We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperate need of update.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel rooms are small old fashion, the bathrooms are old . located very far from La Fortuna. There is nothing to do at night. The dining room and the pool are far from the rooms. The dining room is full of flies. you can hear the cars on the road near by

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank henry27NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 353 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have been to Tilajari on two occasions and I loveeee it. The food is awesome although I missed the beacon from Bosque del Mar. I eat the Tilajari hamburger twice and loved it the New York Steak was great as well. I would have liked to watch Nickelodeon in english as opposed to spanish. The butterfly farm is great and very spacious. There are many iguanas I got to see them eating grass and it was a wonderful experience. I can´t wait to go there again.

Room Tip: Junior suites are very big and have great a/c..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veris93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just got back from 10 day vacation booked through Gate 1 travel. This place was the best. Crocodiles in the river outside our room, a free butterfly enclosure, beautful grounds, iguanas, excellent breakfast buffet with many choices, great pool and hot tub and geared towards customer service. Arenal is a bit of a drive, 45 min, but if you want quiet off the beaten path this is the place. Would come back. If you like pizza try Luigis in La Fortuna, free hot springs past Tabacon resort look for yellow gate and take path off to the right as you head towards Arenal. Spend the money and go to the Sky tram/trek zip line-it will stop your heart!! Just near the Arenal volcano park.

Room Tip: Any rooms upstairs overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brancy316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Tilajari is a little oasis in the hustle and bustle of the Muelle San Carlos region in Costa Rica. There are tennis courts, an inviting swimming pool and an excellent restaurant on the banks of the placid San Carlos river.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the parking lot and towards the river. It is quiet, and you can avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NedLaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We felt fortunate to have been upgraded by Gate 1 which had booked the room for us, and then we received a room upgrade upon arrival. Our room, located in building 1, was comfortable, nicely decorated, and had a balcony with a great view of the river. We enjoyed several of the features of the resort -- a lovely outdoor jacuzzi, beautiful butterfly garden, and an herb garden and labeled nature walk. The breakfasts were served buffet-style with a nice selection of dishes. On the second morning, although it was only 8am when we arrived, it appeared that a large group had just departed, and the hot items were cool, the omelet station was closed, and there were flies covering the maple syrup. The resort is located about 20 minutes' drive from La Fortuna which wasn't a problem for us. Both evenings we ate in the restaurant which had a wide selection of interesting, well-prepared entrees. Our only minor complaint was considerable noise from the highway on the other side of the river. All-in-all, we would return if coming to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Escambian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nice, quiet, secluded, relaxing setting. Rooms were nice size w A/C and beds were very comfortable. Food was above average. Pool area was great even though heater for hot tub wasn't working. One free computer at front desk for internet/e-mail. All staff were courteous and helpful. This was the only place we saw Iguanas - and they were everywhere - in the trees and on the ground throughout the resort. We were with Globus Tours and day trip to Ecotermales Hot Springs was the highlight of our tour. Fantastic series of hot-water pools heated by Arenal Volcano. Very beautiful and peaceful setting. Has a nice restaurant, bar, and full changing rooms with keyed lockers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELDJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We booked the 'honeymoon' package at this hotel for 2 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it! In our 2 days we took in 2 tours, lots of meals and enjoyed their pool. The package we booked included all of our meals at their restaurant, breakfast was buffet style with quite a few options including an omelette/egg station. Lunch and dinner were a full 3 courses with a good selection. The best part of the restaurant was the staff!! They were all very attentive, friendly and professional. Our 2 tours were led by Pedro who was also fantastic!! He really loved his job, loved nature and animals and his enthusiasm was contageous!
The only improvement I could see would be to update the rooms, they were very spacious but could use a little 'refreshing'! I would reccomend this hotel to any of our friends/family who plan to visit this area of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrabb322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
15.5 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#30 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,278 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
180 reviews
14 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
11.5 mi away
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
361 reviews
12 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $95 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing