We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place for a special memory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Costa Mesa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special place for a special memory”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have been to Tabacon a few times now. The first time was with some friends. On that trip I saw a couple having a private romantic dinner. I decided then, that if I ever met the girl I'd ask to marry, that Tabacon would be the place to do it. A few years later, that's exactly what I did. She said yes and almost a year later, I'm at Tabacon celebrating my honeymoon. There are 3 things I look for when evaluating anything service related. Price, Quality, Service. Usually you will only get 2 of the 3. I don't mind paying a high price, as long as I'm getting quality and great service. At Tabacon, you will be paying a high price, but you will be getting what you pay for. The grounds, rooms, hot springs are amazing. The service is world class. The spa treatments are also world class. If you have the means to stay here, i suggest you treat yourself. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouDogFotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello LouDogFotog

Thank for your preference and for sharing with us such a wonderful experience. Your story is so magical that we even had goosebumps when we read it. Tabacon is meant to be an experience to be cherished and remembered that is why we focus to exceed all customers’ expectations. We were happy of being part of this special occasion in your life. We hope you have a wonderful life together full of love and relaxation. It will be an honor to receive you again in the near future, maybe to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Tabacon.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,217
    773
    269
    101
    65
See reviews for
813
1,672
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I think as others have pointed out, the hotel and facilities are great, not much to complain but a few points which I will highlight in a bit.

We don't mind splurging on hotels like these, but for the amount that they charge (roughly $350 per night for two) you expect not perfection but definitely issues that have to do with maintaining and training the staff properly in order to expect the quality they claim they have.

First, the facilities of the thermal waters. We have noticed that Shangri-La is beginning to deteriorate, specially the lack of towels where they used to serve them. We asked the staff and they said it's due to theft of towels. We understand that it's a business but come on, at least give us something (like a spot to exchange them). Also the cushions were a bit deteriorated due to time passing by and general use. Some tables were loose, just not what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel.

Then, the bed. It had a cracking sound on every move you made. For a 5 star hotel, this is just not acceptable. We complained about this and we get generic "oh we are so sorry we will work on it". Again, for shelling $300+ a night, you expect more than this.

Overall, I love the hotel but wished the staff was a bit more rapid into responding complaints and pleasing the clients a bit more with nuisances like these.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OniLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear OniLink

We appreciate your comments and we are definitely working on them, our guest´s comments are really important to us so we forwarded your concerns directly to our general manager. Tabacon´s philosophy is focus on customer service and we do our best to accommodate to our guest´s needs and preferences, we apologize for the inconvenience you felt at Shangri-La Gardens. Regarding to your room, we understand your frustration with the cracking bed it will be really useful if you please contact us directly to customerservice@tabacon.com, in order to know your room number and proceed to be sure the situation with the bed will be solve immediately.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

Regards,
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Tabacon Grand Spa and Thermal Resort exceeded our expectations but then we didn't know what to expect. Located near the Arenal Volcan about two hours from San Jose, the hotel rooms and main restaurant are in one place and the thermal springs, spa and pools are nearby. Our room was very comfortable and roomy (easily the best place we stayed in CA), breakfast buffet was very good with a wide selection and dinner in the same spot was good. After arriving, we zip lined down the volcano the morning and then discovered the separate located hot springs which also contained a heated a pool with a bar. Spa treatments were simply amazing and hotel guests were allowed in a separate area called "Shangri-la" with yet another private bar. Our only complaints were the slow service to ride into town for dinner offsite in La Fortuna at Don Rufino and we were a little concerned about id bracelets we had to wear on site. We were told for our "security". Anyway, if we return to Costa Rica we will go back to Tabacon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Anthony M

We appreciate your time for sharing your comments with us. We are happy to know you enjoyed your suite. Tabacon´s main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guests and we are glad to know we exceed your expectations, from a delicious breakfast to a marvelous and romantic experience at Shangri-La Gardens our hotel guest exclusive are just for adults. We look forward to receive you as our guest in a near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I bought a day pass prior to arriving. The confirmation letter indicated they would precharge my card prior to arrival. Upon check in we were told they had yet to charge our card and proceeded to.do so. Later in the evening I checked my statement and to my dismay not only did they prercharge but they charged me twice. This totals 3 charges for.the same experience. When trying to call we were.told nobody in accounting speaks English. Thank God we have American express to fix this colossal fail.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank JAI2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Even though we arrived well past check in time, our suite was not ready. The front desk appeared disorganized and untrained. After a great late lunch, the front desk was still completely disorganized. I finally just grabbed our bags and started walking. Only then did someone notice and help out. The suite was as expected - spacious, clean, filled with wonderful amenities. It was also very peaceful and quiet.

The food was better than I expected. The service was excellent and the staff very attentive. We had a great stay.

Their checkout process is a disaster. It is too complicated and stupid to describe here. Something that should have taken 2 minutes, took twenty and we had no problems or questions. It is a process problem, not a staff problem.

They really need some front desk management.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Probins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Probins2

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to know you enjoyed your room, the amenities and the food selection we offer. I want to express our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with Front Desk, I have shared this comments with the reception manager to revise the process and improve in any possible way since your comments are very valuable for us. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spent 3 nights here recently. Access to the hot springs is the key selling point for this hotel. While everyone was helpful and pleasant, there really wasn't anything memorable or outstanding. We had reserved a premium room which the hotel defined as one with no view looking into some trees on the ground floor. The high end restaurant was OK but again nothing special. Overall the acess to the springs offset all other factors.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

we are not really the review type couple as we are frequent travelers and not necessarily interested in sharing our views. However, this trip to Costa Rica which started quiet painfully turned out to be an amazing experience. the hotel is located in small town that seems to be forgotten in time. We were pleasantly surprised that everyone spoke very good english, they were also patient with our broken spanish, and was very friendly. Our rooms were about a 2 minute walk from the lobby so Allain the smiley bell hop gave us a ride on one of the golf carts. Large spacious rooms. They are note 21st century although all the conveniences and gadgets are available. We had dinner twice at the Hotel's restaurant. Definitely pick the a la carte. Very well looked after and really delicious food. The buffet at the hot springs is just that, a buffet, would not recommend for dinner. The spa is in a class of its own. We did a couples massage which was truly amazing. Leslie was tremendous. A beautiful Hotel with great service. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the restaurant. easier walk in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Joseph T

Thank you for your comments and for sharing with us your experience at Tabacon! Our aim is always to provide a high quality service and we are really glad to know you enjoyed a memorable vacation. Our Thermal Resort located in the heart of the rainforest offer a relaxing experience. All our hotel guests received complimentary access to the hot springs as well as our adults-only hideaway Shangri-La Gardens during their stay. In regards to our spa, all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows where nature become an important part of the spa experience, we are glad you enjoyed your couple massage and thank you for letting us know the great job that Leslie did, we will share your comments with our spa staff. We appreciate your preference and look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,255 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,859 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing