We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I loved this hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I loved this hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights on our recent vacation to Costa Rica. We stayed in a junior suite with a river view and it was very nice. The room was clean and comfortable with all your basic necessities but the real reason to stay here is the beautiful grounds. The hotel is on acres and acres (and acres) of property with a river running through it so the wild life you see on a daily basis is really amazing. The dining room is the open air type typical to Costa Rica and every morning we were able to watch the birds, iguanas and butterflies with our breakfast. We had an all inclusive package so we ate all our meals in the restaurant which had a nice variety of dishes to choose from. The food was pretty tasty and the portions are enormous. I ended up ordering half portions the whole time. We did a "safari float" and horseback riding with a guide named Pedro who was fabulous. He's super knowledgeable about the wild life and plants and can spot animals from a mile away. All the hotel staff were SO nice, it really made us sorry to leave when our stay was up. Tilajari is a beautiful, quiet place to enjoy nature and relax. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    120
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
87
113
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, OR
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights during a work trip. Rooms were good size, a/c worked well when needed. It is located right on a river. There is a nice short walk through some tropical fruit trees. I didn't get to see the medicinal garden or butterfly garden but would be interesting. Food was fine and there is an abundance of iguanas around the restaurant in the morning (look in the trees on on the roofs). It appeared as though it was mainly tourist groups passing through.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EricL97332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a wonderful place, the employees were very nice. The room was very nice great view of the gardens and river. The breakfast buffet was very good. Nice little gift shop. Got to see crocs in the river. They also had a exercise room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Tilajari was a great stay--they have everything at the resort and the food was good (if you need a food escape, try the second floor of the cattle auction about 15-20 min walk...take a left out of the main entrance to the hotel, turn left at light, it is just past the gas station on the right). Staff was friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis area
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Tilajari is one of my favorite places in the world! It's not a 'resort' by modern standards, the rooms aren't new and the fixtures aren't shiny. But the entire space is a lovingly tended botanical garden. The outdoor dining pavilion is such a pleasant space, and the tiled pool and hot tub overlooking the river are an oasis of peace. There are iguanas and small lizards all over the property, a butterfly house, and the front desk can arrange a wide assortment of adventure and exploration activities for you, all of which are fantastic. The tourist town of Fortuna and the volcano are only a short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LotusLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights as part of a tour. The service and the food were great . The rooms very comfortable. There was lots of wildlife in the gardens, sloths, snakes, including a boa constrictor, crocodiles down by the river, butterflies in the garden etc

Room Tip: All the rooms were quiet and over looked the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Florida3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We participated in an Ultimate Frisbee tournament hosted at the Hotel Tilajari. It was a great setting for this type of event. The rooms were very acceptable, for the price. Don't expect the Holiday Inn Express - this is Costa Rica. But the rooms were clean, the sheets acceptable and there were a few room perks (coffee maker, closet space). The included breakfast was better and more than at most hotels - gallo pinto (Costa Rican rice and beans), a meat, lots of fruit, potatoes, omelettes to order. There was a very pretty setting by a river and the birds at the feeders were fun to watch. Finally, the tennis courts, basketball court, soccer field, and pool were all very nice. The hotel obviously had good adventure tour services as we saw ATVs and mountain bikes picking up guests each morning.

Room Tip: The rooms are on two floors. Top floor is on front of building, close to the parking area. Bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderRolls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
12.9 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#18 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#26 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
15.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Property: Tilajari Hotel Resort
Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing