We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corporate appearance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2008

This resort could belong to any of the chains. I don't mean that in a bad way, just that it looks very corporate and standardized. We actually enjoyed this bit of what was luxury for us in the middle of our trip.

We rejuvinated in the a/c in a very comfortable bed, watched a Turner Classic Movie on TV, took long, hot showers, sat on our balcony overlooking the river watching the birds as they started their day at 5:30am, walked the grounds to see the iguanas, squirrels, and birds.

We enjoyed the open air restaurant (we had to ask to have our ceiling fan restarted one evening), but had to be persuasive to be seated along the perimeter where the groups sit rather than up front (away from the birds). We found the staff very attentive and helpful, just a bit overwhelmed the night the tour groups were ordering off the menu. We then checked the board to see what the group's dinnertime was for the next night to avoid.

The breakfast buffet was great. The dinner food was good quality, but dishes varied in their taste and when an item was ordered two nights in a row it was totally different each time. Especially good were the cream of tomato soup and chicken entrees. The fish was salty (not by nature) and the sauce was better than the entree.

Front desk staff and drivers helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Tilajari Hotel Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 347 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2008

Spouse and I and 36 others spent 2 nights as part of tour group. Room was a suite with sitting room. Food and service and grounds were all good. I walked all over the property - all positive except butterfly garden was in disrepair when we visited. Met with owner, Jim Hamilton, told us the history of how the land was a cattle ranch then a private sports club and then a hotel.

Several tour groups were at site first day and dinner was crowded and done as a buffet. Next night with less people we ate directly from menu and food and ambiance was great. Grounds immaculately landscaped . Pool, jacuzzi very nice . Good value, good place. Recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

Date January 2008
Where do I start? Tilajari is wonderful the word perfect even comes to mind and I’m a Professional photographer and Designer that has products in every Lowes and Home depot in the U.S. so I know nice when I see it! I would have never found this hidden gem on my own so thank you Brad Butler of Emerald Forest Properties for recommending it. Imagine the Garden of Eden with great rooms a pool to die for and a hot tub! Don’t worry if you don’t know Spanish most of the folks here speak very good English.
This part of Costa Rica is much cooler than the coast and has more flowers than you can count. Tilajari is the best vacation spot you could ever hope to spend time at. The staff is friendly and more than willing to help. Roy Villalobos the Recepcionista at the front desk could always tell us how or where to get what we want. These folks know how to treat you. Their Katira restaurant is top notch too the food is as good as anyone could hope for and far less than half the price you would pay for this quality in the States. On top of that add a first class free hot breakfast. This would be the perfect place for weddings the gardens are a great back drop for the photographs! If you like plants and nature this is a must see place, Orchids in the trees everywhere with more exotic plants than you could name. If you’re a bird watcher this place will be heaven for you. You can eat your breakfast while watching some of the most colorful birds in the world we watched a beautiful Red legged honey creeper eat a banana while I got awesome photos because he was so close I could almost touch him! The wait staff in the restaurant put food out every morning for the birds and do they ever come in to get it! This place gets Five stars from me to say the least!
I've attached some of the photos I made.

AC Pickard
Senior Designer

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank acpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We stayed four nights at the Tilajari. The excellent: very friendly desk staff and restaurant personnel, superb tour guides and drivers (Humberto and Marcelo), well-maintained grounds with ample flowering trees and bushes and iguanas and birds galore, and a small but well-stocked butterfly garden.

The good: restaurant food and tours. Because of the distance of the resort from La Fortuna or other cities, eating elsewhere is difficult. Fortunately, the breakfast buffet and dinner menu were on the whole varied and reasonably priced.

The hotel also offers a large number of tours. We took the safari tour (river rafting and visit to local farm), hanging bridges (walking on bridges through a tropical forest), zip lines with horseback riding, visit to the waterfalls, and volcano/hot springs package. The safari tour was our favorite. Seeing native crocodiles, howler monkeys, sloths, and poison dart frogs along the river was quite interesting. The horseback rides were more (pleasantly) challenging that we expected and the zip lines were hair-raising but exhilarating.

The waterfalls were quite pretty, though the trek up and down the stairs to the pools at the base of the falls may be a challenge for some. The walking bridges were interesting, with some very pretty views. The volcano/hot springs package was OK. As happens often, the volcano was shrouded in clouds, making it difficult to see much of the lava flowing down one side. On the other hand, the private hot springs that we visited is much nicer than larger, more public ones. Note that the average price for most of the tours was $50-60 per person.

The could be better: the rooms. They were small and the couches were threadbare. Moreover, the loft portion of our room was open to the elements except for a mesh screen, thus making it impossible to cool with air conditioning.

On the whole, the Tilajari offers an very good base from which to explore the Arenal region of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thecoffee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

My family stayed for 6 nights at the Tilajari Resort. We have only wonderful things to say about our experience, the staff, and the facilities.
The resort is lovely and the grounds are lush with beautiful flora, colorful birds and omnipresent iguanas. There is a wonderful butterfly garden as well. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the swimming pool, whirlpool, and tennis courts are great.
As we did not rent a car and there was no town to walk into, we had to rely on the hotel resaurant for most of our meals. We were pleasantly surprised to find the food excellent and the wait service friendly and solicitous.
The friendly and helpful staff, in particular Roy and Uriel, arranged some wonderful sightseeing adventures for us. Our guide Umberto was very informative and charming. The only thing we would probably have done differently in retrospect would be to either have rented a car (though the road are quite challenging for a novice), or stayed fewer nights in one place.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank susanandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We stayed at Tilajari from Dec. 26 - 28. This hotel has an exceptionally nice and capable staff! We are extremely impressed. We made arrangements with the hotel to be picked up in San Jose. Umberto picked us up and was an absolutely delightful guide as he drove us to Tilajari. He speaks flawless english and is a wealth of knowledge. Umberto led the safari tour (do not miss this) and was assisted by easy going Pedro. Umberto also led the volcano and hot springs tour (also good) and Marcel, a superb driver, - drove us to the Arenal Volcano and also returned us to San Jose. These three people demonstrate the commitment to service and courtesy that Tilajari provides. We highly recommend Tilajar - incredibly nice folks!

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marleasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We, family of 8, five adults and two children, ages 7 and 5, stayed at Tilajari on nights of 26, 27 and 28 December. Rooms (Junior Suites) and grounds were beautiful. Main dining room has open arches for great wildlife viewing while dining. Food, staff and service was excellent. This rain forest setting gave us nice contrast to the Pacific coast (Hotel Playa Hermosa) where we also stayed on this trip...both locations were outstanding. Activities were reasonably priced and guides were very professional. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loadpbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
20.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
828 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#27 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
291 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
15.5 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#30 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,255 reviews
12.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $75 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing