We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,975)
Filter reviews
3,975 results
Traveler rating
2,653
851
294
107
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,653
851
294
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos tucaneshot springsshangri la gardenshotel guestsorchid roomunlimited accessrainforest suitehoneymoon suitecosta ricaopen to the publicday passprivate areaswim up barbuffet dinnercouples massagearenal volcanostar resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,801 - 1,806 of 3,975 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed 3 glorious days/nights at Tabacon recently (February 2014) -- pure heaven! Wonderful service, beautiful grounds, and the best massages! Not to mention, of course, the wonderful hot springs. If you plan on visiting the Arenal volcano/La Fortuna area and want to go in the Hot Springs -- it pays to splurge and stay at Tabacon -- entry to the hot springs are included, plus you can go to areas where non-guests (ie: the crowds) can't. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hello mjjane

We are pleased to know that you had a glorious stay in Tabacon. As you mentioned, all our hotel guest receive complimentary access to our natural hot springs resort during their stay. We also offer Shangri-La Gardens that is an adults-only area exclusive for hotel guests. The treatments at the Grand Spa are an unparalleled experience that take place in private bungalows in the heart of the rainforest. We hope to receive at the hotel soon!

Best Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

When my boyfriend and I first arrived, we were greeted with some fresh papaya juice and cookies. We came a little early so we had to wait a couple hours for our room to be ready. While we waited we enjoyed some mojitos and a snack. Once our room was available they gave us a lift and brought all of our luggage for us. The room was beautiful and we could see a view of the volcano. Everyone was so nice to us and the service was great. The spa/thermal springs were absolutely amazing! I knew it was going to beautiful based on the pictures, but it was even more magical seeing it in person. I couldn't believe that this was actually real and it was 10x bigger than what I imagined. I seriously can't wait to come back here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We (couple in our early 30s from California) just returned from 8 days in Costa Rica, traveling around to 5 different hotels/locations throughout the country. This was our first stop. We stayed two nights in a standard King room
The location is incredible - a must to visit Arenal/La Fortuna for a CR itinerary!
The hot springs is what sealed the deal on this place. We probably could have stayed elsewhere, but really wanted to enjoy the thermal river which is really expensive by itself but included if your stay there. The springs were awesome, little pathways to different secret spots, an awesome waterfall, a swim up bar. Perfect day and night. So relaxing..
We had to put a credit card deposit down for the expenses (like the swim up bar and restaurant) at 300 per night. We skipped it the first night, but then added it the second because we didn't want to be swimming with our wallets. A lot of resorts ask for this so make sure to bring a card with a significant balance available.
The first night we ate at the lobby bar for convenience, and unfortunately it wasn't very good. The next morning we drove back towards Arenal for breakfast and ate at Toad Hall. There are literally a million signs on the road from Liberia, so we had to check it out. It was awesome. And way more reasonably priced. We fell in love with CR's desayuno tipical here. The second morning we ate the same meal at the hotel restaurant and it was just ok.
We visited the Arenal Hanging Bridges which is really close, and definitely recommend a visit.
Also we rented a car from Vamos and left the liberia airport around 230pm and still made it to Tabacon before dark. The roads aren't nearly as bad as what we read about. So much for freedom with your own car..

Room Tip: Probably not worth the price for a suite, the rack room was perfect
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear BerBear

Thank you for taking the time and share your comments with us! Costa Rica is a country full of surprises and we are happy you decided to visit Tabacon as part of your Costa Rica Adventure. We are glad you had the opportunity to relax in our hot springs, we were blessed with a completely natural setting and the natural hot springs river that emerge from the Arenal Volcano is really unique. In regards to cuisine, we do offer 2 restaurants at the resort, Ave del Paraiso Restaurant that is our casual option and Los Tucanes Restaurant our fine-dining option. During our buffet breakfast we offer International options, also a selection of dishes that always offer you a piece of Costa Rican culture. Let me express my sincerest apologies if our food selection at the lobby bar did not meet your expectations, right now our F&B team is working in new menus and we hope to implement it soon. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great service, thank you to everyone on the Grand Spa, my wife and I received relaxing massage with a balneotherapy, there is no words, I almost fall asleep, thank you.
I highly recommended the couple treatments, they have a very good price, for all what you going to received. AMAZING

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear George M

We appreciate your comments, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our completely natural setting with all the magic and relaxation of the rainforest and the hot springs. The Grand Spa is a unique experience where you receive your treatment in an open air bungalow with private Jacuzzi surrounded by lush gardens. The spa menu offers different price ranges for individual or couple treatments, you can select your own package or take advantage of our spa deals. We are extremely glad to know you and your wife had some romantic and relaxing time together in our Spa. For Day Pass guests we also offer a day spa package where you can mix our relaxing hot springs, a spa treatment and lunch or dinner depending on your preferences. We hope to receive you again as our guest in the near future!

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Enjoyed three nights in a beautiful room overlooking the rainforest. The staff was helpful and attentive. We ate in their restaurant, Los Tucanes, at table 2, which overlooks the pool and enjoyed the carefully prepared and presented food. Our waiter, Louis, was attentive but not intrusive. The grounds included a butterfly garden where you could observe these delicate beauties at close range. Of course the volcanic hots springs and the view are the best.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the rainforest suite, plan to spend some time enjoying the quiet view from the balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandmaJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hi grandmaJ_10

Thank you for your review, we are extremely happy that you decided to visit us and spend your vacation at Costa Rica. We are happy to know you enjoyed the wonders of nature, our hot springs resort offers a wellness and relaxing experience at the base of Arenal Volcano. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner at Los Tucanes Restaurant where our chefs prepares world-class cuisine for an unforgettable culinary experience! We are sincerely grateful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews