We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Hot Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly Hot Springs”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Tobacon is a small,beautifully landscaped property that has the genius of the hot springs. This is a very romantic property. There are torches and up lighting that compliments the hidden pathways and pools throughout.
The rooms are spacious and have large windows that overlook gardens. Our room had a view of the Arenal Volcano. There is a well stocked mini- bar and the room has complimentary coffee and a wide selection of teas. The bathroom has very good lighting but one sink. We had a mini jacuzzi as a part of our shower. The bedding was adequate but nothing to ooooh or ah over.
There are three options for food. A lobby snack bar which does provide sandwiches, snacks and beverages. The eating area is open air off into an alcove that overlooks a landscaped garden. There is a large restaurant at the hot springs that serves lunch and dinner. We did not eat there during our visit. Most of our meals were at the formal restaurant Toucanes which is nestled in amoung the gardens near the pool and buildings. The buffet breakfast is wonderful! It was included in the price of our room. There was an egg station as well as a waffle/pancake station along with everything else for breakfast. The dinners there are all lovely however the meats tended to be just a bit over cooked. The service was wonderful. We enjoyed the atmosphere and convenience tremendously. We did not have a car and the resort is rather secluded and far from town so going off the property for the cost of the taxi was not appealing.
The staff were friendly and efficient. We had a problem with which the front desk was very helpful in solving. We especially liked working with the Jacamar tour desk operator ,Reyner. He was patient, informative and had a good sense of humor. We enjoyed all of the day excursions that he arranged for us.
Most memorable were the hot springs. It is a quick trip by one of the resort's vans or a walk just down the road. There hot springs are open to the public and the week we were there it was packed because of the Easter holiday. As a guest of the Tabacon you have a separate entrance and were able to go off to a secluded area with several private pools, lounge chairs, beds and tables with a clear view of the volcano. There is also a bar to add to the enjoyment.
My husband and I found Tobacon to be a most unique resort and are glad we had the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Pam H,

We really appreciate your review, thank you for your preference! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service and lovely setting exceeded your expectations. The thermal spring resort is a perfect place to have an encounter with nature. Our Shangri-La Gardens area is an adults-only hideaway exclusive for hotel guests where you are able to experience relaxation in a magical and romantic atmosphere. Los Tucanes Restaurant is our fine dining option and as you already mention we also have two bars where our guest are able to enjoy snacks and great cocktails. We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,180
    766
    268
    101
    65
See reviews for
795
1,658
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The spa is like something I have never experienced. Had a 'lommi lommi" massage and I think I even fell asleep because I was so relaxed. The staff treat you "royally", and make the experience like one you will never forget. You have a light smoothie before your massage with some cucumbers and then another one after your tx. with fruit accompanying it.
The pools are glorious and there is even a spot just for adults to relax that is quieter then some of the other pools.
The room was very very average!! We asked for a sitting chair to be brought in because there was none and obviously a "huge" spot one could have been placed and the staff stated we would need to "upgrade" to get a chair? Ridiculous when you are already spending over $250/night. Very Very average.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the road. We wanted a view of the volcano and they said they didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Kathleen N

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we really appreciate it. We are glad to know you enjoyed our thermal resort as well as the spa experience. The Grand Spa has been recognized as one of the top eco-spas in all over Latin America, where all treatments are rendered in open-air bungalows surrounded by nature. Total relaxation and attention to details are always part of the service we offer at the spa. As you mentioned you can enjoy a natural smoothie in the relaxation area, while reading, sleeping or enjoy the hot spring Jacuzzi o just having a me-time to prepare yourself for the spa treatment. In regards to your comments about your room, let me express our deepest apologies for any inconvenience you had, we work on a daily basis to provide a world-class service. Our staff is always happy to serve and do their best to satisfy our guest´s additional requests, if you recall the name of the person that did not assist you with your chair request, it will be useful for us to receive that information to take any necessary actions, please feel free to contact me directly at customerservice@tabacon.com. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Wow....worth every dollar to stay here. Staff was exceptional, food was good and the grounds lovely. Easy commutes to La Fortuna and surrounding area for tours. The best part was being able to soak in the mineral pools. It's dream like, a slice of heaven.

Stay at sunset and listen to the birds getting ready to bed down for the night in the jungle. Late evening is also lovely under the stars. If I disappear in life this is where you'll find me...

Room Tip: Try to get view of volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear d h,

On behalf of Tabacon team we would like to thank you for sharing with us your valued review. We are really glad to know that your visit was a success, we firmly believe that every single detail is part of Tabacon's experience. The magical setting, the rainforest and soaking in the thermal springs are key moments in which your experience becomes more enjoyable and turn your vacations into moments of perfect relaxation, we are looking forward to welcome you soon in our Resort in the near future.

With Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent three nights at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort and have very positive things to say about the experience. We found the staff to be uniformly friendly and the hotel itself (from the front desk to the rooms to the restaurant) to be clean, attractive and comfortable. The hot springs (which are about a three minute walk from the hotel itself, though there are frequent shuttle buses which run between the two) are absolutely stunning - we never got tired of exploring the multiple pools and streams (hotel guests should note that there is a restricted access area of the hot springs which is reserved especially for hotel guests, with its own separate bar and lounge area and which is serene and secluded).

Tabacon is quite removed from anything nearby - it's at least a 10 minute drive to La Fortuna (the nearest town) - so we would recommend either having your own car (valet parking was included in the cost of our room, and we never waited more than a couple of minutes for our car to be brought around), or being prepared to pay extra for taxis.

A few thoughts on the price and the food. There's no getting around the fact that Tabacon is expensive, but we thought that the quality of the hotel amenities and its surroundings justified the cost. A buffet breakfast costs US$30 per person - though, frankly, given the quality of the food and the pleasant setting, we were comfortable paying that for the convenience of wandering a few seconds from our room for a filling meal sitting by the thermal pool. We had lunch one day at the lobby bar - expensive, but a decent meal. We found that dinner was where the restaurant really shone: again quite pricey (around US$120 (including taxes and tip) for three course dinner for two with a couple of glasses of wine each), but we found the food and service simply outstanding - by far the best meals we enjoyed in Costa Rica were dinner at Tabacon.

We would recommend Tabacon to anyone looking for an upscale location and who is comfortable paying a premium price for the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bttravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear bttravellerToronto,

We appreciate your time for sharing with us your comments. Our aim is always to improve and provide our guests a high quality service. We are glad you enjoyed the hot springs and took advantage of the unlimited access to more than 20 pools and cascades with different temperatures where you can have a getaway and just relax. Shangri-La Gardens is our secluded and exclusive area for hotel guests older than 18 years. Free shuttle is available and there is also a trail that connect the hotel and the thermal springs area. We are happy to know you enjoyed our food options at Los Tucanes Restaurant as well as our traditional buffet breakfast with lots of options to delight your senses. We are sincerely grateful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

After a 7 hour flight to Costa Rica and a 3.5 hour drive from the airport, we were just about ready to collapse. As we checked in to the hotel we were greeted by multiple friendly faces, we were also offered a welcome drink consisting of fresh juices.
While making reservations made sure to include the reason for our trip which happened to be my boyfriends birthday. I made note of this and received an email almost instantly asking the date. our room was by far the most amazing room I have ever stayed in. We were in a honeymoon suite and had breath taking views. Each morning we were able to enjoy an all inclusive breakfast, I was expecting breakfasts to be simple egg/toast/fresh fruit....boy was I was wrong. We had the option of 6 fresh fruit juices (also able to request a smoothie), a variety of breads and breakfast croissants, a table filled with cold cut meats and cheeses, another table piled high with fresh cut fruits, an omelet bar where the chef is able to prepare an omelet with ANYTHING that you'd like, delicious waffles, pancakes, chiliquiles, a traditional potato dish, bacon, sausage, and the list goes on. We stayed here three nights and each morning I woke up at 7 am looking forward to breakfast.
The staff was very professional and helpful in multiple ways. Each time we left the room to enjoy the hot spring we were welcomed back to a clean room even once including birthday goodies provided by the hotel.
We rented a car and the valet had it waiting for us each time we needed it to take the quick drive into town.
We will definitely be staying at this hotel in the future

Room Tip: The rooms in the 500 building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlinfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello caitlinfc,

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us, we really appreciate it. We are extremely happy to know that you decided to visit Tabacon to enjoy your boyfriend's birthday with us, we love to celebrate with our guests. Our main objective is to offer a world-class service and we know that attention to details makes the difference, that's why we customized our guest's experience as the beautiful example you share in regards to the birthdays goodies. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet that as you mention include several and fresh options to choose from. We look forward to serve you again!

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at this hotel after our stay in Monteverde. I was expecting great things because this hotel is so highly reviewed and sought after but overall we were left feeling a sense of being ripped off, despite the beautiful grounds and springs. As a preface, when we travel we like to stay in nice places and expect to pay for it, but Tabacon was in another league.

Like many other reviewers will tell you, this hotel has the most breathtakingly beautiful hot springs you will ever see in your life. We booked this hotel largely because of this feature (something that non-guest would have to pay $60 each for), and we definitely made good use of it in the afternoon and at night. They are AMAZING. These springs pretty much made up for everything that faulted the hotel.

Now, the stuff we had some issues with...
Booking wasn't a pleasant experience (this is strictly in my case) with the reservations desk but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded into a rainforest suite (beautiful room).

The tour desk guy didn't seem to be very helpful. He didn't really provide us much assistance or guidance booking tours and seemed pushy and promoted certain tours over others. We ended up booking tours in town for much better prices in the end.

As a 5* hotel, that prides itself as being a prime hotel for the area, as a courtesy you should offer some daily shuttles into town!!! At least 3 per day would be nice. They have shuttles that will drive you to the hotel springs (5min walk) but a shuttle to town occasionally would have been nice given the rate they charge. Had we have known how far this hotel is from town, we would have rented a car (our mistake). We had to take taxis in and out of town at least once a day (16-18$ each way). Its fine if you are going to stay at the hotel the entire time but if not, either rent a car or be prepared to take costly taxis.

Dining at the hotel is pricey. We knew that breakfast wasn't included in the rate (the only hotel in our 10 night stay in Costa Rica to not offer breakfast, and the most expensive), but they charge $30 per person for breakfast and $36 per person for a lunch buffet including ONE iced tea or guava juice. CMON. For the limited options (one meat, one fish, pasta and salad bar) and the ONE drink maximum, $36 pp is steep in my opinion. Yes, they do have an a la carte menu but don't think that its any better. I had a ceviche and guacamole poolside at the springs and I wasn't at all impressed. Watery ceviche that had been sitting in its lime juice too long. Luckily the drinks at the springs were amazing. For breakfast for the three days we stayed at the hotel, we ended up taking a taxi to town to Rainforest Cafe and having amazing breakfasts and fresh juices before starting our day. All for under $30 for two.

Overall I felt that we had a good stay at this hotel because of the beautiful room and the springs. If you stay here, anticipate high, overly inflated prices, and having to take taxis...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

First time in Costa Rica. Tabacon & the hot springs were great. Had a fantastic view of Arenal volcano from our room. Spent a lot of time in the hot springs. All planned thru Puretrek. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi Cari S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we appreciate it. We are glad to know you had a great time at Tabacon. We are pleased that you enjoy the volcano view from your room.Our guests are able to explore more than 20 different cascades, pools and waterfalls all of them of natural thermal water with a high mineral content immerse in a natural location, that provides a romantic and relaxing moment. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing