We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Well run and enjoyable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Well run and enjoyable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in November. This quite a big resort and rooms can be a good walk from the bar and restaurant. This is not all bad as the birds and wildlife here are a big part of the attraction and the rooms have a very attractive outlook down to the river. Fruit is put out at breakfast and the most colourful birds visit and put on quite a show ! I thought the restaurant food was very good and quite reasonably priced- which is good as there don't appear to be any alternatives in the vicinity. Lovely pool and hot tub area and attractive gardens. Not a luxury resort but a very nice place to stay - definitely recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    119
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
86
113
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a wonderful time at the resort. We saw the local Sloth in a tree right outside our room at night. We were greeted each morning with the sounds of birds. The breakfast was very good and they had fruit on the sticks right outside our dining area. They were beautiful. Some Iguana's even climbed the branches to dine on the bananas. The drive to La Fortuna was pleasant and took about a half hour. We paid $15 US to get into the Hot Springs at Hotel Los Lagos and it was incredible. We hiked up to the Lookout, about 2 miles, quite a hike. Also swam in thier 11 thermal pools. Very worth it. The Tilajari Hotel was a good hotel for us. The food was very good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 100's 200's are farther from the road but even then the noise did not bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vballmdbkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A little far from the Volcano, 40 min or 2hres if you respect the speed limits ;0 The staff at front desk were great, room/bathroom was spacious, nice balcony with river view, nice water pressure (!!) but hard bed. breakfast was fine (3 choice and buffet), fruits mayhem... And during breakfast they put bananas on spike like bird feeder and you get a great show (actually much better than the one we payed for...). Then, big green Iguanas come down the trees to finish this up.
Diner wasn't correct, fish too cooked, wrong piece of meat... and the waiter didn't care, clown face.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My family and I spent three nights at Tilajari while exploring the Arenal area of Costa Rica. As a previous reviewer noted, it is a bit far from La Fortuna (around 25 km), but it was an easy drive back and forth. We found the rooms to be quite comfortable and the restaurant food and service to be very good. My wife got some great bird pictures during breakfast when the staff puts out fruit for the birds. There's a nice large clean pool that was very relaxing after a day of adventure. We didn't take advantage of any of the tours offered by the hotel since we had our own car. The distance from La Fortuna is the only reason I didn't rate this as Excellent, but again we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverAnniv2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Even this hotel is not new, its rooms are still ok. They are spacious, clean and quiet. The hotel is located inside a big property, close to the nice San Carlos River. I stayed there as part of a tennis tournament, being the only hotel with decent tennis courts in the zone. If you are looking for a quiet place to be, this is the one. Food was very good also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HernandoSegura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed it greatly. The hotel rooms are older, but still nice. The scenery is beautiful here, it's very secluded. The breakfast was wonderful! The tours we booked there were great and well worth the money. The one dinner we ate there was very tasty. We used the water provided in the lobby the whole trip, to save on buying new bottles. The pool was clean and well kept. I wish it was closer to La Fortuna, but the 20 minute drive went fast. It's about 30-40 minutes to Arenal and it took us 45 minutes to get to the national park entrance at Arenal for reference.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel rooms are small old fashion, the bathrooms are old . located very far from La Fortuna. There is nothing to do at night. The dining room and the pool are far from the rooms. The dining room is full of flies. you can hear the cars on the road near by

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank henry27NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
15.4 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
15.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,333 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#31 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Property: Tilajari Hotel Resort
Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing