We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful rural rain forest setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Stonington,CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful rural rain forest setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Tilajari. It has a lovely location along a rushing river, and the gardens on the property are beautiful. The small butterfly enclosure was very nice to visit. Our riverside room was comfortable and clean, but in need of updating. I loved relaxing outside our room with a roof over our heads watching the rain, the flash of colorful birds, and other wildlife in the trees. This is also a place for lots of sport activities both indoor and out. The food was delicious and bar inviting! The staff feeds the birds fruit on branches outside the restaurant which was another highlight..be sure to bring your camera to breakfast. With free Wi Fi and a computer to use in the lobby, we were able to connect with family at home.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our riverside bottom floor room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    120
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
87
113
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This Resort Hotel complex is set in extensive and beautiful grounds providing space for a true wildlife reserve. The units of accommodation are sited within 2 storey blocks which overlook a wide river that runs through the estate. Our ground floor unit consisted of one bedroom with 2 double beds and a separate bathroom. It was very clean, serviced daily with both linen and towel changes. The resort offers all facilities,outdoor pool,fitness rooms,tennis,and many other sports. The restaurant/ bar is in a separate building and provides a good selection of meals to a very acceptable standard. Do engage with the staff and you will be rewarded with both friendly and efficient service. The bonus with this resort is the abundance of wildlife and birds which will keep you occupied and enthralled following your early wake up call from the resident howler monkey. This was a most enjoyable stay and is thoroughly recommended to those with a in interest in the environment and natural world. The cocktails are also very good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel grounds are beautiful,restaurant very nice and airy, food is good.The staff was helpful to us. The rooms were a disappointment, however.They need a gut rehab. The tile was cracked in the bathroom, the shower door didn't close all the way, the lamp was chipped in the main room.The beds and linens needed replacing. The walls needed painting.The pillows were very hard.Reminded me of a Red Roof Inn.If they were remodeled, it would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb320_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel, great food, awesome natural experience, I went there and was full of iguanas, squirrels, and birds, everything was nice, the bathroom is just normal nothing fancy but it has everything very clean. They have everythin, pool, soccer and tennis fields, gardens with lots of flowers and great personel. 100%recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban0589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Tilajari is located in the countryside between San Carlos (Ciudad Quesada) and La Fortuna in Muelle, so it is rather out of the way. But it is a wonderful resort owned by a former Peace Corps member who fell in love with Costa RIca. His love shows. It's a beautiful resort with great amenities, good food, and a wonderful pool and whirlpool. There is a nice butterfly garden and they will arrange tours for you. Definitely a quiet place to spend a few days in paradise. It was neat to see all the beautiful birds who gather around the outside o the dining room. And of course an iguana or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynUtica_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Gorgeous place. . . .great food. . . .rooms are spacious and clean! The bed was comfortable and everything worked. . . .well, it worked when I left, at least. When I took a very welcome and wonderful hot shower at the end of a very long day, I thought "This is heaven!" Then I turned the water off, and it kept running. I called Reception and was horrified to find that there was no English-speaking person on board at night. I was a bit surprised since every guest I met while there was English-speaking! I was put on indefinite hold. . .and finally drew on my minimal plumbing experience and got it shut off. Then, I discovered to my horror, the stool didn't flush either. After that was fixed, I finally got to enjoy the very comfortable bed.
There are two reasons I didn't give Tilajari an "Excellent":
*No assistance with the plumbing problems - due to no English-speaking personnel on duty at night despite most of the guests being English-speaking.
*The resort is very spread out, and the lighting was not very good when walking to the rooms after dark

Room Tip: Ask for one close to the restaurant, unless you like long, dark walks after dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel we are full board food not up to 4 star standard chicken is reconstituted no brest at all, its better if you have food off the menu we are on buffet most of the time.
The bird life is wounderful at the feeding stations, rooms o.k. no town near by so when we have a free day there is no where out side the resort to go to.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogthehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
12.9 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#18 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#26 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
15.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Property: Tilajari Hotel Resort
Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing