort was excellant. Would stay here again when returning to the area.
Omena Michigan

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank omenacaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

This was the perfect place for our family to start our 3 week trip in Costa Rica. We loved the setting on the river and our room was the last one at the far end of the property and was quiet and I thought it was very pretty and the beds were excellent. It was very comfortable for our family of five. We saw all kinds of fabulous birds, lots of butterflies, sloths, lizards of all sizes, bats and a possum on the property. We ate breakfast and dinner at the restaurant and played in the giant pool (which was a perfect temperature). We rented a car for this part of our trip and set out each day towards Arenal, going to the Hot Springs, The Volcano, the Lake, the Hanging Bridges and more. We saw lots of wildlife and had three clear days to view the Volcano exploding. The hotel staff and Jim the owner who I met while using my laptop in the reception area, were helpful, friendly and interesting. My eldest son loved the Chuletas (porkchops) and the adults really enjoyed the tipico platter. I really wouldn't change a thing about the Tilajari. We had an exceptional time. One thing, I would not go to the Tabacon Hot Springs again. It was not kid friendly, and was crowded. While beautifully designed, for the $180 they charged my family for our time there, I would have rather hiked into the natural hot springs area and spent the money on something else. The "leatherette set" was there in droves and it just didn't appeal to us. We blogged about our trip at www.funtripswithkids.com .

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Queenieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews