We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were upgraded to a suite which was really beautiful. The breakfast was included in the room and this was very good but I don't think I would pay $30 for it . However you can go for a cheaper breakfast. The springs were amazing. Yes there are day visitors but there is an area just for hotel guests where you can go. The springs are a 2 minute shuttle ride from the hotel and there was always one waiting.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ZIGBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,502)
There are newer reviews for Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 3,502 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you want to enjoy a really nice resort style hotel with great hot springs, Tabacon is your place. Our room was quite nice and had an excellent view. The service was good but often times slow, especially checking in which took us more than 15 minutes. The warm springs and pool were worth the trip but be prepared to pay premium prices. The hotel restaurant was good but very overpriced. If you like to explore, there are a few really good restaurants in La Fortuna just a short 10 minutes away. We really enjoyed the warm springs and pool with the swim up bar and found the service here to quite nice. The people and staff are friendly and accommodating throughout our stay and offered assistance in booking our zip line and hanging bridge tour, both of which were amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Hi Mike C

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our aim is always to provide our guests a high quality service, we are glad you were able to enjoy a relaxing time at our hot springs area. In regards to cuisine we offer different options from buffet style, a la carte and special menus for snacks so you can choose between different price ranges depending on your personal desires or take advantage of our packages if staying multiple nights. Arenal is ideal for guest that enjoy adventure and the tour desk is always there to serve you to recommend activities depending on your preferences, we are glad you enjoyed the tours and look forward for your next visit!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was definitely the nicest place we stayed while in Costa Rica. The service was excellent. We stayed in a honeymoon suite which was very nice with a fantastic view of the volcano. We loved it! The springs are just gorgeous. We didn't have any problems with it being crowded while we were there at all. We did visit the Shangri-La area, which is for guests only, and it was definitely nice and quiet. Breakfast was included for us and it was by far the best breakfast during our trip. I would rate the food as pretty good (for breakfast only). We did eat at the restaurant one night and the food was okay, the service not so much. We had to ask for the wine menu three times and our waiter seemed very annoyed.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was quiet with an amazing view!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Rachel P

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your preference! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and experienced the different services and facilities we offer. From a delicious buffet breakfast to Shangri-La Gardens our adults-only hideaway for total relaxation. We apologize for the inconvenience you had with the waiter, we will transfer your comments to our F&B Director since this is unacceptable since we are there to serve you! We are sincerely grateful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had a great room with a pretty good view of the Arenal volcano. The room was big, clean with a giant jacuzzi that would take a small lake to fill! To get in to the tub was a bit of a struggle but the shower was good even if it sprayed all over the place.

The food was standard hotel fare, nothing special - apart from the premium prices charged.

The spa and hot spring rivers are great. You can stand under the hot rivers and get a water massage from the river pounding on your skin. A facial at the spa is $155 and a pedicure $60.

The staff are great, friendly and informative.

It's worth taking a trip to La Fortuna to try some of the local restaurants there. $16 each way in a cab.

Would I go back? No, that box is now checked.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jethrosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Hi Jethrosdad

We appreciate your review! Tabacon has key moments in which your experience becomes more enjoyable from a warm welcome, the direct contact with nature, your suite and special amenities, the natural hot springs and so on. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hot spring resort where the water flows by gravity directly from the Arenal Volcano. At The Grand Spa where you can live moments of perfect relaxation all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows surrounded by thermal springs and the rainforest. We hope to receive you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for three nights during our stay in Costa Rica. The grounds are well kept, the food is very good and we had a great view to the volcano. The staff was very helpful and will always go out of their way to assist us. We do wish the beds were softer, they were a bit hard and the bathroom lights were very dim. The hot springs were amazing!! Definitely worth the money, which is included on the room reservation. My husband and I both visited the spa and it was absolutely heavenly. Marisela was exceptional, great facial and massage. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snshn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear snshn3

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us! Tabacon is meant to be an experience to be cherished and remembered, that is why we focus our effort to exceed all guests´ expectations. As you mentioned, our hotel guest receive free access to our natural hot springs area. We are happy you enjoyed a spa treatment where the treatments are rendered in open air bungalows surrounded by the rainforest creating a memorable experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Regards!
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here in April 2013 while traveling throughout Costa Rica. We originally planned to stay only one night, but once we arrived, we changed our plans and stayed for two! The resort, the rooms, the springs, are all romantic, relaxing... could not ask for more. When we stayed here, we decided to dine one night at the restarant. It was good, but we were the only people there and we wondered why. We didn't mind though, the experience was nice and made us rejuvenated for our many hikes we would take!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Christina

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you visited Tabacon and we appreciate your preference, it was an honor for us that you decided to extend your stay! Our natural and magical setting creates a relaxing and romantic experienced. We would love to serve you again in the near future!

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This Leading Hotel lives up to expectations, from the welcoming refreshment to your departure.The 600 series of rooms are close to the lobby and this is the best location for a room - a spacious room. If the prices in the hotel's restaurant are a bit pricey then order sandwiches from the lobby bar. The thermal pools and spa are amazing. Plan to spend a day at least enjoying this exotic, lush experience. Your visit to the kid friendly multileveled pools of different temperatures are included with your room. While not the highest zip lines, the nearby Athica Canopy zip line experience is well worth your time for a most amazing and thrilling experience. Oh, an when you depart CR you will have to pay an exit tax. Don't wait til you get to the airport. Instead see the front desk of Tabacon to pre-pay for a few dollars more and avoid the confusion and rush at the airport.

Room Tip: The 600 series suites are the best.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candersen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear candersen99

We very much appreciate your review. Tabacon´s main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guest and we are glad to know we exceed your expectations, the hot springs and the rainforest make our resort a great place to just relax after an adventurous day in the area. We really look forward to receive you as our guest again in the near future.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,315 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#5 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $280 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing