We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$380
View Deal
Hotels.com
$385
$376
View Deal
SAVE $9
Tabacon Grand Spa
$380
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams$380
Agoda.com$380
Trip.com$385
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,994)
Filter reviews
4,994 results
Traveler rating
3,519
958
326
114
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,519
958
326
114
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews los tucanes hot springs shangri la gardens hotel guests la area orchid room costa rica honeymoon suite day pass dinner buffet private area swim up bar couples massage arenal volcano heaven on earth beautiful resort hanging bridges
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 4,994 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Stayed here for a few days on vacation. This is certainly a well-maintained, well-run hotel. Staff is friendly, attentive, thoughtful, and very professional. The rooms are spacious with nice amenities (loved the bathrobes, slippers, coffeemaker, etc.), very clean, well-maintained. We had a nice room with a patio to a garden overlooking the Arenal volcano. The hot springs are a few minutes walk from the hotel but other than that, you have to drive for anything else outside of the hotel (it’s about a 15-20 minute drive from town). Overall, it’s a wonderful place to relax and use as a base to explore other areas around there. It’s also just the right scale— not a mega resort. Again, the only downside is, you have to have transportation since the hotel is a bit isolated. It’s a bit on the expensive side but fair value for the price. Would certainly stay here again.

Room tip: Get a room with a garden view/access.
Date of stay: April 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x2fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed our charming place. However, we are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectations regarding to the distance of our hotel with La Fortuna Dowtown, we always recommend our visitors to consider this point, since we are 15 minutes away by car. The transport service is provided by an external tour operator or a taxi service, which we can gladly assist in contacting you for your trip. We appreciate your detail review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

The resort grounds are beautiful, the valets guys are ready to help or get anything you need. We have stayed in many nice resorts around the world and this one is at the top of the list. The resort has an amazing spa with skilled therapist. The hot springs are unbelievable, I recommend the shangri la garden area Highly. You will not be disappointed here.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jmid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you gad a great time and that you enjoyed all our services and facilities. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

Had the most wonderful time at this resort. We only spent one night at the resort as our splurge for our trip. Our only regret was not staying here more nights. A friend and I took this trip as our yearly birthday trip since we share a birthday. As soon as we set foot at this resort we felt the luxury. Once escorted to our room we where greeted by a banner on our door wishing us a happy birthday. Upon entering our room we noticed a big slice of chocolate cake and a card from the resort again wishing us a happy birthday. These simple touches made such a big impact. We loved the attention they put into acknowledging our celebration. We had dinner at the resort and we had a marvelous time. Our server suggested a steak dinner for two and it was delectable. We ended up just going with his suggestions for the entire meal and that decision did not disappoint.

We ended up going to the thermal spring for a bit I’m the evening. The water was hot and felt

Room tip: Get to the springs between 8-10am for postable pictures without people in the background.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. We appreciate your detail review as well as your preference. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

This medium size property is large on elegance and service. The Hot Springs are the most beautiful in Costa Rica. You do pay for what you get. The breakfast buffet is large and outstanding. They do cook to order for breakfast too. They are fast in delivering any request. Paying for food and drinks on the property is expensive too. We mostly ate in town when paying. Don't be afraid of the rainy season as the locals say all year is the rainy season and is normally a short rain. The frequent clouds keep it from being to hot. You can see the Arenal Volcano from the property and you do see some exotic birds and animals like howler monkeys or raccoons.

Room tip: You can see the volcano, close to all the excursions. We rented a car and it was easy to drive around as there are only a few roads.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We appreciate your detail review and hope to host you again in the near future. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Beautiful place with excellent service. I can't say enough about the beauty of Tabacon. The setting is amazing. The service was impeccable. I generally don't splurge like this on vacation, but it was our 30th anniversary. I could not have picked a more beautiful place. Be prepared to open your wallet to pay for this type of service.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. We hope you had a wonderful30th anniversary during your visit. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews