We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,975)
Filter reviews
3,975 results
Traveler rating
2,653
851
294
107
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,653
851
294
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos tucaneshot springsshangri la gardenshotel guestsorchid roomunlimited accessrainforest suitehoneymoon suitecosta ricaopen to the publicday passprivate areaswim up barbuffet dinnercouples massagearenal volcanostar resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,809 - 1,814 of 3,975 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed there 3 nights at the end of the year so it was packed. however, it didn't feel overwhelming . the only con is that if you stay there on Dec 31st, it includes a mandatory dinner for new years eve. We were exempt from it because we keep Kosher. The hotel was very very nice to us by agreeing to waive it.The distance between the hotel and the hot spring is about 5000 meter. you can either walk or take the shuttle bus. we never waited more than 5 minutes for the shuttle.. very convenient!
The room is spacious and clean. the only draw back was that our room was not cleaned every day. in general its not an issue but having going to the hot springs everyday and bringing gravel/sand back with us caused the room to look like a mud room...
the breakfast is very generous. we ate dinner only once and it was very very good, it was not cheap but considering the quality of the food it was reasonable.
We are dreaming on coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veredrazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear verdrazen

Your comments are very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed a great time at Tabacon in New Year's Eve, enjoying our natural thermal spring river that emerge from the Arenal Volcano and that goes through the property forming cascades and pools with different temperatures and a high mineral content. Your comments are really important to us, since our guest´s satisfaction is our main goal, please notice that our service standards includes daily cleansing service in your room, I would like to get more information about your stay so if you can contact me directly at customerservice@tabacon.com to provide your room number or the dates when you visited I will appreciate it! We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

From the time we arrived until the time we left everything was excellent. We got a great price when we arrived to upgrade to a honeymoon sweet and are so glad we did. The room had from the patio of the volcano and was peaceful and quite. The staff was very attentive to any questions we had and were more than helpful. The hot springs themselves were beautiful and one of a kind. I am not sure if it was the time of year or the time of day but most of the time it felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mtbinnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear mtbinnd

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. Our aim is to always provide a memorable experience to our guests, our staff is always happy to assist in every moment! We are glad to know you enjoyed your visit and our honeymoon suites with the volcano view. You can live a peaceful and wellness experience in our thermal river that emerges from the volcano. We are sincerely grateful for your visit and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in a near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Definitely recommend Tabacon! We have stayed here many times. It is an interesting drive from San Jose but well worth it. Can't beat the wonderful spa and the hot springs for rejuvinating the body and the spirit.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bdecastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear bdecastro

We really appreciate your review. It is really nice to know you had the opportunity to visit us again to get a relaxing and rejuvenating experience at Tabacon. Thank you for your preference and we look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spend 3 nights there celebrating someone's big birthday, with our adult children. The grounds are lush, green, gorgeous and well-tended. The rooms were beautifully appointed and very clean. We were upgraded to 3 honeymoon suites without asking, because the rooms were available. Food and services were very good. The staff was amazing. Everyone spoke English and could not have been more welcoming and helpful.
The resort is maybe 5 miles outside the town, so we needed taxis to get everywhere. But, concierge made that simple.
Tips if you go there:
If you like your room well air-conditioned, you may not want the honeymoon suites as the vaulted ceiling kept the room from cooling down below 72 degrees.
Our reservations did not include breakfast. The dining room breakfast menus run from $17. for rolls and coffee to $30. for buffet. Yet, the room service menus included simpler selections for $8. to $10. If you're not big on major breakfast, you need to ask in the dining room. They may be willing to offer more modest choices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyIcecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Jerseylcecream

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. It was an honor to be part of the Birthday Celebration. We are extremely happy to know you had a magnificent stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations. In regards to the breakfast we offer a Buffet option served at Los Tucanes Restaurant also room service options as well with a selection of Costa Rican and International dishes. Thank you for your preference and we look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week long honeymoon in Costa Rica, where we stayed at the Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort for 3 nights. We LOVED the resort and highly recommend staying there. We were greeted with a cool washcloth and tropical drink on arrival. We were upgraded at a discounted price to a huge suite, perfect for our honeymoon. Everyone was very nice and helpful with any of our needs. We really enjoyed the hot springs, and took advantage of them daily. It was the perfect way to end our days of exploring the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrose08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Mrose08

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for sharing your honeymoon experience with us! It was an honor to be part of this memorable occasion in your life. Tabacón has key moments in which your experience becomes more enjoyable from a warm welcome, direct contact with nature, relaxation in our natural hot springs and so on. Our staff is always working to provide high quality service and pay attention to every detail in order to provide memorable experiences to our valuable guests, we are glad you enjoyed your room upgrade and the romantic atmosphere of our thermal experience. We wish you a wonderful life together full of peace, happiness and relaxation. Hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews