We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,974)
Filter reviews
3,974 results
Traveler rating
2,652
851
294
107
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,652
851
294
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos tucaneshot springsshangri la gardenshotel guestsorchid roomunlimited accessrainforest suitehoneymoon suitecosta ricaopen to the publicday passprivate areaswim up barbuffet dinnercouples massagearenal volcanostar resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,803 - 1,808 of 3,974 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great service, thank you to everyone on the Grand Spa, my wife and I received relaxing massage with a balneotherapy, there is no words, I almost fall asleep, thank you.
I highly recommended the couple treatments, they have a very good price, for all what you going to received. AMAZING

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear George M

We appreciate your comments, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our completely natural setting with all the magic and relaxation of the rainforest and the hot springs. The Grand Spa is a unique experience where you receive your treatment in an open air bungalow with private Jacuzzi surrounded by lush gardens. The spa menu offers different price ranges for individual or couple treatments, you can select your own package or take advantage of our spa deals. We are extremely glad to know you and your wife had some romantic and relaxing time together in our Spa. For Day Pass guests we also offer a day spa package where you can mix our relaxing hot springs, a spa treatment and lunch or dinner depending on your preferences. We hope to receive you again as our guest in the near future!

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Enjoyed three nights in a beautiful room overlooking the rainforest. The staff was helpful and attentive. We ate in their restaurant, Los Tucanes, at table 2, which overlooks the pool and enjoyed the carefully prepared and presented food. Our waiter, Louis, was attentive but not intrusive. The grounds included a butterfly garden where you could observe these delicate beauties at close range. Of course the volcanic hots springs and the view are the best.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the rainforest suite, plan to spend some time enjoying the quiet view from the balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandmaJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hi grandmaJ_10

Thank you for your review, we are extremely happy that you decided to visit us and spend your vacation at Costa Rica. We are happy to know you enjoyed the wonders of nature, our hot springs resort offers a wellness and relaxing experience at the base of Arenal Volcano. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner at Los Tucanes Restaurant where our chefs prepares world-class cuisine for an unforgettable culinary experience! We are sincerely grateful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

this is truly a first class operation. the hotel and the springs are amazing. incredible, professional service and a very relaxing and attentive experience at the hot springs. we were scheduled to stay just 2 days for a spa get away bu extended to one more. we arrived early in the morning as our flight was delayed out of Baltimore due to the weather. The staff accommodated us right away even though check in was later. Breakfast is definitely worth it. It is so serene and comfortable, we just sat and observed the volcano straight from our room. Everyone is very eager to assist and we were pleasantly surprised to see that everyone speaks English. Absolutely must try the tours. They have a rep right in the lobby of the Hotel. Although our driver suggested we visit the town, we opted to have dinner at the hotel. we loved the restaurant in the Hotel. Great variety and tip top service. The buffet at the springs was ok, but hey, it is a buffet. We have visited many Spas around the world, but this location is ideal for relation and pampering. We enjoyed a couple's massage in a hut right in the middle of the jungle. It was so exhilarating.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room so you can just walk out into your own private garden
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear michael s

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it´s very rewarding be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay at Tabacon. Tabacon is meant to be an experience to be cherished and remembered, that is why we focus our efforts to exceed all guests expectations. Our hotel guests receive complimentary access to our natural hot springs resort. For adventurous people, Arenal and La Fortuna de San Carlos is a beautiful town with lots of attractions, our concierge is always at your service and you can arrange outdoors tours through the tour company that is located at the lobby. The treatments at the Grand Spa are an unparalleled experience that take place in private open-air bungalows, we are glad to know you experienced a couple massage and pampered yourself with our unique spa therapies. We hope to receive at the hotel in the near future!

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

we were so delighted about our experience, we are writing this review from the airport in san jose. we spent three days there after being at the beach for 5 days. what an amazing hotel. on arrival we were greeted by welcome mimisa drinks and quickly taken to our rooms which was great as we were exhausted. the rooms are very clean and nicely put together. i personally do not like bath tubs but my hsuband enjoyed the jacuzzi option. we ordered rooom service on the first night which was delivered with a rose and a letter from the management. food was absolutely delicious so we decided to try the restaurant as well. if you dont like buffet food, try the restaurant at the hotel, service and food is amazing. the hot springs are heaven. a special thanks to Aida at the Spa, we have a divine experience in the bungalow huts right in the middle of the rainforest. the only thing there is that it is open to the public and sometimes it may get too crowded in the main pools so use the Hotel only area. at night we really enjoyed the piano bar in the lobbyt, wished it stayed on for more time! we will be back. all in all, great place!

Room Tip: go the guest only area in the springs. i would recommend you wait for the shuttle to take you, the walk can be tiring, especially after a massage.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveforlifeandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear loveforliveandtravel

We really appreciate your time for sharing with us the details of your pleasant stay at Tabacon, we really appreciate your preference. Our aim is always to provide our guests a high quality service, we are happy to know you enjoyed Room Service as well as the enticing dishes in Los Tucanes Restaurant where our chefs mix the best ingredients with national and international flavors. At our award-winning The Grand Spa, we bring nature into the spa experience since all treatments are rendered in open-air bungalows in the heart of the rainforest surrounded by natural thermal mineral springs. We are sincerely grateful for your visit and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in a near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

where do i start : we found ourselves in heaven. on one end the volcano, if you get sunny days you will be particularly lucky, and on the other an incredible hotel with hot springs like nothing we have experienced before. my fiancee and i spent 3 days at tabacon and decided we will get married there. on arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink and were offered an upgrade. the room was incredible, modern, spacious and with an awesome jacuzzi. make sure you have breakfast! it is next to a hot spring pool in the middle of the gardens. we had dinner one night at their fancy restaurant. it was very good and not too pricey. the town is about 20 minutes away if you want to take a taxi make sure you tell the driver to come back for you. the staff are very profesional and eager to help. thank you alain for all your help at the buffet. this is truly a hidden gem. we will be back.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a suite, it will blow your mind. go to the springs before 10am for more privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Lisa M

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, we are extremely happy to know you enjoyed a pleasant stay with your fiancé. It will be an honor to host your wedding and make that day an unforgettable moment in your life. We do have a wedding coordinator on property and you can contact us directly at weddings@tabacon.com, we will take care of all the details for that special occasion. You can also take advantage of our special Wedding Packages. Tabacon is a perfect place for magic and romance our open-air facilities are surrounded by manicured gardens and a rainforest private reserve at the base of Arenal Volcano makes the property really unique. In regards to cuisine we offer two options, our casual dining restaurant Ave del Paraiso where buffet dinner is served in the thermal resort area and also our guests are able to delight their senses at Los Tucanes Restaurant our fine-dining option in the heart of the rainforest. We wish you both love and a happy life together, we really look forward to have the opportunity to be the perfect place for a memorable wedding.

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews