We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beautiful place in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have traveled to many places but this was our first trip to Costa Rica. Tabacon Hot Springs is an amazing place and thus far the most beautiful location we have ever been. We only wish we could have stayed longer. The Hot Springs are not to be missed! They are the only natural hot springs from the river that flows through the Arenal volcano. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The staff were always friendly and available to accommodate any needs we had.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMcmillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Tmcmillin

We are thankful for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your first visit to Costa Rica, we were extremely honored to receive you as our guest at Tabacon. As you mentioned our natural hot spring river emerge naturally from Arenal Volcano offering more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades with different temperatures and a high mineral content. It is really rewarding to know that our staff and the facilities exceed your expectations and we hope you can visit us again and stay longer.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,113
    752
    260
    101
    65
See reviews for
773
1,616
57
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our family stayed here one night (6/27) and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel as well as the thermal springs. As soon as we entered the hotel we were greeted with a fresh tropical fruit juice and we were then escorted to our room on their buggy. The room had a panoramic view of the volcano. Hotel staff and management were very responsive to any concern or need. I wish we had stayed one more night but we had to prepare for our departure flight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Jae K

Thank you for your review, we are extremely happy that you spent part of your family vacation in Costa Rica, it was an honor to receive you as our guest. I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay including your room and the volcano view. I look forward to your return visit so that our team may once again exceed your expectations.

Cordially,
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We came for our honeymoon for 4 nights. One positive thing I will say is the staff was extremely friendly and nice. Treated us great. The rooms are really cool too. However.. We did the private dinner in the rainforest bungalow (for our honeymoon) ... It was $320 USD - (plus tip) DO NOT DO IT - complete waste of money. First the chef picked an appetizer.. Seafood. Our appetizer and entree we ordered was clearly not seafood..yet our chef choice was.. And we don't at raw fish..So we couldn't eat that. Then our steak was ordered at medium well... We had to send it back THREE times.. The final time it was still cooked medium rare. (Don't ask me how) We closed our eyes and ate some of it.. Then ordered room service (and paid for it) - also got about 500 bug bites that night. The chef also looked miserable and had to leave for 25 minutes to make our dessert. We just wanted to leave the bungalow! we were going to complain but it was our honeymoon and didn't want to get worked up. Also the main bartenders weren't really that friendly. If you smoke.. Don't stay here. You are banned to a tiny hut that is completely unsanitary. Everything else was great! Just don't do the bungalow dinner. I am told other resorts are also in the rainforest and have hot springs and not as expensive. For 4 nights our bill was Like 1500 (not including the room) which is crazy. Kept finding bugs in room which is expected since we are in rainforest. It was beautiful and staff was great but those were the downfalls we experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessababe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The views were unlike anything I have experienced up until now. Only wished we could have stayed longer. Customer service was top notch. I can't say enough about our stay. It was sooo luxurious- this was the honeymoon we never had.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvnlife81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Luvnlife81

We really appreciate your review, it is very rewarding be informed about the pleasant experience you had during your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our world-class service and you experienced the magic and romance like a lovely honeymoon at Tabacon, never is too late for an unforgettable honeymoon or anniversary celebration! We invite you to extend your stay during your next visit taking advantage of our packages for a romantic escape that includes some meals, spa bonus or even adventure tours. We look forward to receive you and your family in the near future.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I just came back from vacation in Costa Rica and it was my first time there. I can truly say it was one of the greatest experience of my life. Me and my finance stayed in the Tabacon grand thermal resort and had the best experience. The staff was very friendly and willing to help us when we need assistance. The environment was very clean and the food was great. I would recommend that anyone headed to Costa Rica stop by Tabacon grand thermal resort and you wont regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stylin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello stylin2

Thank you for sharing your kind review! We’re always happy to know that our guests enjoyed the greatest experience of their lives at Tabacon. We strive to provide our visitors an unparalleled service in order to help them create memories that will last forever. Thank you again for taking time to share your experience, and we hope to welcome you back.

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

When I came to the resort I noticed it was very well kept and very upscale and beautiful. From the time I came the staff was nice welcoming and helped me when I asked questions when I needed anything which is a plus for me. I felt very comfortable in my room very cozy. I believe that is what made my stay so great was the staff members. And I enjoy my vacation there a lot I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Aida G

I am delighted to know you loved our service, our staff is always happy to create memorable occasions during your vacation and assist with any special need. It is also a pleasure to know you enjoyed every single detail of your stay, from a warm welcome to a comfortable room in the heart of the Costa Rican rainforest. We are happy we were able to exceed your expectations and I look forward to welcoming you back to Tabacon.

Best regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I don't even know where to start from but the service from when we first arrived was amazing. The staff was pleasant. They catered to our every need. They made my honeymoon a week to remember. The room was great, and comfy. The view on out balcony was to die for. The food we had was so good I didn't even stick to my diet. But this hotel made me fall in love with Costa Rica like no other. I have already planned my next trip here this thanksgiving!!! I love it I just can't get enough of it. It's amazing. If you ever wanted to know where to stay I would say here. The surroundings are just gorgeous. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovinglifemekia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Lovinglifemekia

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we really appreciate it! First of all, let us congratulate you on your wedding. We are glad you decided to visit Tabacon to celebrate your honeymoon, it was an honor to receive you as our guest, having the opportunity to be part of this memorable occasion in your life. I am delighted to know you enjoyed the impressive forest views from your room, our dining experiences as well as our magical hot springs that lead you to a memorable time at Costa Rica. Thank you for your preference and we look forward to your next visit during Thanksgiving! It will be an honor to welcome you again at Tabacon...

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,177 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing