We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tilajari Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Tilajari Hotel Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Tilajari was a great place to stay. The rooms were great, the pool and hot tub were wonderful! We had rooms overlooking the river and that was very nice! Food was very good. Highly recommend! Saw large iguanas and armadillo and butterflies in the butterfly tent.

Room Tip: overlooking the river the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    116
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
81
113
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Tilajari is a ten in jungle/river resort experiences. The rooms on the river are the best for having your night -cap on the patio. Or, take a cobblestone path to an indoor/outdoor dining experience. The food is great.. A short walk takes you to a jungle pool site. And, don't forget the river cruise and the rainforrest horseback ride a few hundred yards away. We've been to Tilajari three times ,and, yes, we will return.
P.S.
Bright plummage birds are sited everywhere on the propertl. It's a birders ' paradise.
Our room was very clean and everything functioned properly.

Room Tip: riverside with patio, near banyan and bamboo grove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The rooms are not maintained, especially the showers. We were unable to turn our shower off completely and it ran hot water all night. When we got to the room the diverter was on shelf, it was fixed but then we could not turn the water off completely. Friends had showers that only sprayed on the edges, like a circle of water. Then there is breakfast. Only hot food is covered. The fruit and bread are not and they attract small black flies and lots of them. There is a butterfly garden that is enclosed and had not been attendened to for a very long tome. It once had exhibits. They have fallen to pieces. I don't know why this hotel is busy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hortense9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in November. This quite a big resort and rooms can be a good walk from the bar and restaurant. This is not all bad as the birds and wildlife here are a big part of the attraction and the rooms have a very attractive outlook down to the river. Fruit is put out at breakfast and the most colourful birds visit and put on quite a show ! I thought the restaurant food was very good and quite reasonably priced- which is good as there don't appear to be any alternatives in the vicinity. Lovely pool and hot tub area and attractive gardens. Not a luxury resort but a very nice place to stay - definitely recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a wonderful time at the resort. We saw the local Sloth in a tree right outside our room at night. We were greeted each morning with the sounds of birds. The breakfast was very good and they had fruit on the sticks right outside our dining area. They were beautiful. Some Iguana's even climbed the branches to dine on the bananas. The drive to La Fortuna was pleasant and took about a half hour. We paid $15 US to get into the Hot Springs at Hotel Los Lagos and it was incredible. We hiked up to the Lookout, about 2 miles, quite a hike. Also swam in thier 11 thermal pools. Very worth it. The Tilajari Hotel was a good hotel for us. The food was very good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 100's 200's are farther from the road but even then the noise did not bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vballmdbkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A little far from the Volcano, 40 min or 2hres if you respect the speed limits ;0 The staff at front desk were great, room/bathroom was spacious, nice balcony with river view, nice water pressure (!!) but hard bed. breakfast was fine (3 choice and buffet), fruits mayhem... And during breakfast they put bananas on spike like bird feeder and you get a great show (actually much better than the one we payed for...). Then, big green Iguanas come down the trees to finish this up.
Diner wasn't correct, fish too cooked, wrong piece of meat... and the waiter didn't care, clown face.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My family and I spent three nights at Tilajari while exploring the Arenal area of Costa Rica. As a previous reviewer noted, it is a bit far from La Fortuna (around 25 km), but it was an easy drive back and forth. We found the rooms to be quite comfortable and the restaurant food and service to be very good. My wife got some great bird pictures during breakfast when the staff puts out fruit for the birds. There's a nice large clean pool that was very relaxing after a day of adventure. We didn't take advantage of any of the tours offered by the hotel since we had our own car. The distance from La Fortuna is the only reason I didn't rate this as Excellent, but again we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverAnniv2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
15.4 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
15.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,265 reviews
12.9 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
17.0 mi away
Arenal Kioro
Arenal Kioro
#13 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Property: Tilajari Hotel Resort
Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing