We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lavas Tacotal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa(Arenal Volcano National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kokoro Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Volcano Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,779)
Filter reviews
3,779 results
Traveler rating
2,494
826
283
107
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,494
826
283
107
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos tucaneshot springsshangri la gardensorchid roomhotel guestsunlimited accesshoneymoon suitecosta ricarainforest suiteopen to the publicday passswim up barprivate areabuffet dinnercouples massagearenal volcanostar resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,477 - 1,482 of 3,779 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Very good service but expect to pay for it. The outside of the hotel looks like a motor lodge so I was concerned. But the rooms are really nice. The resort is not right on the hot springs but they do a shuttle that is less than 2 minutes away by free hotel shuttle. The best part of our stay was having the romantic dinner. It is set in a hut in the rainforest where you have a private chef & waiter who takes of your every need. The food was great & it started raining which made it even more romantic. The only issue is there was no bathroom. The dinner was expensive but worth every penny

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgamb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Craignola

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay at Tabacon. We are glad you enjoyed your room, the hot springs and the free shuttle service that is always available for the hotel guests. Our Gala Dinner invites you to enjoy a very special culinary event among the beauty of our lush gardens in the heart of the rainforest. In a private bungalow, your server and chef create an evening of culinary magic with a menu pre-selected by you. Rose petals or tropical flowers on and around your table create an aura of romance as the two of you enjoy a candlelight setting like no other. We really look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The staff at all levels were friendly & added to our enjoyment. Healthy food options in the restaurants, clean facilities, great shuttle service to the thermal pools. Bed was very comfortable, quiet room, tub/shower combo was very high, hard to get in & out of.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcadiaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Arcadia Sue

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our aim is always to provide our guests a high quality service. We are happy to know you enjoyed the facilities, restaurants as well as the hot springs. As you mentioned free shuttle service is available for hotel guest and there is also a trail that connect the hotel and the thermal springs area. We would love to serve you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We drove up after landing in San Jose. The drive was curvy and slow but you felt like you were in the real Costa Rica. My wife had recently had foot surgery and the staff was very helpful with the parking and all accommodations. We were also traveling with young children and the extra space was a fantastic and unexpected luxury. I would recommend it even in the rainy season as the pools and hot springs are very soothing and you are already wet.

We also made use of the workout room and resort delivered on all points. It was a blessed repose after a day of traveling with the entire family. Tabacon is modern and well staffed to meet all of your needs.

Room Tip: We came up from San Ramon. The roads are local and small. Pedestrians and animals are often in the road. Don't be in a hurry. You are traveling into a natural wonder, one of the few rainforests. After you leave La Fortuna there is still a few miles to go and at night it is dark, but the resort is lighted well. The altitude make the rooms very cool and comfortable. AC is necessary sometimes.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BarthD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Barth D

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us. We are extremely happy to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our healing thermal mineral springs emerge from the majestic Arenal volcano forming cascades and natural pools and ponds, our hotel guest receive complimentary access to the thermal area during their stay. Our main objective is to offer a world-class service and we know that attention to details makes the difference so we customize our guest's experience as the beautiful example you shared in regards to your arrival and the extra space for your children. We look forward to serve you again and share with you the wonders of nature that are always present at Tabacon.

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Family of 5 stayed for 4 nights. Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Best part was the access to the thermal hot springs just a short walk down the road. Fun for the whole family. Only downside was the food at the hotel and at the hot springs was way too expensive. Understand this is a resort and there would be a premium, but the food cost was way over the top. Couldn't even get a simple snack or a cup of coffee for a reasonable price. Hope this gets addressed for the next guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momof3boysco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Momof3boysco

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding for us be informed about the pleasant experience you had during your stay at Tabacon. Our unique thermal springs flow directly from Arenal Volcano to revitalize our beloved guests and offer relaxation to its maximum level. We offer free shuttle for hotel guest to visit the thermal area and there is also a trail that connect the hotel and the hot springs area. We appreciate your opinion about food selection, I already shared your comments about food cost with our management for their revision. If staying multiple nights, we offer different packages and special hotel deals including some meals or spa bonus. We would love to have the opportunity to better serve you in the near future!

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and attentive to our every need. The hot springs are breathtaking and our room was large and comfortable. This would make the perfect place for a honeymoon or lover's getaway. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear JanMil

We really appreciate your review, we are glad you choose us as your Thermal Resort. Our natural hot springs are consider one of the best worldwide since it is a river that emerges naturally from the volcanic Earth to offer a relaxing experience. We are glad you enjoyed your room and our facilities. Our aim is to create memorable experiences to our guests therefore our staff is always happy to serve you and assist in any special request. We would love to receive you at our resort soon!

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews