We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot Lousy Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Spot Lousy Food”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

First, the hot springs themselves are wonderful and the spa one of the best spa experiences I have ever had. Everyone working at the resort was friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and well kept, although nothing special. Given the price of a day pass to the hot springs it quickly becomes a pretty good value and easy choice to stay here. The food, on the other hand, is overpriced and average at the very best. There are only a couple of choices for eating if you don't want to venture out on the roads at night. The main restaurant tries to be fancy, but the food does not get close to living up to the prices or setting. It isn't bad exactly, just terribly bland. Given the price it should have been better. The food at the hot springs is not good and is not much more affordable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CML548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,211
    772
    269
    101
    65
See reviews for
807
1,672
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel and it's hot springs are amazing. It is truly impossible to describe it in words and the pictures we saw on line do not do it justice. I cannot imagine that heave could be more beautiful than the Shangri-la area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi Marie W,

We appreciate your valuable comments. We are happy that you decided to stay with us and you had the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and our unique natural thermal springs that emerges from the Arenal Volcano. Shangri La Gardens is our private area just for hotel guests where you can have the most unique and relaxing experience. We hope to receive you again as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is by far the best resort I ever visited. Everyone here has been extremely polite and helpful. The hot springs are amazing after a long day of activities. Reyner who works at Jacamar ( the front desk ) tours has been very helpful planning my family's tours. ( night walk, sky tram and trek, white water rafting class 2 @ 3, horseback riding to Fortuna waterfall and sky river drift ). I would skip the night walk ( my kids like enjoyed it, my wife and I thought it was just ok ). The food here is very pricey. You can take a taxi to town ( $18 ) and back ( $15 ) just to eat. A better option is walking about ten minutes down the road to Cascajo's del Arenal. It's the best food we found in Arenal. The view is amazing and the staff working there are very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear David T,

Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate them.
It was an honor to receive you and your family as our guests at Tabacon. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our thermal resort where the exuberant gardens and the natural hot springs river let our guests enjoy in the heart of the rainforest. Additionally, for adventurous people La Fortuna de San Carlos is a beautiful town with lots of attractions, our concierge is always at your service to arrange outdoors tours to discover Costa Rica's magical setting. In regards to cuisine we offer different options: buffet, a la carte, and special snacks menus so you can choose between different options depending on your personal desires or take advantage of our packages if staying multiple nights. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have stayed at various resorts throughout Costa Rica, but I must say my visit to Tabacon Grand Spa Resort was by far the most amazing experience yet! From the breathtakingly beautiful waterfalls and hot springs, to the resort's gorgeous suites, Tabacon definitely left their mark on my boyfriend and I... in a great way I might add! We were greeted by the staff with a welcoming smile every morning, and they were very caring and accommodating to every need. The massages at the Grand Spa in the open bungalows are a MUST, by far the most relaxing spa experience I have ever had! Between the beautiful hot springs, gorgeous suites and amazing views of the volcano, Tabacon Resort is a hidden gem in the jungle that you need to discover. I can't wait to come back, 5 stars all the way!!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Ashley G,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. At Tabacón we strive to always provide customized service, we are glad to know you enjoyed every single detail at Tabacon from a smile to our awarded thermal resort. We are blessed with a marvelous natural setting and our facilities are in harmony with the rainforest offering the opportunity to our visitors to have direct contact with nature and explore the richness of Costa Rica's flora and fauna. Our Resort offers more than 20 thermal springs pools and cascades surrounded by tropical gardens, as a perfect complement for a relaxing experience we have The Grand Spa one of the best eco-spas in Latin America where all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all with private Jacuzzi. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The resort is a treat after rugged activities. Beautiful and serene. Front desk seems a bit "off" at times, but always trying to accommodate. Meal are pretty good and very pricey! $30 for breakfast buffet. If I was in Arenal I'd likely stay here again. But you can stay elsewhere and pay for access to their tiers and tiers and waterfalls of hot springs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear BJM47,

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us, we appreciate it. All our hotel guest has unlimited access to the hot springs resort during their stay so you are able to enjoy different natural pools, ponds and waterfalls also the private area Shangri La Gardens just for hotel guests. We offer 2 different restaurants one located at the hotel that is our fine dining restaurant and a second one located at the hot springs area where you can get snacks, buffet options with a range of prices. We really hope to receive you again at the resort.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My experience at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort was such an outstanding adventure from as soon as I arrived until I left. Everything is like a topical paradise that you will never want to escape from. I stayed in the Rainforest Suite where the view is breathtaking and the breakfast buffet was so yummy. As for the room everything was impeccable including the showers, I had the best night sleep of my life. Never have I seen such a clean environment where you actually feel comfortable in and the staff was very helpful. I enjoyed sitting out in the balcony listening to the sounds of nature and animals, it makes your soul happy to be there. I really enjoyed the hot springs! It reminded me so much of back home in Colombia, where I would go to them all the time. The tours were awesome! The volcano scenery was so incredible and peaceful. I would definitely recommend Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort resort to anyone. You will feel so rejuvenated! I’m definitely going back!

Room Tip: By the way, you have to visit The Grand Spa, you definitely won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello Natalia V,

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay with us. Tabacon is meant to be an experience to be remembered, that is why we focus our efforts to exceed all customer expectations. All our hotel guests receive free access to our thermal mineral spring resort from 9 am to 10 pm also you can experience the exclusive relaxing adults only Shangri La Gardens all day long. Our guest are able to start the day off right with our Breakfast Buffet that includes a wide selection of fruit juices, fresh bakery, jams, selection of cheeses, cold meats, yogurt and fruit, egg station, selection of hot main and side dishes, eggs and our traditional Costa Rican tortillas and corn pancakes. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future and we really appreciate your preference.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at the Tabacon hotel for five days while we took tours kayaking, hiking and ziplining around the area. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and the rainforest suites. The honeymoon suite cost more but it was less humid, and a new room, so it was more comfortable.

Tabacon was a wonderful place to stay. The staff is great. Fabian and Reyner in the concierge office made sure every detail was attended to. I would definitely recommend this resort for anyone – families, couples, friends or solo!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil-BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Lil-BK, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your preference! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your suite with its amenities and an incredible setting. Arenal area is also ideal for guest seeking adventure and our concierge is always there to serve you to recommend tours and activities depending on your preferences. We are sincerely grateful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,245 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,263 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,852 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,395 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing