We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,973)
Filter reviews
3,973 results
Traveler rating
2,651
851
294
107
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,651
851
294
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos tucaneshot springsshangri la gardenshotel guestsorchid roomunlimited accessrainforest suitehoneymoon suitecosta ricaopen to the publicday passprivate areaswim up barbuffet dinnercouples massagearenal volcanostar resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,810 - 1,815 of 3,973 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spend 3 nights there celebrating someone's big birthday, with our adult children. The grounds are lush, green, gorgeous and well-tended. The rooms were beautifully appointed and very clean. We were upgraded to 3 honeymoon suites without asking, because the rooms were available. Food and services were very good. The staff was amazing. Everyone spoke English and could not have been more welcoming and helpful.
The resort is maybe 5 miles outside the town, so we needed taxis to get everywhere. But, concierge made that simple.
Tips if you go there:
If you like your room well air-conditioned, you may not want the honeymoon suites as the vaulted ceiling kept the room from cooling down below 72 degrees.
Our reservations did not include breakfast. The dining room breakfast menus run from $17. for rolls and coffee to $30. for buffet. Yet, the room service menus included simpler selections for $8. to $10. If you're not big on major breakfast, you need to ask in the dining room. They may be willing to offer more modest choices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyIcecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Jerseylcecream

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. It was an honor to be part of the Birthday Celebration. We are extremely happy to know you had a magnificent stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations. In regards to the breakfast we offer a Buffet option served at Los Tucanes Restaurant also room service options as well with a selection of Costa Rican and International dishes. Thank you for your preference and we look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week long honeymoon in Costa Rica, where we stayed at the Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort for 3 nights. We LOVED the resort and highly recommend staying there. We were greeted with a cool washcloth and tropical drink on arrival. We were upgraded at a discounted price to a huge suite, perfect for our honeymoon. Everyone was very nice and helpful with any of our needs. We really enjoyed the hot springs, and took advantage of them daily. It was the perfect way to end our days of exploring the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrose08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Mrose08

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for sharing your honeymoon experience with us! It was an honor to be part of this memorable occasion in your life. Tabacón has key moments in which your experience becomes more enjoyable from a warm welcome, direct contact with nature, relaxation in our natural hot springs and so on. Our staff is always working to provide high quality service and pay attention to every detail in order to provide memorable experiences to our valuable guests, we are glad you enjoyed your room upgrade and the romantic atmosphere of our thermal experience. We wish you a wonderful life together full of peace, happiness and relaxation. Hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We drove inland from the coast to visit the hot springs. It was a fun adventure (overpriced for a day ticket) but the staff was very helpful and supportive. We'd been delayed by road construction and they kindly let us stay another hour or so into the afternoon. If there is every another time, I would vote for a stay-over since the ride from the west coast was VERY long. Probably made longer by road construction -- which I suspect will be ongoing for many years. The waterfall pools were perfect and the only complaint I have is that I didn't stay still for longer! A lot to see, eat and drink in a short period for a day ticket.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moongazer849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear moongazer849

Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your visit. Our resort features the tropical rainforest and a natural hot spring river that makes Tabacon really unique. We would love to receive you as our hotel guest, we have special packages where you receive complimentary access to the thermal springs during your stay. At Tabacon you will always need some extra time to explore the different pools and cascades for total relaxation. You can take also advantage of our Tropical Escape Package or Rainforest Temptations Package to get one night free and stay longer enjoying the wonders of nature. We would love to receive you again soon!

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Talk about luxurious, then you're talking about this resort. It was our honeymoon, so there were a lot of expectations. Its a bit off the beaten path with fairly good roads, but at one point I wondered if we were on the right path. Upon arrival we were greeted by the front desk by name as if we were being expected, that kinda made the start of the honeymoon that more special. The room was amazing, my wife and I had tons of space and we did explore every corner of that room. The food was good and the staff was very friendly, but we definitely enjoyed going out into the town and enjoying some of the more local cuisine. The hot spring was a new experience that my wife and I enjoyed tremendously. We hope to go back there sometime and will not stop recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi Randy J

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we appreciate it! First of all, let us congratulate you on your wedding. We are glad you decided to visit Tabacon to celebrate your honeymoon, it was an honor to received you as our guest, having the opportunity to be part of this memorable occasion in your life. We are glad you enjoyed our thermal experience where you can find relaxation in a romantic setting. We look forward for your next visit and we wish you both a happy life together.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Spent 3 nights at Tabacon - what a beautiful place. The hot springs were awesome!!! We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary, and we had a special candlelight dinner in a private cabana - how romantic!!! Food was fantastic, and the staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear judy s

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing Tabacon for this special celebration. Tabacon´s main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guest, the natural beauty of our hot springs and the sounds of nature become part of your vacation experience. Our signature Gala Dinner invites you to enjoy a very special culinary event among the beauty of our lush gardens in the heart of the rainforest. In a private bungalow, your chef and server create an evening of culinary magic with a menu pre-selected by you, an aura of romance like no other is always present. Thank you for let us be part of such a wonderful occasion in your life. We hope to receive you again as our guests in the near future!

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews